We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
203 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

Beautiful hotel right on the water. Great customer service.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kym72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    207
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
214
636
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed at the Glen Harbor hotel during a recent trip with a group of friends. It was a couples’ weekend and the focus of our trip was to visit the local wineries.

The hotel exceeded my expectations. The overall finish and condition of the hotel is quite nice. The design and quality is several levels above the average national chain hotels. The public areas are well decorated and attractive.

The staff was very helpful and professional. For example, the housekeeping staff approached me each morning upon leaving our room for the day and asked if the room was to my satisfaction (it was) and did I have any special requests? (I didn’t)

Our lakefront balcony room was spacious with a table for two, a large chaise lounge and a king bed. The décor was paint (several colors) and hardwood and tile floors. I very much dislike carpet in hotels so the hard surface floors pleased me. Others in our party thought the hardwood to be cold. The bathroom had a large, tiled walk-in shower, single vanity and a toilet area.

Nice linens on the bed. Two duvets with covers, the top layer with the spread-like cover and a second, cotton covered lighter duvet. The mattress was comfortable. The other three rooms occupied by our friends had similar finishes and colors. Two rooms had loveseats instead of chaise lounges.

The hotel fronts the lake and is separated from the waterfront by a public parking area and a marina.

We had three balcony rooms and one lakefront room. All were located in the center core (14 and 16 series rooms) and above the outdoor social area and bar. We did experience some noise associated with this location as we like to sleep with the AC off and the door open. The hotel turns on the outside speakers early in the morning and we could hear the music clearly. If we return, I would request an end balcony unit.

A feature of the balcony worth mentioning is that the balconies in the 14/16 series are common with the adjoining room, separated by a planter and a rather small piece of lattice. Should both rooms be using their balconies at the same time, there would be no privacy and nothing to separate you except a piece of painted lattice that is maybe 48 inches high and covers 2/3 of the width of the balcony.

We ate at the one site restaurant twice, once for dinner and once for breakfast. Both meals were fine. The bar area is welcoming and we visited two nights for pre- and post-dinner cocktails.

The outdoor social area is nice feature. There are plenty of tables and chairs, including many groupings of Adirondack chairs and one gas fire pit. Many guests took advantage to this gathering spot, including our group.

The rooms had a nice size fridge in the cabinet, real wine glasses, ice buckets and openers. The rooms do not have coffee makers, a big source of frustration for everyone we encountered. It was almost comical how many people were very disappointed about the lack of in-room coffee makers.

The hotel does have a complimentary coffee station in the bar. It seemed as if the staff could not keep up with customer use, however, because coffee, hot water and supplies were not replenished in a timely manner. There was at least one wedding so the coffee station may have been unusually busy.

Parking was at a premium. As we walked everywhere at night and used the car only once during our stay, it didn’t present a problem but the one time we did use the car, we had to wait for someone else to leave to pull into their space. This may be related to the on-site wedding but the parking area does look small in relation to the size of the hotel.

The hotel advertises itself as a complete non-smoking facility. However, ashtrays are provided around the edge of the property as well as by the front door. Security was observed asking smokers to move to the edge of the patio and away from the doors.

We would stay at the home again if we return to Watkins Glen.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cleobeach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coriano, Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

I booked this hotel as the only one avaliable in Watkins Glen, going from New York to Niagara Falls; BUT it was a big surprise, it was much better than expected from TripAdivsor reviews and hotel internet site itself. The position is in front of the lake, our room had a beatiful view of the lake with patio, the furniture is fantastic, confortable, the pool also, even small, is beatiful.
The place does not offer many other things than Watkins Glen park and activities related to the finger lakes, anyway the hotel makes the time very good.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanoRimini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at the Harbor Hotel for a winery tour weekend. We booked one of the Admiral Suites which was to say the least lovely. Upon check in the staff was very friendly and accomodating. We were a bit early for check in so our room was not ready. Instead of having us hang around waiting the hotel staff took our telephone number and called us . This gave us time to grab some lunch at one of the local cafes. Once we got to our suite it was spacious and tastefully decorated. The balcony allowed us to have a beautiful view of the harbor and lake. The room itself was very nice. The living area had a large flat screen TV, wetbar, microwave and comfortable couch. The bathroom was oversized, tiled and boasted a seperate shower and jacuzzi bathtub. As for the bedroom all I can say is that it had one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. In fact when we left we inquired where we could purchase the mattress.
I dont want to leave out our dining experience. Although we had several options for dinner we were tired and decided to opt for the hotel resturant. The bar and resturant were exceptional. As one whould expected from a decent hotel resturant the food was a bit pricey but it was well worth it. The wait staff was attentive and friendly and I have to admit it was nice to be able to sit down for a decent dinner and have a conversation without having to talk over all the noise you get in many eateries. Having said this don't get the idea this place is pretentious or stuffy. Actually it is just the opposite. The atmosphere is relaxed and casual.
Over all this was a very good experience. I would come here again for a get away weekend or an extended stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NyLuv2Travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Finally a hotel where the pictures do not lie. The room was clean and beautifully appointed. We asked for a high floor and a view of the lake and got both when we checked in. Food in the restaurant was pricey so we ate next door at the the Station. The bar had great local beers and teh outdoor seating was a plus. This hotel s a real gem.. Fitness Center was clean and had excellent machines and a view of Seneca Lake.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LKGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

Spacious and comfortable rooms. Nice view on the lake. Modern decoration (e.g. wooden floor in the room - good for allergies). Parking and WiFi for free, as well as the swimming pool and jacuzzi.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred7861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

Everything about this hotel was top notch. The rooms were beautiful & comfortable. The bathrooms were gorgeous & spacious. The bar including the outdoor area & restaurant were excellent. There wasn't much to do with teenagers but the front desk staff (especially Patrick) were very helpful. I would come back in a minute with other adults & enjoy the wine trails.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Memis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
18.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
21.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
15.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
1.2 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
19.0 mi away
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Property: Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Address: 16 N Franklin St, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-1221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel has been awarded a four diamond rating from AAA -The American Automobile Association. This distinction is given to hotels with refined and stylish accommodations and a high level of service and attention to detail. This award makes the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel the top rated hotel in Watkins Glen, New York. At the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, our staff is proud to offer all our guests outstanding service! The hotel offers a variety of deluxe accommodations including six luxurious suites. We offer nightly turndown service, an indoor pool, fitness center and our professional concierge is on call to assist you and your family in planning your Watkins Glen vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watkins Glen Harbor Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing