We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hygiene = so-so - Reception desk's friendliness = terrible”
Review of Les Bains de Llo

Les Bains de Llo
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Llo
Attraction details
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hygiene = so-so - Reception desk's friendliness = terrible”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

* They refused to process my US credit card (sliding card instead of chip card) saying that they would pay a "commission fee", which is wrong (the cardholder pays the fee). As we had a limited amount of cash on us and there was no ATM nearby, some of us stayed at the door. Of course, they didn't even apologize.
* I can't say anything good about cleanliness of the pools and locker rooms.

In short, I'm sure there are much better hot water baths to go to in the area, where staff is well educated and welcoming and hygiene is better

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    93
    47
    39
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Crowded and very dirty, but fun for the kids”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The problem with the Bains de Llo in high season is that it gets really crowded.
Parking is very difficult and there are not enough changing rooms or showers (I counted 5 tiny cubicles where to get changed, and .. 2 showers) or enough shelves where to store shoes. There are not enough lockers either, and no dry place where to store belongings. We had to "hide" ours under a table in a corner by the sauna.

The pools are very shallow, which makes them safe for children, and mine certainly enjoyed splashing around outside in the hot steaming water while surrounded by snowy mountains. We all came out with very soft skin which was very nice.

However, the place is very dirty and needs disinfecting. One has to walk barefoot on a muddy floor in order to reclaim our shoes. I came out of there hoping not to have caught anything.

So, in case you decide to go : 1) don't forget your flip flops, 2) avoid week-ends, 3) avoid going late afternoon during the ski season, 4) if you have the time, try the Bains Saint Thomas which are 30mn down the valley. They are MUCH better and cleaner

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank explora2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Soothes the après-ski muscles”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Though it gets very crowded & parking is a bit of a walk from the hot pool, the facilities are very good & varied. Great natural heat in all pools is very relaxing

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
205 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“better than expected”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We went on a Sunday morning in early October. The air temperature was "fresh" but the waters warm. They are easy to find, 11 euros to go in, or 10 if you have a voucher which are pleniful in Saillagouse, and you can be there all day. There are several pools to choose from and you should try them all. Being a Sunday there were many families. Fast food is available, as it towel hire for 3 euros.
The mineral waters are hot but by no means unbearable. Some people might find the prolonged exposure to the minerals can make their eyes sore. All in all really good value.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“not the best”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

much better baths at St Thomas - 35 mms away or at Ax les Bains.
St Thomas nestles in the mountains and youbget a real sense of history here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Sheepwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Bains de Llo also viewed

 
Vernet-Les-Bains, Pyrenees-Orientales
 

Been to Les Bains de Llo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing