We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Drive and Gorgeous Scenery”

Seneca Lake Wine Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Johnston, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
226 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Relaxing Drive and Gorgeous Scenery”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This wine trail is great! Most places were a great experience but the only complaint we have is that they ALL close so early! It's a beautiful July night, the sun is out til 9pm and it was the weekend of the wine festival. Nothing at these places were going on.. some acted like they didn't know about the wine festival and they all closes by 5pm or 6pm. Unreal. They should have had music, specials, excitement!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    92
    17
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, good wine, and great people!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We just returned from the Finger Lakes this past weekend and I'm already starting to think about our return trip! I just need to put a shout out to the owner of the Anchor Inn and Tiki bar along Seneca Lake. We stopped in to have a few drinks and when we went to leave our friends car wouldn't start. Not good! It took a couple hours away from wine tasting! To make a long story short, the owner, his employees, and his Mother who is 80 yrs. old really helped us out! His mother bought us a round of drinks and the owner Greg took us to the garage to pick up the vehicle so we wouldn't have to take a cab. Also the one employee was on her phone trying to find a garage and rental car. So please stop in at the Anchor Inn tiki bar or book a room, it's a great place! Not to mention the garage fixed the vehicle on a Friday evening when he could have been doing something else. Great people, great wine!



















of the Anchor Inn




.












.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank caribbeancruiser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good wine and breathtaking scenery”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Catherine of the Valley is a favorite of ours. We enjoyed their wine so much when we did the Seneca Lake Wine Trail three years ago that we went out of our way [on a recent trip to Keuka and Canandaigua lake areas in 6/14] to visit Catherine of the Valley again.

In our opinion, their wines and hard cider are without a doubt our favorite on the east side of Seneca lake and the owner and staff were just as nice and accommodating as we remembered. They even let us do our wine tasting on the deck behind the serving area! Tasting their wines and hard apple ciders is one of the most relaxing and calming experiences that we've had. You can try all of their wines and hard ciders for $5.

We highly recommend it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzerne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Wine”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Bus trip with Paulson Tours. Out of all of the Winery's this was far the best. Can not wait to go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy0556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNY
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Can lightning strike twice? Be careful where you park!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was our third time visiting the Seneca Lake Wine Trail. In October 2012 we stayed in Watkins Glen, and the last day we were there someone hit my van and took off, either at Watkins Glen State Park or Hazlett Winery ($2600.00 damage). Did not notice the damage until we stopped for lunch. Today we visited Hazlett again, and came out to another dent in my van, high on side panel, either from a high profile vehicle or one of the limo/bus vehicles. I can't believe this happened again. We stopped at another winery and were talking to a server there and she said that is known as the "party place" at Seneca Lake. If you visit this area, be careful where you park. It is too bad that irresponsible people can spoil a nice relaxing experience. Even if they did not want to risk a DWI by acknowledging damage, they could have at least left a note with their phone number. If I come back again, I will be very careful where I park.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Travelerfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seneca Lake Wine Trail also viewed

Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Seneca Lake Wine Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing