We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow, what a place”

Watkins Glen State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The cascades of 18 waterfalls are the calling card of this state park.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“wow, what a place”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is our first time visiting Watkins Glen, the State park is something to see, I am really glad we were there first thing in the morning, because it gets really packed ,being we got there so early we walked the gorge with a few others, it was so peaceful and picture perfect, it is a must to see, would walk it again,

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank margaret l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,052 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,561
    416
    59
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
121 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Don't forget about the pool !”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Although this park is known for the gorge, we go to swim in the large swimming pool at the top of the gorge. With changing house, a snack bar, playground and treed picnic area, this a great place to swim and relax. There is no additional fee to use the pool, other than the state park day pass which is charged by car, not number of people. There is a large general purpose pool with 3 diving boards and a wader pool for the little ones. You can drive to the pool entrance by by-passing the gorge entrance and following the signs. If you want to swim and hike, there is a hiking entrance to the gorge upper end of the gorge trail near the pool parking area.
On one side of the pool there is a second level of deck area, so parents can sit there and have a good view of the large pool. There are comfortable chairs, and it has never been so crowded that we couldn't get enough chairs for the adults in our group.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank oaklanefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1,067 reviews
402 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
“Fabulous gorge hike reminiscent of the Utah canyons”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were completely surprised to find such a wonderful hike in New York. Except for the many beautiful waterfalls here, we felt like we were back in the canyons of Utah. The best way to access the hike is from the north entrance to the park that is much less busy than the entrance in town (the fee is $8 per car per day). You should hike from there on the lower trail into the gorge. From there it's 1 1/2 miles down to the entrance in town. You'll pass many waterfalls, some behind them, and various tunnels. There is a bus(fee) at the bottom to take you back to the north entrance. But you should walk back up to enjoy a different perspective and have some 800 steps of exercise. The way can be a bit wet and slippery, and I advise using hiking boots, although I saw everything including flip-flops, bare feet, and high heels (yikes!). I'm surprised that the national park service has not grabbed this place for a park or monument (presidents can declare monuments, hint, hint).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What to do in the Finger Lakes”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A must visit if u hit the wine country in upstate New York. Magnificent waterfalls! The Herman Wiener winery is a must visit but a trip to the Corning Glass Museum will blow you away!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank aaaaveep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking waterfalls”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Being new to New York State, I just don't where to go or what to see. So we're watching the Getaway guy, Mike O'Brian showing Watkins Glen Gorge. So we went. It was a Friday so it wasn't too crowded, but you will find a lot of foreigners!! Some say there are 800 steps; some say there's more. All I can say is be ready to climb those steps. The nice thing is, the steps are not all together. There are steps and then pathways, more steps and more pathways. Things to take is, make sure you take an extra t-shirt, because you will sweat!! Make sure you take a camera, because the waterfalls are just spectacular. DO NOT wear open toe shoes. Take a bottle of water with you going up and coming down. Carry as little as possible, but make sure you carry money, because you're going to want to buy water or drinks at the top of the mountain. But most of all, if you're going to do it, go up first then come down. It made it easier. Last thing is, just when you think you've gotten to the top, and you see the steep steps, there will be at least 60-70 more steps before you actually get to the top. This is not for those who are afraid of heights!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watkins Glen State Park also viewed

 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Watkins Glen State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing