We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watkins Glen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watkins Glen State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Don't miss this! We expected a state park with walkways and lovely waterfalls. Instead, we experienced an incredible adventure. As soon as you enter the park, you begin to interact with a winding pathway of steps while surrounded by waterfalls and impressive rock formations. The ground is wet and slippery so wear good shoes and take your time. The gift shop, restrooms, and snack stand were clean and well-kept. Sure wish this park was closer to our home in Florida.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCurtos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    37
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
42
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Recently stayed at this park and camped for 2 nights. Park employees were very friendly and helpful. Campsites were clean, groomed and had a nice, rustic feel to them. Our campsite was in the Mohawk area so we had electricity and we were near the clean bathrooms.
Of course, the Gorge was the main attraction and it was amazing. It was a great 3 hour hike with spectacular views...and wet feet. Well worth it.
Only downside was that the pool was not scheduled to be opened until a day after our departure. Will repeat

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnOShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Nice park with easy access to the Gorge trails. Mohawk area for RVs only has electric so you must fill your fresh water tank at one of the fill stations before getting to your site. Backing into your site can be very tricky as there are trees along the road and the roadway is very narrow. The sites near the bathroom were the largest and can accommodate a 30' unit but you'll get a workout trying to get your big unit in the space.
The park itself was clean and bathrooms/shower were cleaned everyday. Pool wasn't open yet(opens June 21st) but was a large Olympic size and has a kiddie pool too. The access roads are in need of major repairs. Potholes are everywhere and any loose items in your RV will get bounced around. Tell the kids to leave the skates or boards at home!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes Wine Country, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

I love the staircases on the waterfall trail, and the swimming pool is quite nice as well. Very family friendly, safe, and scenic. Also a nice place to stop for a picnic before taking a walk through town.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I'm giving the camping at the state park a very good because as far as campsites go, it was a lovely place in general, but what really gives this place a "very good" is its location. The proximity to the gorge trail, which is one of the best hikes I've ever completed, kicks it up from average to very good. Our campsite was fine. Our friends had a cabin and that was fine. Nothing to write home about.
The people who worked at the park were all very nice.
I will note that if your a camper who requires a bathroom of a certain standard, this one was lack luster. The toilets were not all working and the shower was luke warm to slightly warmer. Plus my shower stall kept pooling which is a little gross, but maybe all that will be fixed next time we go, because we will definitely be back. If it's not fixed, it's a small sacrifice to be surrounded by such beauty.
The campsites and park in general are also write next to a town, which I sure might be preferred by some and not by others. Once you're in the park you wouldn't know there's a town right there. You don't hear any noises from outside the park besides an occasional train, but if you prefer the convenience of hopping right to the store if you forget something you deem essential your camping trip, then you'll like the close town aspect.

Room Tip: If you can book the seneca loop, do it. It was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidd1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This ravine is a stone cascading fountain of falls and rock pools with a great climb beside it
It is the try's meaning of the word awesome

Every corner was beautiful and full of surprises
It was exquisite and so glad I stumbled on watkins glen and this park

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeneeeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Second state park with no water hookup. We survived, but if I pay 37$ a night I expect something more than just electric, I expect free wifi, decent service AND water. Oh well. The trails were okay but extremely buggy and LOTS of cobwebs. It was also noisy during our stay. Overall, I wouldn't come back here, I would recommend Letchworth State Park to anyone travelling up here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
11.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
#8 of 11 in Horseheads
96 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Firelight Camps
Firelight Camps
#1 of 3 in Ithaca
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watkins Glen State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Glen State Park

Property: Watkins Glen State Park
Address: P.O. Box 304, Route 14, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-0304
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Watkins Glen
Number of rooms: 305

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing