We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Sunset Cruise”

Schooner Excursions, Inc
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Watkins Glen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sail on the vintage 1926 John Alden Malabar VII Schooner "True Love" that was featured in the 1956 movie "High Society". Docked at the Watkins Glen Seneca Harbor Park Pier, Schooner "True Love" charters daily on the deep blue waters of beautiful Seneca Lake. Coast Guard Certified for up to 22 passengers Schooner "True Love" sets the perfect scene for your relaxing getaway. Tour on our latest addition to the fleet, "M/V REMEDY" is an Oldport 26 Tour Boat. Enjoy an educational Eco-History Tour, a Winery, Brewery & Distillery Tour or relaxing Sightseeing Tour of Beautiful Seneca Lake. Docked next to the Watkins Glen Seneca Harbor Park Pier.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Sunset Cruise”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

What an amazing team who is running these sails! The sunset sail is extremely reasonably priced for a 2 hour tour of the lake and they offer complimentary hors d'oeuvres and refresments. You can also purchase beer and wine. The tour is very romantic for couples but also very fun for a good guys trip or girls get away. Being on a sailboat was on my bucket list and this sail deserves 10 stars! Thank you all for making my first sail so special. I'll never forget it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    41
    9
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Sail on the True Love”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We found our 2 hour sail to be relaxing and interesting. We loved learning about some of the details of the schooner's rich history as well as the beautiful Finger Lakes scenery. The Captain and crew were friendly, saftey minded and very skilled. This sail meant a great deal to us personally since we have enjoyed boats for years but hadn't been out for a long time. Our father has not been able to get on the water for years due to health problems, and this cruise was just what the docter ordered. He got to enjoy skimming across the lake, while chatting to the captain about boats.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great crew, beautiful boat and very affordable. What a lovely way to spend an afternoon or evening. Lisa and her staff are terrific!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jodelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“if in Watkins Glen, make sure you do this!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

we were worried we wouldn't be able to get on the boat, because we didn't reserve ahead, but we booked on Friday for the same day (maybe we were lucky, because we were before the really "hot" tourist season) Owner was amazing and friendly on the phone, gave us lots of info.. we met Captain Jim when we boarded, and had choice to sit in the comfy bench on the back or anywhere up front.. he put Jimmy Buffet on the cd player at just the right volume.. quiet enough that you could hear the wind in the sails, and loud enough that you could hum along if you wanted to, and have great conversations with either the other 2 crew members or the other guests. Seneca Lake local wine was served along with ice cold water or other beverages. A beautiful cruise along the southern part of Seneca Lake, along with historical tidbits and "lore" about the boat and the lake.. midpoint a beautiful view of Hector Falls.

Captain Jim blows a great conch shell close to shore.. and if you're smart.. you sit out back a while and hear his stories of sailing the boat in the Virgin Islands.. and other stories of sailing in other parts. Well worth the $.. a great 2 hours, you'll wish was longer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amoslionheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paterson nj United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A 3 day stay at an upstate NY paradise”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Sailing on the True love was a wonderful experience and one we will always cherish ; we met some really beautiful and interesting locals ( the Coleman s ) ; the captain was experienced both at sailing and entertaining; the trip out to Hector Falls was amazing and we managed to get a picture of an awesome sunset .A special shout out and thank you to Lisa.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wilfredo C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Excursions, Inc also viewed

Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Schooner Excursions, Inc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing