We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical find!”
Review of Mill House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mill House B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Guyzance B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A magical find!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at the Mill House. What can I say?! It was fabulous! I cannot thank the owner Karen enough for all her small touches that makes this like a 5* hotel!! You must try the homemade shortbread, it’s to die for!! The décor is beautiful, luxurious and homely all at the same time. We booked the whole end of the house and got the snug thrown in too. This really puts this B & B on the map, I would call it more of a boutique hotel! We used it for a wedding at Guyzance Hall and you couldn’t get any closer!! I would definitely recommend it, and I would stay again if I was up that way!! The breakfast in the morning is wonderful, all local produce, presented beautifully and tasted amazing. With little bonus extras like free Wi-Fi and an honesty drinks fridge, this makes for the perfect break.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are delightful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
62
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have just arrived back home from Mill House.I struggle to find the words that would praise Karen and her home enough. We went as a couple for 2 nights Wed. and Thur. with the intention of combining relaxation and sightseeing. Karen was there to greet us despite us arriving later than we said and made us tea and coffee outside in the garden with some of her delicious home made cake. She is an amazing person, her kindness, willing to please and commitment to her business were overwhelming and couldn't help us enough advising us on places to see and eat. The House itself is idyllic, beautiful and the attention to detail is amazing. Beautiful rooms, wonderful breakfast, ideal peaceful location and the most genuine attentive host you could ask for. Just can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I don't know what I can write that is different from all the amazing comments Karen has already recieved about this little piece of Paradise. I have just returned from a 2 night stay with my elderly parents for a visit to Alnwick Gardens. I have never stayed anywhere where I actually didn't want to leave the guest house! Karen, you're home is so beautiful and you shared it with us as if we were family. Everything was perfect....from the tea and homemade cake on arrival to waving us off as we left. We will return and only hope you have space!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Amazing weekend at mill house cottage, Karen the owner couldn't have been more attentive. Breakfast was second to none everyday. Very close to Guyzance Hall which was ideal as we were at a wedding there. Beautiful scenery, Very easy to find, lovely location. Will definitely be making a return trip!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayleigh2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed overnight for a quiet break away, the location is so peaceful and beautiful. We were lucky enough to have some sun, we sat outside in the beautiful gardens and enjoyed some fizz. Karen was an amazing host could not do enough for us, 10 out of 10 for customer service. Would absolutely recommend this gem of a place perfect

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLghvvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2014

What a treat! This gorgeous house is in an idyllic location next to a river in pretty countryside and yet convenient for local attractions. We were very warmly welcomed and pampered by Karen. Nothing was too much trouble. She booked meals for us, even offered us a glass of prosecco before going out one evening! The house is beautifully decorated with great attention to detail and the breakfasts delicious, not to mention the home-made shortbread left in our room and the welcoming tea and home-made cake. Selfishly, I hope it doesn't become too popular - we hope to go back!!!! Many thanks Karen.
Jane and Ed

Room Tip: We stayed in the large upstairs double and loved it, but all the rooms were very nice and well appoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had a fantastic weekend at the Mill House. It is a fantastic place and Karen is a fantastic host - nothing was too much trouble! The rooms are lovely and the breakfast is fab! We are planning a return visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guyzance
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
0.0 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roxbro House
Roxbro House
#1 of 10 in Warkworth
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Estate House
The Estate House
#1 of 2 in Ford
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House B&B

Property: Mill House B&B
Address: Mill House Mill House | Morpeth, Guyzance NE65 9AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Guyzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Guyzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mill House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mill House is a beautiful 16th century cottage, nestled by the river Coquet, providing a tranquil and stunning place to escape. Formerly part of the Guyzance Hall Estate, a superior B&B providing a warm welcome with homemade cake and a log fire. "Fabulous hostess, beautiful home & wonderful food. A little secret gem that should not be so secret…" Glenda – London 'August 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HRS so you can book your Mill House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing