We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Loved everything about this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved everything about this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My husband and I took a weekend trip to Seneca Lake two weeks before Christmas, and we hope to make this a regular trip we take. The Harbor Hotel was spectacular. First of all, this is probably the cleanest hotel I have stayed at in a very long time; everything was spotless. The king-sized bed was very comfortable, and the showers were spacious and had great water pressure! The room temperature was easily adjusted, and there were other nice perks, including a great chaise. The view of the lake was beautiful, although had we booked a balcony room, I would have probably enjoyed it even more. One feature I really liked was each individual floor having a coffee and tea service in the morning, which I believe was set up no later than 7 am. We ate dinner in the pub area the first night, which was a super-comfortable atmosphere with friendly staff, reasonable prices and great food. Finally, the staff throghout the entire hotel could not have been nicer. I am so excited at the prospects of returning to this beautiful, comfortable hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly_C10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    189
    28
    10
    7
See reviews for
193
566
20
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WORCESTER
Level Contributor
559 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

This hotel looks brand new, yet it still looks like it belongs at the southern tip of Seneca lake. It truly is a perfect location. The views of the harbor are picturesque yet you are within walking distance of shops and restaurants in Watkins Glen. It is also directly on the wine trail, there are at least 10 wineries within 5 or 6 miles of the hotel. The room was spotless and very comfortable. They left a bottle of champagne in our room because we were celebrating our anniversary. Parking was free.We ate at the restaurant down stairs for dinner and it was delicious. Everything we had was fresh and tasty. Their concierge service was also outstanding when we came back from a wine tour they got us a luggage cart for our wine and when we asked about places to eat in the area they took the time to ask a few questions about what we like and then suggested a few places. Her suggestion was perfect and it was great service. There is only one negative thing I can say, I was disappointed that there was no gift shop.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the front that overlook the parking lot and Watkins Glen, I would suggest upgradi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbugsforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed at the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel the week of Thanksgiving 2011. Having never been to this area of New York, we were interested in the excellent wines and the scenery around the lakes. Not the best time of year to visit due to the cold and many of the trails in the state parks being closed, but we still had an enjoyable time.

The Harbor Hotel is a fairly new facility (opened in 2008) that sits right at the south end of Seneca Lake in Watkins Glen, NY. The hotel actually looks over the small harbor and then on up the lake. If you want this view however, you have to request a Lakeview or harbor side room. And if you want a balcony, make sure to request the Lakeview patio. Otherwise, there are less expensive rooms (called Village View) that look towards the parking lot and town of Watkins Glen as well as the cliff face that is a portion of the state park.

We stayed in a Lakeview King patio with a sofa/bed, as there were 3 of us. We were given a room on the top floor with a balcony. Although it was cold, the rain stayed away most of our stay so the balcony was a nice amenity. In the summer months, this balcony would be a great extra splurge for your room as the views are very nice. The rooms, being fairly new, were well maintained and comfortable. The maid service was very professional and it seemed that they kept a watch on our room so that they “knew” when we were gone and would quickly and efficiently make up our room before we returned. There was also turn down service every night as an added bonus.

The hotel has a small fitness room with elliptical machines and treadmills as well as a multi-purpose weight machine. This fitness room has a view of the harbor as you work out as well as TVs built into the machines. There is also an indoor pool that looked nice however we didn’t try it out. Outside, there is a nice patio that has a fire pit. I believe in the warmer months there are dining amenities out there and it is just off of the bar area.

There is a nice upscale restaurant in the hotel called Blue Pointe Grille as well as a nicely appointed adjacent bar. We ate at the restaurant one evening and the food was very good, although expensive. One plus to the restaurant was that we weren’t charged a corkage fee for a nice bottle of wine we had purchased at a Finger Lakes winery. I’m not sure if this is because we were staying at the hotel or that it was a slower weeknight but make sure to ask. There are so many great wineries in this region, you’ll want to bring some of your purchases to the local restaurants, corkage fee or not.

Except for Thanksgiving, we ate at various restaurants in Watkins Glen and the surrounding villages. We ate one night at Jerlando’s Ristorante in Watkins however we felt this was just an average Italian restaurant. Another night we ate at The Village Tavern in Hammondsport, which was unique and had very good reasonably priced food. Their selection of beers and wines was amazing if you are so inclined. We also ate in Ithaca one evening with friends who live there – I’d recommend searching on Trip Advisor or other restaurant recommendation sites as there seem to be many nice restaurants in this college town (home of Cornell University).

I mentioned Thanksgiving dinner. I had made reservations for us for the Thanksgiving buffet provided by the Blue Pointe Grille but set up in the large conference rooms at the hotel. If you happen to be in the area on Thanksgiving, I’d recommend this for your dinner, as the buffet was excellent. In addition to turkey, there were other well prepared meats and the side dishes were all very well done. And the dessert offerings were all worth sampling if you had the room after gorging on the large buffet. We again brought a bottle of Finger Lakes wine with us and this time were charged a nominal $10 corkage fee. I believe the buffet fee was $25.00 per person but it was worth every penny and judging from the crowded dining area, this is a highlight Thanksgiving buffet for this region so if you plan on this for next year, make your reservations early.

Don’t miss the Corning Glass Museum if you happen to be staying in the Finger Lakes area. Well worth a visit as this is a very unique and enjoyable museum. And lastly, do visit your share of wineries in the region. Having done many “winery trips” in the past, I would have to say that this region is one of my favorites and holds it’s own to any wine tasting trips anywhere in the U.S., including Napa!

Overall, our stay at The Harbor Hotel was very nice and the Finger Lakes region is an excellent vacation destination. Hopefully, we’ll be able to go back up there in the summer or fall at some time in the future.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, ask for a lake view patio. Also ask for a harbor view or you may end up on o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Situated on Lake Seneca, this hotel is very well run, spotlessly clean, and the rooms are large and very comfortable. I stayed there for my birthday with my husband and my two adult children and their husbands. We had a wonderful time. The hotel staff made it a very special weekend for us. We found the food in the hotel restaurant to be delicious and Eric, our waiter was very attentive. We had the opportunity to use the pool and whirlpool, both of which were well maintained and very clean. All the staff were just wonderful. I would recommend this hotel to just about everyone, and I will definately stay there again.
Rosemary G

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozy8703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I stayed at the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel during the Seneca Wine Trial Deck the Halls event in Dec 2011. There were 5 of us in a double queen with kitchenette. The room was spotless and spacious. One issue was that the air handling was LOUD. One the second night it didn't seem to run as much but the person on the air matress was in a strong air current when the heat was on and she was chilly as a result.
We forgot about coffee being down the hall but it was excellent and we didn't have to fuss with it in the room - no mess! We enjoyed walks on the docks and around the marina. Loved the firepit outside (would have been better if the smokers from the event inside would have kept their distance, however).
Watkins Glen is a warm and gracious town. We had great meals at places within walking distance. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel and Watkins Glen.

Room Tip: Spring for lake view - we used the little patio to watch fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

The main street through downtown Watkins Glen NY ends at Seneca Lake, and the entrance to the lovely Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel. It feels new, crisp and well appointed. The inviting lobby was bright with tasteful holiday decor. The staff is ready and waiting- professional and genuinely happy to serve you, both in manner and appearance. Check in was efficient, fast, and our bags were immediately taken up to the room, even though it was a busy place on this particular weekend. Our attractive suite was large and immaculate with a gorgeous view of the lake and harbor. The bathroom has a walk in shower, jacuzzi tub, and a seperate toilet room. They permitted us to put 5 people in the suite and provided a queen sized air mattress, as tall as a normal bed, made up with high quality bedding as was the extremely comfortable sofa bed and king bed in the room. When our two nieces arrived the following day to use the air mattress it had lost some air and was somewhat deflated as we discovered at 8 PM that night. Not to worry, the staff replaced the mattress and bedding promptly so everyone was comfortable for the night. The room service and the Grille restaurant in the hotel were excellent-nice menu for dinner and breakfast the next morning and great atmosphere. I cannot compliment the staff enough- they go out of their way to be accommodating and courteous and they really "jumped through hoops" for us to get that replacement air mattress as the hotel was completely occupied that night. This is a five star operation on all levels. What a treat!

Room Tip: Discuss your specific needs with the staff ahead of time and they will make it happen for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Let me start by saying this was our first trip to the finger lakes so I had to trust other reviews to find a great place to stay!! This hotel is everything you could want. The rooms are cozy and spacious. Turn down service with chocolates placed on the bed and music turned on was a very nice touch!! Lots of little extras here like the outdoor fire pit which we made use of!! Also we booked an extra night last minute and we were not only given a great deal but the woman working the front desk was super friendly and helpful! Also we were close to a few great wineries which was wonderful! My only complaint would have to be related to the restaurant. We went there one night to have drinks and dessert. We had the chocolate cake and it was awful.....tasted store bought. The bartender was nice enough to see we had not finished it so she offered to give us something else. We asked for a cheese plate instead. Well, we never received it and when we asked for the bill 20 min later she realized she had forgotten about our order. An understandable mistake but disappointing just the same. We will definitely return to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindymarchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
21.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#7 of 9 in Watkins Glen
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 18 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Property: Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Address: 16 N Franklin St, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-1221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel has been awarded a four diamond rating from AAA -The American Automobile Association. This distinction is given to hotels with refined and stylish accommodations and a high level of service and attention to detail. This award makes the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel the top rated hotel in Watkins Glen, New York. At the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, our staff is proud to offer all our guests outstanding service! The hotel offers a variety of deluxe accommodations including six luxurious suites. We offer nightly turndown service, an indoor pool, fitness center and our professional concierge is on call to assist you and your family in planning your Watkins Glen vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watkins Glen Harbor Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing