We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-o-o beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2009

I stay in hotels 60 plus nights a year for business. This was one of the nicest, well-thought out properties I have ever been booked. From the beautiful architectural details to the incredibly friendly staff, this hotel has it all and a lakeside view! The rooms are comfortable, clean, well-designed, female-traveler friendly and quiet. I was there on business but can't wait to go back for a vacation. Great bar and restaurant, too.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank global2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,212 - 1,218 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed at this hotel on a last minute get-a-way to the finger lakes area. Since it was peak leaf peeping time, there weren't many place available. The hotel was clean, friendly and had good service, but I wouldn't consider it luxury. It was a glorified Holiday Inn. It wasn't worth $250 per night. We only had a view of the parking lot. We stayed at the Belhurst Castle the night before (they only had 1 night available). It was cheaper and definitely luxurious and romantic. I not going to recommend this hotel only because it's not worth the price, and I'm sure there are plenty of other more quaint places to stay (so my recommendation is not because it's a bad place).

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katethehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

If you are visiting the Finger Lakes region this is the place to stay. This (almost) new hotel was beautiful and spotless. Something that was definitely lacking in Watkins Glen prior to its arrival. After a drink from the bar looking out over Senaca Lake we had dinner inside the hotel. Dinner itself was good, a nice atmosphere with overall fine food choices. We only stayed one night as we were on our way to Buffalo for a wedding, but just the one night we spent there really had a lasting impression on us. As soon as we checked out we told ourselves this would definetely be a place we would return to.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pars1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

This hotel is fairly new so the rooms are a nice size, nicely decorated, have refrigerators and our room had a small balcony with a view of the Lake. They have a well equipped business center, and a good location in terms of walking to restaurants and stores and also accessing the main roads that lead to the wineries. Also had free coffee in the lobby in the morning.

The only negative for me would be the price of the offerings in the restaurant. We had breakfast there one morning -- pancakes for me and similar for my husband and it cost $33. Next morning we walked over to the bakery a block away. A few blocks away there's a "family restaurant" if you want a full breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We have visited the Fingerlakes for years now, and have stayed at many Bed & Breakfasts. Some better than others, but our stay at the Glen Harbor Hotel was by far the most enjoyable. The food was superb, the rooms were spacious and very comfortable. After a day of touring the wineries, the hot tub was 5 star! We have already planned next years trip, as we usually tour the lakes twice a year, and there is no doubt in our mind that we will stay at this 5 star hotel over and over again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winechick329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Had the pleasure of staying at the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel in September for a business meeting.Brand new hotel opened in 2008 at the end of Seneca Lake. Rooms were spacious, modern, comfortable and beautifully deocorated. Hardwood floors, marble bath and shower. Wonderful lake view from our room, some rooms with balcony.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katherine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

This hotel was really great in most ways and still has a lot to learn to before it can really be considered the "luxury hotel" that they like to claim. Because my wife is very allergic to feathers, we confirmed prior to making reservations that they could provide hypo-allergenic bedding. We were pleased that they called prior to our departure and noted the request. We were disappointed on our arrival to receive a room with feather pillows. We called the front desk and the maid came to our room and instead of bringing alternative pillows, she told us we needed to use the decorative pillows on top of the bed. After a couple of hours of fighting incredibly coarse material, we called again and the manager arrived with two very FLAT, HARD pillows in some type of old pillowcase. He said he thought "pillows were pillows until he got this job". The a/c made a good bit of noise, but i was able to cram some paper in the intake and that stopped the rattle. Thankfully the cleaning staff left my repair in place the entire stay. I hoped to convey my thoughts on this when we checked out, but I was never asked about my stay and I decided if they weren't interested, why volunteer. The staff helpfulness and friendliness was average.

The rooms were exceptionally clean and new. The location, setting and main facilities are fabulous and the hotel really has no competition in the area and should do well, but if it learns from its mistakes, it could be great. Bottom line is that it is still a good place to stay, but it is for the location and facilities, not the service.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_Texans_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
2.8 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
122 reviews
18.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Hammondsport Hotel
15.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
148 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Local
The Local
#6 of 7 in Watkins Glen
2 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Address: 16 N Franklin St, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-1221
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range: $113 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel has been awarded a four diamond rating from AAA -The American Automobile Association. This distinction is given to hotels with refined and stylish accommodations and a high level of service and attention to detail. This award makes the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel the top rated hotel in Watkins Glen, New York. At the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, our staff is proud to offer all our guests outstanding service! The hotel offers a variety of deluxe accommodations including six luxurious suites. We offer nightly turndown service, an indoor pool, fitness center and our professional concierge is on call to assist you and your family in planning your Watkins Glen vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watkins Glen Harbor Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing