We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Place... Don't miss it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
163 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Place... Don't miss it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

You'll know, the minute you walk in, that you've ended up in a great place. The hotel itself is bright, modern, very - very clean and you just feel at home. The staff is friendly, helpful and eager to please. Our room (we had a double queen, lake-view with a balcony), was ready well ahead of normal check-in time (4 pm) allowing us to relax a little early. Like the rest of the hotel, the room was bright, comfortable and immaculate. And the view? Spectacular. The restaurant was terrific with a choice to eat inside or out (seasonal) and the food was top notch. The wait staff was friendly, courteous and right on time, consistently. Location is convenient to walking into town, strolling the marina or heading up the lake for wine tours.
This, honestly, was one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Lakeview is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TPS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We're so glad to hear you had such a wonderful experience staying with us and thrilled you felt right at home! We're also happy we were able to accommodate an early check in for you.

It was a great pleasure to read how you enjoyed your experiences in the Blue Pointe Grille. I will pass along your gracious compliments to our Food &Beverage team and to our Executive Chef, Christopher Hascall.

It has been our privilege to serve you and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the Harbor Hotel in the future.


Best Regards,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    204
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
207
618
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Kentucky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel is an upscale modern facility with decorator touches throughout. Upon entering the restaurant and bar areas are fashionably treated with polished hardwoods, the hallways are a bright modern palate. The rooms are spacious, I repeat spacious. Comfortable, king-sized beds, a walk-in shower, oversize hang up closet, desk and large couch. We were late booking and did not get the Lake view…for the romantics this is a must. The bathroom has dramatic decorator lighting, as with the adjacent make-up area. The large walk-in shower had a removable hand-held wand and lacked water pressure. WiFi is available, but slow and buggy. Free coffee service is available across from the elevators on each floor. Being on a fixed budget, we did not eat in the restaurant. However we found a gem in the “Coldwater Bar.” Our bartender, Adam, was knowledgeable and friendly. He even helped first time tourists customize their drinks to their preference. The bar menu was limited, but within budget. The hamburger I ordered might have been the biggest and best prepared I’ve had in 20 years. The rooms are a bit pricey, but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Opt for a Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your high recommendation of the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to give us and other travelers your thorough and detailed feedback on your stay.

It was certainly our pleasure to do all that we possibly could to make your stay a memorable one. We enjoy providing our guests with the exceptional service they deserve and appreciate you giving a special mention to Adam. I will be happy to share your compliments with him.

Again, thank you for your review and for sharing your Harbor Hotel experience!

Sincerely,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Level Contributor
133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights . We managed to get a space in the car park even though it was very busy . We had booked a room with a view over the marina which also looked over the car park . We saw the rooms facing the back of the hotel and they were the same as ours.I don't know what their view was,but we don't think it was worth paying extra for the marina view . Didn't spend anytime gazing at the view . To be honest we didn't think it was very pretty . The room was really great . Very spacious , clean , nice shower and comfortable bed . There was free coffee by the lift each morning . We didn't try the pool but it looked nice . Enjoyed our stay .

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pixie056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star rating and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed the comforts of your guest room and the convenience of the complimentary coffee & tea stations.

It is our hopes that your travels bring you back to see us again very soon. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to enjoy our indoor heated pool and jacuzzi during your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We just returned from our forth trip to Harbor Hotel. Can't say enough good things. Friendly staff, very clean, Lovely big rooms with a view of the lake, Great comfy beds. We will return. Remember to bring your swim suit for the indoor pool (we forgot). Very close to the Gorge, we wake up Monday morning and run over to do our annual trip. We will return again next year when we our annual wine tasting at lake Seneca.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of lake Seneca
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your fabulous rating and review is rewarding and encouraging, as we are passionate about serving our guests and earning their continued patronage.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Harbor Hotel. Don't forget your swimsuit!

Warm Regards,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludington, michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is one of the nicest places I've stayed. We had a king room which was large and comfortable with a beautiful view of Seneca Lake. The shower was all tile with a glass door and was spotless. There was a small but very nice pool area. We ordered breakfast through room service and it was delicious. The staff was friendly and professional. The room was a little pricey but totally worth it. Watkins Glen State Park is less that five minutes away. Not a whole lot to do in Watkins Glen there are many parks and wineries near by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparty1134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is extremely rewarding for our staff to receive your compliments on the friendly and professional service you received. We’re happy you enjoyed the beautiful view of Seneca Lake and comforts of your room.

Ensuring our guests enjoy everything about their experience is what we do best, and we are passionate about doing all we can to make every stay a special and unique one.

Thank you for the excellent rating! We look forward to being a part of your next visit to Watkins Glen.

Sincerely,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a beautiful hotel! We arrived here around 6 pm and were checked in quickly. Help was offered right away to unload the vehicle and get everything to the room. My husband is in a wheelchair so this was very nice to have. As we arrived late we decided to have dinner at the hotel. It was amazing! The service was great and the food was sooooo good! The room was very spacious with the most beautiful view of the marina and Lake Seneca. Bed was very comfortable and room very clean. We heard no hallway noise at all in the room. Very quiet hotel and very quiet heating/cooling system in the room. We enjoyed the coffee every morning as we relaxed with the paper and checking emails (free WiFi) The staff was very friendly and always offering their help.
We stayed here for 5 nights. We found it very central to wineries, Corning, Ithaca and many local restaurants.
I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: we stayed in a King Lakeview. I would recommend it. The view was beautiful to wake up to each mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeymooninour50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Our staff works very hard to ensure each guest's experience is a memorable one. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay as well as our central location to the wineries.

It was a great pleasure to read how you enjoyed your dinner in the Blue Pointe Grille. I will pass along your gracious compliments to our Food &Beverage team and to our Executive Chef, Christopher Hascall..

It has been our privilege to serve you and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Beautiful view from our widow, it looked out on the Marina. It had all the comforts, bed was very comfortable. You do pay the price, I would recommend an off season visit you would get a little better price. A great place to stay after your hike in Watkins Glen State Park. Great spa and hot tub.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karentuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the comforts of your guest room and had the opportunity to visit Watkins Glen's beautiful state park.

Once again, thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to serving you again when you are in the Wakins Glen area. On behalf of our team, we truly appreciate your business.

Warm Regards,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
21.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
15.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
18.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
1.2 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 18 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Property: Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Address: 16 N Franklin St, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-1221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel has been awarded a four diamond rating from AAA -The American Automobile Association. This distinction is given to hotels with refined and stylish accommodations and a high level of service and attention to detail. This award makes the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel the top rated hotel in Watkins Glen, New York. At the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, our staff is proud to offer all our guests outstanding service! The hotel offers a variety of deluxe accommodations including six luxurious suites. We offer nightly turndown service, an indoor pool, fitness center and our professional concierge is on call to assist you and your family in planning your Watkins Glen vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watkins Glen Harbor Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing