We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT WATERING HOLE”

Seneca Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 43 Restaurants in Watkins Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“GREAT WATERING HOLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

A great place for a cool beer during the day or a sundowner and dinner. On the hill overlooking Watkins Glen.

Natural surroundings and pleasant atmosphere.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pardinicarolann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    74
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Watkins Glen, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vintage through and through...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

A must if you are stopping in Watkins Glen... the history of the area and lodge are all over up here... a great place to grab a tasty micro-brew too! Their bar is killer!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LynchDome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Throop, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious and delectable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Order a steak here. I was between a pasta dish and a steak and being that it was a steakhouse I was persuaded to order a juicy steak. I was certainly glad i did! They have a great salad bar with plenty of fresh choices, their appetizers are very filling, and the dinner portions were very large. The service was excellent and our server was very helpful. They have their own micro brews to order so if you are a beer connoisseur then definitely try something they have made. I'll never forget the dinner I had there. After dinner we headed out to make a fire (we stayed at the lodge) and made smores for dessert. Excellent Value and awesome service!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank leahdaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at Seneca Lodge 10/19 and 10/20 2012. The rooms were clean and warrm. The meals at the Lodge were excellent! We ate there both nights. You need to get there early as they do not take reservations. Best steaks that we have had in a long time!

We would not hesitate to stay or eat here again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Auchiewawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food, Not a place to go to chat and catch up with old friends.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We met up with old friends at Seneca Lodge on a Friday night. The place was packed and hopping. There is a nearby Fire Academy and apparently this is where the guys and gals go to unwind after a week of classes. Despite large parties constantly entering, we only had about a 10 minute wait for a table. Our server was terrific, although slowed down by a bit of a back up at the bar and in the kitchen. Good salad bar, very tasty home style entrees. My big complaint - the noise. It was next to impossible to carry on a converstion and then shortly after our arrival a band showed up. Even though they were near the bar area, they were way too loud - and not very good on top of it. When/if we go back, we'll try another night. But it does appear to be the happening place in Watkins Glen, even in the off season.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeukaBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seneca Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Seneca Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing