We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Longhouse Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Longhouse Lodge Motel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spent two nights at the Longhouse lodge and although not fancy accomodations, the rooms were clean. The towels were extra soft - beds were fine. We loved that it had a pool and a gazebo to hang out in too - and the rocking chairs were a nice touch. The continental breakfast had bagels, donuts, coffee and juice. Had a nice view.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karst4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    25
    7
    15
See reviews for
19
35
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

The motel was easy to find and in good location for exploring the Finger Lakes. Unfortunately on a main road which we didn't realise on the website. As we were 'out of season' the road wasn't busy. Also no breakfast included at this time of year however we were prepared and as the room had a fridge we supplied ourselves with breakfast. Lady at reception was jolly and happy to make suggestions of where to eat and visit. Room cleaned every day and fresh towels every day. I would recommend this motel for a reasonably priced convenient motel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moffit100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

The staff is very nice, and we were pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to our King room... it was really large. We only spent one night, but it's the kind of place where you could unpack and stay a while. We liked the feel of the friendly motel layout, with the big front yard and gazebo. Breakfast is simple continental but it gets the job done.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReneeRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
179 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

My kids and I were visiting the finger lakes for an extended weekend, and decided Watkins Glen would be a great central location to work from. After much internet searching, we ended up picking the Longhouse Lodge for its location. All hotels in this area seemed pricey, but this one was more "reasonable" in comparison ($150 a night). But let's be honest, it may have been priced more reasonably than the local competition, but it was very overpriced for what you received. You are definitely being upcharged for the location, not the amenities. Our room had two double beds, with the weirdest furniture layout. One bed was right under the front window (against the wall), then there was an armchair, a side table, another armchair, then the other bed crammed up against the far wall, directly under the air conditioner. The real issue with this layout is access to the clock - you have to sit up and look over the armchair to see what time it is, and you have to get out of bed to reach the clock to turn off the alarm, or to turn the lamp on or off. They do have a nice flatscreen tv, ironing board/iron, and small fridge in the room. Bathroom was small but servicable, although I must compliment the towels - large and plush (quite a surprise!).

The room was certainly pretty when it was decorated in the 80's but now it is looking a bit worn. Gouges in the mauve paint, tired green floral bedspreads and weird dark blue'ish carpet, a polished black dresser and maroon arm chairs made quite a decorating statement. The bathroom was white - white walls, white floor, white fixtures, white lace shower curtain, white everything.

Walking out your door you are presented with a magnificent view of the valley below, which since we arrived at night was a nice surprise. They do offer breakfast - coffee, tea, bagels, english muffins, and a small selection of hostess donuts. Saved us some money to not have to eat out each morning. The various staff at the desk were friendly, and willing to give suggestions on local restaurants, how to get to the park, etc. which was nice.

Watkins Glen is a great central place for seeing the finger lakes, so for that reason I would suggest staying here. Not many places have an outdoor pool, so if you are coming in the summer with kids this would be ideal. Just realize that it's not the most updated place around.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank worleybird98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

This place is clean, but way outdated. It was less expensive than other places in the area, buy I think it's overpriced for what it is.

If you want clean place to stay, then its not a bad spot, has a nice view. It's not sexy...at all.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coley710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammondsport, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed at the Longhouse during the Grand Prixe Festival... had a great time.. Our room was tastefully appointed...bed comfortable(sooo important!) ...Breakfast just enough...strongly recommend this motel..very reasonable...very nice

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whisperlane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new brunswick, nj
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

my hubby and i spent three nights here this week as part of a pre-hurricane Irene getaway. i read many reviews and decided this fit our budget and needs.
on the positive side i have to say it was one of the most comfortable beds ever, really great! also, the room had a refrigerator and microwave, large flat screen tv with a dvd player and a selection of movies which could be borrowed from the front desk free of charge. also, on the grounds were a heated pool (much smaller than appears to be on website photo) and a grill for guests use. the view is nice, a hill overlooking a small bit of the lake. it's convenient to town, a five minute drive. actual windows that open too which is great feature to keep the room refreshed while your out all day!!
now the negatives----the room configuration was very strange in that the A/C was mounted in the wall and was about 2 feet away from the SIDE of the bed so the air was constantly blowing directly at your head. we dealt with this on night one but then had to either change rooms or finagle something to fix this. dear hubby placed the ironing board with a cooler atop to divert the airflow, that worked. the water had so much chlorine i felt i just left the pool after showering, not pleasant.
the furniture was strangely arranged. if you were on the far side of the bed you would have to walk sideways between the heavy wooden footboard and massive desk/dresser. i have bruises from just getting to the refrigerator! the continental breakfast left much to be desired. my idea of b'fast, even continental, involves more than mini donuts, english muffins and bagels (of course coffee, tea and oj were there). not many options in town either for breakfast food, head to savards family restaurant instead.
lastly, i thought it should have been half of what we paid, definitely overpriced.

Room Tip: room 18 is a corner room with an unobstructed view, think cross ventilation!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rthrbtrvln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
3.2 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#6 of 9 in Watkins Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
13.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
#8 of 11 in Horseheads
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.2 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.8 mi away
Watkins Motel
Watkins Motel
#6 of 17 in Watkins Glen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glen Motor Inn
Glen Motor Inn
#4 of 9 in Watkins Glen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longhouse Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longhouse Lodge Motel

Property: Longhouse Lodge Motel
Address: 3625 State Route 14, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-9709
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Longhouse Lodge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year-round, outdoor amenities include. Heated outdoor swimming pool, charming gazebo, rocking chairs outside most rooms. Inside amenities include. Brand new, comfortable, firm pillow-top mattresses, swivel rocker-recliners in some rooms, coffeemakers, hairdryers, cable TV and VCRs, free movies, micro, fridge, ironing boards and irons, hi-speed internet. Continental breakfast served in high season only. Property also boasts a luxurious B and B located on the hill behind the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Longhouse Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longhouse Hotel Watkins Glen
Longhouse Motel Watkins Glen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing