We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Location, Amenities, Comfort and Service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Superb Location, Amenities, Comfort and Service!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our six night stay in an Admiral Suite. Lovely big space with living/dining area, large king bedroom, tons of storage space everywhere, huge bath with larger shower and jetted tub, a wet bar and a private balcony. The view of the lake and surrounding hills was beautiful and ever-changing with the movement of the sun during the day, sunset and twinkling lights at night. Every comfort and amenity has been carefully designed and executed. Built with quality materials and workmanship, this hotel is just a pleasure to experience. Every single staff member we emailed, spoke with by phone or encountered during our stay was professional, polite, welcoming and genuinely friendly. A couple of service requests were attended to immediately. Room service breakfast was prompt, hot and tasty. We also enjoyed two dinners in the hotel restaurant (separate review). The location was perfect for exploring the awe inspiring nearby Gorge, the Ithaca area parks and Corning-glass museum and cute town. Only small negatives, for us, were specific to the balcony. The hotel's outdoor restaurant/bar, directly below us, was noisy at times, but typically quieted by 10pm. Also, the A/C condensers for our room and the room next door that vented to our balcony were loud and made the balcony uncomfortably hot when they were running. We could turn ours off while we were outside, but had no control of the other unit. The positives FAR outweighed the negatives and we truly had a lovely, relaxing stay. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: We loved having the lake view and the Admiral Suite was VERY spacious and well laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEC1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your amazing photos!! The photos of sailboat and the sunset are absolutely stunning! Proven by many, the photo opportunities in the Finger Lakes Region are endless!

We are thrilled you enjoyed the comforts of one of our beautiful Admiral Suites. Highlighting some of the great things the Harbor Hotel and the area has to offer is very valuable to fellow travelers and we appreciate it.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warm Regards,
Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    211
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
221
650
21
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The first time we stayed at the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel was in March 2011, which is when we got engaged. We returned in June 2014 to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. We stayed 4 nights. Check in was quick and easy and the front desk staff were friendly and courteous. There are about 6 luggage carts to use, and they have someone to help with your bags if you want it. Our room was on the 4th floor, lakeside. The room was as beautiful as we remembered, in shades of blues and white. The floor inside the door and in the bathroom is tile and the floor in the sleeping area, is a hard surface that has the look of hardwood but isn't. There are little floor mats at the sides of the bed so you are not stepping directly onto cold flooring when you get out of bed. I really like not having potentially worn down carpet, and I think that the hard floors give a sleek look to the room.

The bathroom has a nice single bowl sink, and a glass door shower stall, which is fully tiled and has great water pressure. They provide you with shampoo, conditioner, lotion, body wash, q-tips, cotton balls, hair dryer, and a make-up remover wipe each day, which is a great bonus. The only real complaint that we have about the bathroom is that there is no fan, so it's super silent and rather awkward. The airflow didn't keep the bathroom humid after a shower at least.

In the bedroom, you have a nice size mini-fridge hidden inside of the dresser unit. Being in the Finger Lakes, they also provided a pair of wine glasses and a corkscrew in the room. There is also nightly turn-down service, which includes a chocolate for each person.

There was a coffee station provided at the elevator lobby on our floor, which was nice (vs having in-room coffee) since it was already brewed and didn't clutter up the room. There were a selection of creamers (regular and flavored) as well as natural and artificial sweeteners. Local papers were left outside each room door every morning.

During our stay, we had breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel. Breakfast was good, but omelettes are a little weird not having cheese since they generally do. Lunch and dinner were both very good; they have fun bread baskets which include 3 breads and 3 spreads and if you don't order dessert, you get chocolate covered cherries in a dollop of whipped cream, which is the perfect end to a meal.

Check-out was a breeze! They slid the bill under our door on our final morning. We stopped by the front desk on our way out and didn't need to sign anything, got to keep our key cards as souvenirs, which was a nice touch.

Overall, this is by far our favorite hotel. From the courteous and friendly staff who greet you every time you enter and exit the lobby to the clean, spacious rooms, you can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: 4th floor lakeside - views are amazing. Worth the extra money vs village view. If you don't need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sardanfav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Happy belated anniversary! We are thrilled that you chose the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel to celebrate your special day. On behalf of the entire team, we sincerely thank you for your amazing review! We appreciate you taking the time to give us and other travelers such extensive details on your experience.

Our ultimate goals are to ensure your satisfaction and to create memorable experiences for our guests. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your patronage is appreciated and we will look forward to your third visit.

Best Regards,
Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was super nice and clean. It was in a great location very updated and modern. The views are great. The staff was accommodating and friendly. The restaurant was also really good and the views of the lake are beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creynolds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is extremely rewarding for our team to receive your compliments on the friendly service you received. We’re happy you enjoyed the beautiful view of Seneca Lake and the comforts of your room.

We appreciate your excellent rating! We look forward to being a part of your next visit to Watkins Glen.

Best Regards,
Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

After visiting Niagara Falls , my wife and I were heading back to New York, when we stumbled upon Watkins Glen at the foot of Seneca Lake. The Harbor Hotel convinced us to stay for 2 nights with their warm welcome and very personable staff. Nothing was too much for the Front of House staff and they helped arrange a trail ride for my wife. The room was very comfortable and the food in the restaurant was excellent, again served by young people who really cared about what they were doing and made us feel genuinely welocme. I had not fully understood the importance of Watkins Glen in relation to motor racing, but the setting by Seneca lake was the main attractiuon for me, and we were able to relax fully as well as enjoy the company of the staff - I would even consider working there myself!

Room Tip: Most fo the rooms face the lake, which give you a splendid view. I suspect it will be difficult to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
It was a pleasure to have you and your wife stay with us. We were thrilled to read all of your nice comments regarding our staff. They truly are amazing and committed to doing all they can to make our guest’s stay extraordinary. We genuinely appreciate you acknowledging their efforts.

We would gladly welcome you to our remarkable team! We are always looking for great people who share the same passion for providing exceptional customer service.

Again, thank you for your great review and for taking the time to share your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor. We look forward to the pleasure of a return visit.

Best Regards,
Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

One of the great hotels right on Seneca Lake.The views were breathtaking and the rooms were clean and comfortable.The Corning Museum is a must for both children and adults. A walk through the Park was like being in Jurrasic Park.There are about 18 waterfalls to see through out the park
itself.Watkins Glen Racetrack was just fantastic to see if you like fast cars.The Seneca Lodge was a good place to have Diner and explore the past.

Room Tip: Must get a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your great review and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad you had a great time and enjoyed our beautiful view! We agree, all of the attractions you visited are a must see and we appreciate you highlighting them to fellow travelers.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guests and we are delighted that you have a fond memory of the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel and the Finger Lakes Region.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We came to this hotel through our decision to drive from toronto to New York and wanted somewhere midway
We stayed two nights

The hotel is very fresh and beautifully appointed

Rooms are gorgeous whites and blues to match the marina outside the window
The hotel is on a beautiful lake Seneca
Absolutely nothing to complain about

Food great service great comfort great

I would easily recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Waterfront we stayed third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeneeeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your awesome review! We are thrilled you had such a great experience staying with us and that you were thoroughly impressed with our beautiful hotel.

Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We will look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay!

Sincerely,
Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Beautiful hotel on the southern tip of Lake Seneca. Only got to stay only one night passing through the area. Wish we could have stayed longer. Mary, in reservations, was super accommodating as were the gals at the front desk upon check-in. Room was very nice, clean, comfy bed, loads of extras, and we had a view of the lake. Got to use the indoor pool and hot tub...both clean and relaxing. Would definitely recommend to other travelers in the area.

Room Tip: If possible, try to book a lakeview room. So nice to view the lake in the evening and again in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plantlover36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience! Our goal is to have every guest walk away with the same feelings that you had about our staff and hotel. It was very nice of you to give special mention to Mary. Our staff’s goal is to ensure each guest's experience is a memorable one.

We hope that the Harbor Hotel will continue to be your hotel of choice when visiting the Finger Lakes Region.

Sincerely,
Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
18.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
21.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
15.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
Radisson Hotel Corning
#1 of 6 in Corning
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Property: Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Address: 16 N Franklin St, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-1221
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel has been awarded a four diamond rating from AAA -The American Automobile Association. This distinction is given to hotels with refined and stylish accommodations and a high level of service and attention to detail. This award makes the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel the top rated hotel in Watkins Glen, New York. At the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, our staff is proud to offer all our guests outstanding service! The hotel offers a variety of deluxe accommodations including six luxurious suites. We offer nightly turndown service, an indoor pool, fitness center and our professional concierge is on call to assist you and your family in planning your Watkins Glen vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watkins Glen Harbor Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing