We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always!”
Review of Castel Grisch

Castel Grisch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This vineyard restaurant is located in the Finger Lakes wine-producing region of New York.
Whitney Point
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent as always!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great food and wine and great views, always enjoy the tasting!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rcarey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    52
    34
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“.”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The staff and service was excellent. The atmosphere was great.. It may be out of the way but very well worth the trip. The food was great and I highly recommend that you at least check it out.

Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Delicious German food with fabulous views of Seneca Lake!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Overall, I highly recommend Castel Grisch. The winery restaurant is open for dinner only on Friday and Saturday, although lunch is available daily. We chose the German buffet, rather than ordering from the menu. The buffet is a little pricey ($26.95), but everything was absolutely delicious so it was worth it!

Castel Grisch is on the west side of Seneca Lake and sits high atop Watkins Glen. The dining room is charming, but the shaded deck, overlooking the vineyard with fabulous views across the lake, is the perfect place on a warm summer evening. My only criticism is that the patio tables and chairs are plastic and a little rickety, although our table was completed with linen tablecloths and napkins. The servers are friendly and attentive.

Castel Grisch is a family run winery, restaurant and bed & breakfast. Our server told us that original family members came from Austria and settled in the Finger Lakes area because it reminded them of home. We didn't stay at the B&B so I don't know what that's like, but the winery and restaurant definite!ly worth a visit!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cmpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not exactly on the main road, but definitely worth finding!”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were trying for a late lunch/early dinner in mid-afternoon. My wife and I had met up with my sister, and wanted a bit of wine-tasting, plus interesting food, and found this winery's name on the map of wineries along Lake Seneca. It's a bit out of the way, but the view of the vineyard and the lake from the deck makes it totally worthwhile. Having read about the European food on the map, we just had to give it a try. Sunday afternoon, was still lunch menu, but the dinner menu that we were interested in was not officially offered. No problem. The Chef graciously agreed that dinner menu items could be ordered, and since we really wanted to try the Wiener Schnitzel, we all chose it. At that point we were the only customers so it did not seem much of an inconvenience. The Schnitzel was about as good as it can get this side of Vienna. Nicely pounded veal, lightly breaded, and very, very tasty. Along with a bottle of Chablis Grand Cru, it was indeed extremely pleasant. Good, friendly service, no rushing, just a pleasant afternoon.
As for dinner hours, it seems that Thursday to Saturday are the most prevalent, with Sunday being added during July and August. Also tried the apple strudel, which was quite nice but has some limitations due to the method of dough preparation being a bit difficult with North American flour. Small matter. Let's not get too picky. All in all, on our recommended list.

Helpful?
2 Thank AmigoBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curwensville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome food and veiw”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We found Castel Grish on-line. We went to the resaurant to have dinner. we sat outside on the balcony. It was excellent. We don't have German food were we live, so it was a real treat.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank gazzamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castel Grisch also viewed

Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Castel Grisch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing