We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“WONDERFUL PLACE TO STAY!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Peabody's Lakeside Lodging

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watkins Glen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Admiral Peabody's Lakeside Lodging
Save
You added Admiral Peabody's Lakeside Lodging to your Saves list
Norwich, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL PLACE TO STAY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This past weekend 5/16 - 5/17 I stayed at Admiral Peabody's with my boyfriend for a spur of the moment get away. Olga was wonderful from the start, super friendly and down to earth. We stayed in the Red cabin, and it was just wonderful. (also pet friendly) We had a little deck, our own grill, a shared fire pit and a BEAUTIFUL view of the lake. It is just out of town enough to have some piece and quiet but only a 5 minute drive to the wineries! If you want something other then a stuffy hotel room, and a real Watkins Glen experience, THIS is the place to go!! Can't wait to go back! Also, they have private lake front with tables, chairs, and swings right on the lake!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
15
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

When you make reservations via the Internet, it's always scary and a "hit-or-miss" expererience; however, our stay at Admiral Peabody's Lakeside Lodge was everything the owner, Olga, promised it would be. We had a wonderful stay in the 2-bedroom cottage. It was clean and the view was amazing....when sitting on the deck drinking our wine, we had a beautiful view of the lake; and we also had the choice of walking down to the dock and watch the sun come up over the hills and the lake. Our friends stayed in the small single bedroom cottages which had all the conveniences you could want. What a nice place!!!! Very pleased by the experience!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsyvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Admiral Peabody's is a unique place to stay., and it is hard to describe what category it falls into. We stayed in the 2 bedroom lodging, and it couldn't have been better. We have been going to places on the Finger Lakes for years, and this spot wins hands down. It has the privacy of a motel with the ambiance of a Bed and Breakfast. Everything was available in the 2 bedroom unit, from cold beer glasses in the freezer to every kitchen utensil you could ever need. A gas grill at each unit make it a great place for a meal at "home" and home is where you will feel. Olga and Jeff were welcoming and friendly and the 4 cats and a dog enjoyed dropping by in the morning. We enjoyed a campfire at night that was already to go and a walk down to the docks right across the way made it a great way to enjoy boat watching on Seneca Lake. Just stop at one of the many great Wineries located on the Finger Lakes Wine Trail, pick up your favorite wine, and enjoy a relaxing stay!

Room Tip: The cabins are pretty small, so if you are going to be spending much time inside, the one or two bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janiemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My parents and I have stayed there 3 or 4 times over the past 7 years or so and have always been pleased with the accommodations and service. Olga and Jeff are always polite and friendly, and the rooms/cabins have always been clean and comfortable. It's not a 4 star hotel, but we don't expect it to be either. Honestly, it feels like being at home without all the chores. The dock is great for getting away from people and relaxing by the lake. And they're dog-friendly too, which is actually why we started going there in the first place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huskies0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporium, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We shared one of the two bedroom w/kitchenette places with another couple for the weekend. All the amenities were wonderful and the accommodations were great! Olga and her husband were very friendly. If you are expecting large inside areas, this is not the place for you but the outside areas are tremendous. Wish it was a little warmer so we could've enjoyed them. It was a great place to stay to "tour" the many wineries and breweries on Seneca Lake! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaMunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed in one of the tiny cabins in July for one night. It was very quiet and located off the beaten path. The dock on the lake was very nice if you just want to relax. The cabins are bunched together pretty tightly, but apparently well insulated because we didn't hear our neighbors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anaveragejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We needed to change our booking at the last minute due to needing to attend the funeral of one of my husband's co-workers. Olga was very sympathetic and allowed us to cancel one of the nights of our stay with no penalty. The property itself is very nice - very well kept and lots of thoughtful touches - it is apparent that the owners take great care in maintaining their property. If we were to stay there again we would ask for one of the larger cabins - although the 10'x16' cabin we stayed in was charming and exactly as Olga described it to me when I made the booking my husband and I found that it was a bit too small for us (nothing wrong with the cabin - it is just our personal preference to have a bit more space). The location is very convenient and we loved the tranquility of the dock area – particularly sitting on the swing and looking out at Seneca Lake.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Periwinkle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
0.8 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#2 of 18 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Colonial Inn & Motel
Colonial Inn & Motel
#8 of 18 in Watkins Glen
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
2.0 mi away
Finger Lakes Waterfall Resort
0.8 mi away
Idlwilde Inn
Idlwilde Inn
#6 of 18 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Peabody's Lakeside Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Peabody's Lakeside Lodging

Property: Admiral Peabody's Lakeside Lodging
Address: 3305 County Road 30, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-9705
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Watkins Glen
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Admiral Peabody`s Lakeside Lodging Hotel Watkins Glen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing