We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!”
Review of Mweya Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mweya Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed March 29, 2007

Absolutely stunning location! Must stay if you are at Elizabeth Park.
Rooms all with view over Kazinga channel, spacious and very clean indeed. I found the service excellent, even special requests were no trouble at all for the professional and very friendly staff. The food
was excellent even though the flies can be a bit of a bummer. But after all this is Africa and you really need to have dinner outside so you can enjoy the sunset and see the odd warthog wandering through
the gardens. A word of warning though: there are beautiful birds everywhere but because tourists keep feeding them they have a habit of sitting on tables trying snatch food. Also, before you sit down make sure there are no bird droppings. The pool is small but perfect and the view there is even more stunning. Overall: Loved it!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Bird droppings
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyFoxLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    174
    64
    15
    7
See reviews for
90
164
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Labadie, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2007

The Mweya Lodge overlooks the Kazinga Channel and has amazing views of the channel and wildlife. It has an infinity pool and an outdoor restaurant where weaver birds fly all around you and landing on your table. The setting is amazing.
Based on things I have heard from past visitors, I think Mweya has gone downhill a little. Our bathroom was not as clean as it could have been, and one door could not be locked from the outside. Out towels were gray, dingy and full of holes. Service in the restaurant was spotty- sometimes it was fine, very slow at other times. When we (along with everyone else who was dining outside) were forced inside one night due to bugs, no offer was made to replace our butter or water, both of which were full of flies. The pool deck was badly in need of paint and uneven.
Despite these minor problems, the Mweya Lodge is a beautiful place- I'd stay there again. Where else can you watch warthogs and the resident mongoose family as you sit on your patio?

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hockeyfan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2007

We stayed 1 night at the Mweya Lodge in the end of feb 2007. The rooms are big and have a great view of the channel. They are not luxurious - what you might expect for the price - but comfortable. Some of them have connecting doors, that can be very noisy. The food is very good and plentiful. When we were there you couldn´t sit outside for breakfast in the morning because of 1 Mio. lakeflies. To sit at the pool in the afternoon was equally impossible, we were eaten alive. The boat trip on the channel is great, we saw lot´s of hippos very close by, some elefants, buffalos and lot´s of bird. Sometimes the hippos come up to the lodge, but we haven´t had this experience. The game drive in the park was nice, some lions, couple of elefants, a lot of the other common animals.

  • Liked — the view of the water
  • Disliked — the mosquitos
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ***-Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2007

Our stay at the Mweya Safari Lodge two weeks ago was amazing! What a view on entering the lobby of the lodge across the lakes! The feeling of space around the hotel and grounds was quite different from the more enclosed lodges of the jungles etc. The patio with a magnificent view over the lakes was a favourite place for breakfast each morning and the colourful, twittering birds were so entertaining when a table was vacated! Unconcerned wart hogs and mongoose wandered the lawns adding to the feeling of nature at its best. The bedrooms were spacious with doors opening on to a patio with a lake view.

While we found the safari to be a little disappointing - there are no zebra, giraffes, rhino etc. in the park - the daily boat trip in the Kazinga Channel is not to be missed. We saw elephants, crocodiles, monitor lizards, hippos by the dozen, buffalo and literally hundreds of different birds. The scenery is magnificent. Well worth a visit.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Restaurant service could be better.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank infoneeded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2006

We stayed here as part of a safari and were totally blown away. Ok, it may not rival the top hotels in the world.. but this is Uganda afterall - Stunning views, pool side bar and infinity pool. A huge veranda for G&T's watching the sunset and a bonfire for post dinner drinks and star gazing. The food is top class and the rooms comfy. I especially appreciated the walk in mozzie nets which relieve that sense of claustrophobia.
We had a hippo come up to within 2 meters off our dinner table, quite a sight to see. The staff were not at all concerned which concerned me even more! Good game drives as well - loads of elephants spotted each time we drove in and out of the entrance. Also saw a leopard just off the aptly named Leopard loop.
Word of advice to anyone travelling to Uganda - if you have a choice at staying in Kampala or Entebbe stay at Entebbe, Kampala is not much joy.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kyby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 30, 2006

Mweya Safari Lodge is spectacularly located with incredible reviews as far as the eye can see with the Mountains of the Moon visible on a clear day.The Lodge it self is tasteful decorated and the rooms are most comfortable.Service couldn't be better...the staff very friendly to kids.Food was good and the breakfasts worth a mention.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2006

We have to agree, that this is a great spot! We were so very well taken care of! 3 meals a day were included with the room charge, and the meals were outstanding--rivaling any plush hotel anywhere. They varied the buffet all you can eat menu nightly, so you never got tired. The dining room was lovely and it provided a very relaxing place to congregate every evening for dinner and every morning for breakfast. Ask for African Tea and you won't be disappointed. The safari itself was disappointing, no giraffes or zebras and the lions were scarce or hiding. Lots of hippos though in Lake Edward for up close and personal views, same with hyenas and elephants-whole herds. The room was very nice, and they sprayed well and the mosquito netting was kept up to date--no holes. My family enjoyed staying here for two nights and have fond memories. All in all a great place in Uganda to visit and relax and provide lifetime memories. oh yeh, one more thing, when you arrive, they greet you with a cool towel to wipe your brow, and a cool shrub (mixed juices)just what was needed. In the morning before your safari you gather for English Tea in nice china cups and the gift shop is very nice and not overly priced! Do some shopping, but ifyou see something, buy it right away, because they are all one of a kind!!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Nangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queen Elizabeth National Park hotels
12.8 mi away
Enganzi Game Lodge
Enganzi Game Lodge
#10 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
96 reviews
13.8 mi away
Kyambura Game Lodge
Kyambura Game Lodge
#26 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
61 reviews
12.4 mi away
Park View Safari Lodge
Park View Safari Lodge
#15 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
#18 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
22 reviews
30.8 mi away
At The River Ishasha
At The River Ishasha
#14 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tembo Safari Lodge
Tembo Safari Lodge
#24 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mweya Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mweya Safari Lodge

Property: Mweya Safari Lodge
Address: Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mweya Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Mweya Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mweya Safari Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Hotel Mweya Safari
Mweya Safari Lodge Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing