We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

By far the loveliest hotel I have ever stayed in. The hotel is beautiful- nautical..the staff is very friendly and accommodating..the town is like stepping back in time. Would absolutely book there again and again!
The location was perfect for our trips to the wineries!

Room Tip: No bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkwieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    218
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
227
677
22
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Last minute over-night stay for our 40th anniversary on St. Valentine's Day weekend...not an easy time of year to get a room or plan a trip due to uncertain weather, Valentines Day celebrations and winter breaks in our area. But, luckily there were openings here. This is a new hotel right on the water front in Watkins Glen. Our room was very spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. We loved the amenities and the attention to detail in our room. We had king bed with sofa bed room facing the lake. It has a beautiful view of the harbor and Seneca Lake. Large window seat under the windows. The walk-in, ceiling to floor marble shower was gorgeous. The wood flooring is a beautiful touch.

For a Sunday night stay, the hotel was pretty full due to the holiday weekend. The restaurant was very busy and since we didn't think to make reservations, we chose to eat in the bar. It was delightful. Extremely comfortable seats and very nice atmosphere. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant. It was not as large as we expected, but very nice. Both the bar and the restaurant overlook the lake.

We've stayed at other hotels near the northern end of Seneca Lake before, but never in the Watkins Glen area. This hotel is fabulous. Seneca Lake is surrounded with wineries making this an excellent choice to stay if you are planning a wine trip. We will definitely stay there again - hopefully in warmer weather when it will be easier to explore the Watkins Glen area.

Room Tip: The lake front rooms are a must for me. They do not have coffee makers in the rooms, but set up a wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dxlanfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful weekend at this hotel. The hotel is exemplary! We were impressed by the spaciousness of the room (we stayed in a king bed deluxe lakeview room with a sofa bed on the fourth floor). The hotel is in a prime location, with plenty of restaurants and activities within walking distance. The room was immaculately clean. We had a marble shower and bathroom, plenty of counter space, and many electrical outlets. The front desk staff were very accommodating. Every time we passed the front desk, there were always two staff members present to assist guests. Private parking for guests surrounds the hotel. The rooms are a bit pricey, but you are getting quality for the money. It was perfect for a couples weekend getaway splurge.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DrSteve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo NY
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel is one of the most beautiful and comfortable hotels we have ever stayed in! Not only is the staff excellent, the rooms super clean and relaxing - but the restaurant serves the most delicious food as well!! We have never been disappointed! We have stayed there a few times a year and we always look forward to the next time we can visit!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful - but this time we had a king suite - which was very nice! And the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amh424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful, spacious, clean hotel with a stunning view of the harbor. Friendly, attentive staff. Bar and restaurant both offer comforting delicious food. We went there for the chocolate and wine tour. Definitely an enjoyable and relaxing stay. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After a spur of the moment decision to visit the Finger Lakes once again, we decided to stay at the Harbor Hotel because of a picture of the lovely guest rooms on Trip Advisor. As pictured, the room was not only beautiful, but comfortable and quiet, too! We also enjoyed a delicious dinner and breakfast while there. We will be sure to stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We decided to get away for the Presidents Day weekend, also the weekend after Valentine's Day. Needless to say, finding room at the lakeside locations when you're making laast minute plans isn't easy. However, they had a few rooms open. The reviews on this site sounded wonderful, but the photos made me concerned the place would be "cold." It turned out being just the opposite.

The very warm greeting got the weekend off to a pleasing start. We found througtout the weekend all staff members to be friendly, actually seeming to be happy to be there and host us. Our room, facing the lake, wasn't cold feeling with the hardwood floors, but clean, quiet elegance. The view from our window seat (a very nice touch, by the way, versus just a window) was spectacular, especially as the cold winds swept across the lake and snow alternated with sunny skies. Want to warm up more? Just walk downstairs (in the robes they provide) to the (small) pool and hot tub. A soak and nap by the pool and it's time to get out for more wine tastings, craft breweries, hikes on the nearby trails or a walk through downtown Watkins Glen which is right outside the door. Ask about the excellent Italian restaurant, Jerlando's, just a few blocks away.

Overall, I'd definitely return, though I don't know their "in season" rates.

Room Tip: Definitely worth getting a room facing the lake. In season, I imagine a porch is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyTheTraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
2.8 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
97 reviews
21.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
20.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
131 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#8 of 9 in Watkins Glen
24 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Property: Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Address: 16 N Franklin St, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-1221
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel has been awarded a four diamond rating from AAA -The American Automobile Association. This distinction is given to hotels with refined and stylish accommodations and a high level of service and attention to detail. This award makes the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel the top rated hotel in Watkins Glen, New York. At the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, our staff is proud to offer all our guests outstanding service! The hotel offers a variety of deluxe accommodations including six luxurious suites. We offer nightly turndown service, an indoor pool, fitness center and our professional concierge is on call to assist you and your family in planning your Watkins Glen vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watkins Glen Harbor Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing