We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch at Le Grain de Sel”

Restaurant Le Grain de Sel
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Mirepoix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Le restaurant Le Grain de Sel à Mirepoix en Ariège vous propose une cuisine maison élaborée à partir de produits locaux de saison. Nous travaillons en collaboration avec des producteurs proches de notre restaurant dont certains ont le label bio.
Reviewed October 15, 2018 via mobile

Lovely lunch with friends at Le Grain de Sel, friendly, efficient staff. The restaurant is just off of the main square so it’s peaceful and quiet.

The food portions were generous, home cooked food and great tasting. I had the goats cheese and aubergine tartlet to start and it was substantial, probably a meal in its own right. The Veal was also beautiful, tender and flavoursome. Would definitely recommend and hopefully we’ll eat here again soon.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ljosgood133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 341 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2018

We have eaten twice at Le Grain de Sel and both times we have had good food, it is a well run place, the owner is a very capable lady and the staff all very friendly, it was busy both times and the first time they were turning people away - just off the main square, it has a regional and interesting menu. Good cassoulet and salads.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bernadette Maur... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Just off the main square with its formalized tourist traps this is a lovely little restaurant with a regional and interesting menu. Professional and friendly staff. Clean tidy and with nice details. If you don't equate food with a commercialized location chose this.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank HPL1354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Le Grain de Sel
Mirepoix
Mon 17.9.18
Arrived at 1330
Was told by the rather unsmiling patrone that it would take 30 mins to order and we would need to wait. 45 mins later we were still waiting. ( bread just arrived)
No phone cover nor wifi.
Slow service. The smoked salmon tasted as if it had been frozen. It was delivered without comment and the empty plate retrieved without comment by the rather stern elderly waitress who acted as if she was the patrone.

Second course was foie gras de maison.
The foie gras was cooked and cold. It tasted bland and I did not eat more than a mouthful.
I cannot recommend this restaurant to anyone. I ate off the 30€ menu.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Merlinji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

I had read some of the other reviews on this website and we were not to be disappointed. There does need to be some change in we Brits’ expectations though. Other reviewers said the service was slow. I’ll say that it is wonderfully French. It was friendly and relaxed and leisurely dining. We had Sunday lunch there. We didn’t book but any party more than two and coming after 12:30 would be wise to reserve a table.
There are “3 course” set menus at €20, €25 and €30. We had the €20 set menu and all three courses were delicious. English isn’t spoken but the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our schoolboy French was adequate to meet our needs.
In Mirepoix, there is a busy main square and this restaurant is just off the side of it so it is a bit quieter.
Everyone else dining there then was French which I think speaks volumes for its reputation.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Food_For_Grownups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Grain de Sel also viewed

 
Mirepoix, Ariege
 

Been to Restaurant Le Grain de Sel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing