We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal food, wonderful atmosphere, lovely staff”

Restaurant de l'Auberge du Sombral
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I are lucky enough to have a small cottage 4 kilometres from St Cirq Lapopie and eat there weekly during our 3 month summer break. We cannot recommend it too highly!!
The menu is exquisite and their Trout poached in Cahors Red Wine Sauce is to die for: it is my husband's favourite dish.I am a vegetarian and am also well catered for, which from experience is rarely the case in rural France. Try their Talmouse , even if you are a meat and fish eater normally: it is a delicate choux pastry filled with a positively scrumptious Walnut and Roquefort cheese sauce.The Auberge du Sambral is situated on the main square and in fine weather outside dining is to be recommended. There is a delightful patio at the front and a terrasse at the rear. Booking in June, July and August is essential.
As well as fine food and a delightful setting the staff are very friendly, and Marianne is very welcoming. The Auberge as the name suggests also has accommodation, but we obviously haven't sampled that.
Give it a try! Indeed, give it several tries! You will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Gwynetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 211 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Lovely Restaurant in the heart of the beautiful village.We enjoyed a Delicous Duck & Cheese Salad,with a glass of wine.Service was a little slow,but so much going on we were very happy to have such a long lunch! Friendly English speaking staff. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

Very nice meal, deliciously prepared. Nice and charmingly rustique environment, friendly staff, great wine suggestions and a lovely cake. Recommended!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank bareform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2016

We still can't quite believe how good everything was. The setting is of course exceptional, the staff wonderful and the food sensational. We had goats cheese with truffles for starter and then the best lamb we have EVER eaten for the main course followed by a wonderful dessert. The staff were so exceptional that it wasn't the slightest problem that I am gluten free and they happily replaced any bread with my gluten free offering. This place is a must and we simply can't wait to go back!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EmmaCrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2015

Superb French cuisine in a delightful setting on the main square in St Cirq Lapopie, which itself is known as one of the most beautiful villages in France.
The waiting staff are very friendly and attentive, the food is beyond par and although, as you would expect, there is only one vegetarian dish on the menu, this dish is utterly delicious; even your traditional meat -eating friends would enjoy it. It is called "talmouse" and is a choux pastry bun filled with a delicious sauce made from Roquefort cheese and walnuts. The desserts are all fait a la maison and are to die for, especially the profiteroles and the ice cream. St Cirq Lapopie is on the cliffs above the river Lot and although it can be very busy in August, there is more than ample parking beyond the village and easily accessible, perhaps 5 minutes walk away. You will no doubt see the reason for this when you visit. While there, take time to explore this pretty village with its narrow, cobbled streets and medieval buildings; you will not be disappointed. The Auberge du Sambral also has accommodation but we did not need to sample this. As it sits on the tiny village square, there are quite a few tables outside; dog lovers can take their pooch with them and dogs are also allowed inside the restaurant. |All we can add is ............ Enjoy yourselves!

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Food
Thank Gwynetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant de l'Auberge du Sombral also viewed

Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, Lot
Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, Lot
 
Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, Lot
Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, Lot
 
Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, Lot
Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, Lot
 

Been to Restaurant de l'Auberge du Sombral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing