We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gorge trail and waterfalls”

Watkins Glen State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The cascades of 18 waterfalls are the calling card of this state park.
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful gorge trail and waterfalls”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Since we were visiting early in the season not all of the gorge trail was open yet. A little over 1/2 was open and that alone was worth the trip. For the rest of the gorge we were able to walk along the upper Indian trail and still see most of the rest of the falls. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin and Renee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,788
    452
    63
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Callicoon New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Watkins Glen State Park”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The State Park is the gateway to the Finger Lakes District of New York State. As you enter Watkins Glen off of Route 17, you enter the town, famous for Nascar Races during the summer, the waterfall on your left, a big hole in the mountain gushes out, and there are tours available to get a close up look at the falls.
There are popular restaurants, and as you make your way up Main Street, you come to the Fingers Lake Motel. The road divides, and if you take the left fork, you cn travel past many wineries, restaurants, motels that offer a excellent view of Onieda Lake. Many wineries have wine and cheese samplers. A great way to spend the day or weekend on one of the Finger Lakes.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Spend the morning hiking at Watkins Glen which is beautiful. Unfortunately the entire Gorge trail was not open, but I was actually expecting the entire trail to be closed so I was pleasantly surprised. We were able to hike to Lover's Lane which allowed us to see many of the falls and then cut to the Indian trail to see two other waterfalls with slightly obstructed views. Most of it was an easy hike but with many stone steps (we hiked ~300 steps on just a portion of the trail) it can be strenuous. I would recommend going early to avoid crowds (we began at 9am) and it seems like most people stay at the beginning of the gorge from the main entrance taking photos and then turning back. Cute gift shop also at the main entrance.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmyJ461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been hiking for years and the hike through the gorge was one of our favorites. The views from the top of the gorge to the bottom are breathtaking.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CJC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamokin Dam, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Closed for a bit”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We've been to Watkins Glen State Park MANY times over the years and feel it's a MUST see, the bad thing this time was we found out some trees were down and they're closed till mid-May. By all means PLEASE go when it opens no one would regret it I'm sure, SO beautiful!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dwy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watkins Glen State Park also viewed

 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Watkins Glen State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing