We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute,clean,and affordable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seneca Clipper Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seneca Clipper Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Watkins Glen B&B and Inns
Watkins Glen, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute,clean,and affordable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

We found this place on internet and decided to try it. We are glad we did. Rooms were very clean and staff was wonderful. Able to answer any question or locate answer if they were not sure. Would definately stay again and recommend to others.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

We were in Watkins Glen for a party at one of the Seneca Lake wineries. There was a lot going on this particular weekend and we could only find a room at this hotel as other places were booked. It is small, but very conveniently located. They are in the process of renovating, but our room had already been redone. It had new furniture and was clean. It is small, but it was a good place to stay and the price was nice. The lady at the front desk was very friendly. We had no problems and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PABucsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

Seneca Clipper Inn now gets a -5 stars (minus5)
be very careful of your reservation. after staying at same place for 20 years, they wanted to give our room to a race team, and then put the rate up an extra 50%!!!!!!!!!!
They also did away with the garden in center of lot to allow for more parking. This took away from the hominess/ambience of the motel.
We found another hotel on the lake with a proper continental breakfast with real toast/bagels/cerals/juice instead of that prepakaged stuff they called danish and coffee with powdered creamer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellers297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Watkins Glen hotels

Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

Saw this on the web, pictures looked average and we're only staying one night in Watkins Glen, so why not? We got there, we had two rooms and here's where it all began. There are 14 rooms, half of the motel is old and the other half has been recently built. The new addition was actually not bad. It still had a nice new smell. The OLD part, which my wife and I stayed in (room #1) was not so good. It has wood paneling, musty smell and there was a huge spider on the roof before bed - kind of gross!

The room was apparently cleaned in the afternoon but there was a nice long hair on our sheets and some nice 'mystery stains!'

I didn't complain one bit because I thought, what's the point, we're there for less then 10 hours. I wouldn't stay there again! There's a budget inn accross the street that looked nice!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Hearing all the cars drive by at all hours, the musty smell, the nice complimentary breakfast (muffins in plastic baggies)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scooby_TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2008

I booked a room at the Seneca Clipper Inn in February for the Porshe races....due to the weather the day before I cancelled making sure that they didnt have any policies and charge my credit card. I called the SENECA and spoke with a boy that did not have any reservations in our name., I was dumbfounded. He then told me that they also own the Budget Inn in Watkins Glen which by the looks of it would have never stayed there OR even called to see if they had a reservation! He then tells me that my reservations were over at the Budget Inn......I asked the boy if he could have the owner call me...she never did, I had to call her over at the Budget Inn. She argued with me stating that I had my reservations over at the Budget Inn and not the Seneca Clpper Inn...I was disagreeing because I KNOW who I CALLED....anyway....after all that she hung up on me. I feel that they were misleading and will never recommend them to anyone again. I thought they were sneaky and they have a misleading website for the public to read. There is nothing that states that my credit card would be charged. I will keep you posted if they charge me or not. I WILL NOT CALL THEM BACK.....I WILL BE CALLING THE BETTER BUSINESS and then spreading the word.....what bad business ethics they have!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NewJerseyMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watkins Glen hotels
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#6 of 9 in Watkins Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Watkins Motel
Watkins Motel
#6 of 17 in Watkins Glen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colonial Inn & Motel
Colonial Inn & Motel
#9 of 17 in Watkins Glen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seneca Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seneca Clipper Inn

Property: Seneca Clipper Inn
Address: 436 S Franklin St, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-1530
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seneca Clipper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Seneca Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing