We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but fabulous room and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pricey, but fabulous room and service”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We booked here based upon recommendations from co-workers. It's definitely going to cost you to enjoy this place, but it's worth it. This is a fabulous hotel! The hardwood floors throw you at first, but you learn to love them. Great rooms, great location and wonderful staff (for example, they call after you order room service to make sure you were happy with it). Stone showers are just the best way to start your day. Next time I will upgrade to balcony though - nothing like opening up a bottle found on the wine trail and enjoying it as you lounge on Lake Seneca! Harbor Hotel has it all - and should be especially proud of the most accomodating staff.

Room Tip: We were celebrating, so spent the money for the lakeview. We were disappointed we didn't go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmunkwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    214
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
223
662
21
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very cosy and clean, good beds etc. The staff is very friendly and eager to help. What we really appreciated was the treatment we got from the hotel staff after mentioning we came to celebrate our anniversary! Room upgraded to a lake view and a bottle of sparkling vine - very nice!
In the area, Watkins glen is extremely beatiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
266 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect as a base for wine tasting around Seneca Lake.
The hotel itself is perfectly done and immaculate. We had a Commodore Suite on the 3rd floor, and the porch was more than worth the extra money. The room was as clean as any hotel I've ever stayed in, and well furnished. The small wine fridge, regular refrigerator and microwave were a nice touch without ruining the clean look of the room.
Minor complaints: no in-room coffee maker and the coffee service that is supposed to be on each floor is erratic (and the lobby coffee service isn't refilled as promptly as one might expect). As some other reviewers have indicated, if the room above you has guests walking around with heels or boots, you can hear them due to the laminate floors in the room (which are a nice touch as far as the look and cleanliness of the room is concerned)
The prices are a bit high for the area, but the ability to walk right out onto the harbor and see the lake makes it worth the splurge.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a balcony overlooking the lake - its worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel location is excellent. Make sure you get a room with the lake view and a porch. You can walk to town, park, restaurants and enjoy lake views. It is nice to spend a day exploring and then come back and relax on the porch and have a glass of wine. The staff is wonderful and the hotel is very clean. Not the cheapest for sure but you pay for a piece of mind. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milos N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was our third stay at Harbor Hotel. We stayed one nite and did the Lake Seneca winery run...perfect location, great staff, clean rooms, nice view, great food at the Blue Point grill, what more can I say. Highly recommend!!. Staff goes out of their way to be accommodating. You even get a phone call after check in to be sure everything is perfect. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Kudos to the Hart family on their lovely hotel! Their staff were helpful, friendly and well versed in the on-goings of local community. The room, with its bright and cheery tones, was clean and well positioned. Love the location on the tip of the lake. Was without a car for several days and could walk to all of the attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a lake view room which was gorgeous. The location is perfect you can walk to everything, Even the gorge. There were several weddings the weekend we were there. 2 at the hotel itself so it was full and we paid more than I would have liked to but the the staff was wonderful. The concierge recommend some great wineries to visit and we took a boat tour of the lake. It was a great couples getaway.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the lake is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSRLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
2.8 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
93 reviews
21.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
19.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
Radisson Hotel Corning
#1 of 6 in Corning
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#9 of 9 in Watkins Glen
24 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
127 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Property: Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Address: 16 N Franklin St, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-1221
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel has been awarded a four diamond rating from AAA -The American Automobile Association. This distinction is given to hotels with refined and stylish accommodations and a high level of service and attention to detail. This award makes the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel the top rated hotel in Watkins Glen, New York. At the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, our staff is proud to offer all our guests outstanding service! The hotel offers a variety of deluxe accommodations including six luxurious suites. We offer nightly turndown service, an indoor pool, fitness center and our professional concierge is on call to assist you and your family in planning your Watkins Glen vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watkins Glen Harbor Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing