We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro dining”

Seneca Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 43 Restaurants in Watkins Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
453 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Retro dining”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Take a walk back in time, prices, menu and salad bar, all washed down with weak truck stop coffee

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MiguelitoyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    75
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I go to eat here every time I'm in Watkins, Its delicious and has a great local wine selection. The staff is very nice as well.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Brvickio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My ultimate favorite restaurant!!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I was married back in 1988 and Seneca Lodge was so wonderful. They didn't do wedding receptions anymore due to the busy race weekends and tourist business, but they made an exception and made my day the most special day I could have imagined. The owners, the Brubakers, are the kindest and most generous people you'd ever want to meet. My husband and I go back on our anniversary date every year to have a special meal at Seneca Lodge. The food is beyond compare. What I love is that everything is so natural and down-to-earth. The atmosphere, the food, and people are top notch! I have recommended Seneca Lodge to people all my life. It is my ultimate favorite place. You'll love it!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Camluvslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, N.Y.
Level Contributor
295 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Historic, Iconic, Eclectic Eatery”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This place has been feeding racers, race enthusiasts, and sundry others for almost forever. Don't go looking for overlighted chrome, formica, or plasticene....this place is the real deal: wood and plaster all around, wood tables and chairs, attractive flatware, cloth tablecloths and napkins. Add to this the several oddball menu items on any given day, not least among which the natural grain breads, rolls, etc. A gastronomic experience not to be missed. I don't rate it a 5 because it is, as I say, ancient, and not to everyone's taste. My counsel: take a chance, Columbus did!

Helpful?
Thank gtennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Good dinner fare in this authentic old lodge right next to Watkins Glen State Park. Combine it with a stay in one of their little cabins, and stroll over to the gorge in the park.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seneca Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Seneca Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing