We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent break whilst doing some charity work”
Review of Mweya Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mweya Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We completed a one night stay at this lodge on a two week trip to Uganda. It was recommended and it was excellent. We could not fault it the food was excellent and the service the best in Uganda. We went on their safari and boat trip both well worth it.

You are surrounded by wildlife in this location you cannot avoid being amazed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bully1959Canaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 487 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

This lodge was in the most amazing location in QENP overlooking the lake. Sitting out on the back patio of our room we watched a waterbuck come strutting across the lawn. The location in the park allowed for easy access for both safaris, and a boat trip. The downfall was the poor service. We were part of a group. Wakeup calls were not made, lunch for 8 took 3 hours and they still couldn't get the orders correct when nobody else was around. There was no manager on site to handle issues as our tour guide went to complain on numerous occasions. Food was good despite horrible service and incorrect orders.

Room Tip: All the rooms had back patios. Some special rooms along the edge would have amazing views of the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandaPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Mweya was a beautiful place to stay among animals and nature in the middle of the park! Rooms are great, good service amongst staff. View from rooms are rally nice, you can hear the elephants and possibly get a visit from hippos! We even met a baboon at the restaurant for breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We only stayed here 2 nights. It is very similar to a nice motel with a good view--very different from our other lodging in Uganda. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. They had mosquito netting, but we saw only very few bugs. The food was average to a little below average. It is in a great location to see the park and an excellent location to take the boat cruise on the Kazinga channel. You can see the wildlife from the hotel on the other side of the Kazinga channel. There were many mongoose that came out every morning to eat the large black bugs that accumulated (outside of the rooms) overnight. It was both interesting and entertaining. There were also many beautiful weavers in many of the trees around the hotel. We did not try the spa services, but they were very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CATMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had two nights at Mweya in the middle of our two-week trip to Uganda. This was the most upmarket place we stayed. It is a larger place, rather than a boutique hotel, with excellent facilities and a great location.

The main lobby has a huge picture window, so as soon as you arrive you are treated to sweeping views over the Kazinga channel and the animals on the opposite shoreline. The welcome was lovely, with cold towels to freshen up and a cold juice drink offered straight away. There is a decent bar (glasses are kept in the fridge for extra-cold beer) and restaurant with set dinner menus and buffet breakfasts. I noticed there is also a cinema room, where some families with children were able to put on DVDs to keep them quiet!

We were very happy with room 4, which was in a line of rooms extending out from the pool area. I spent a long time sitting on our verandah watching the animals on the opposite shore - elephants washing themselves were far better entertainment than watching TV! The mosquito nets were floor to ceiling curtains, which is much nicer and less claustrophobic than the nets you tuck under the mattress. There was also a "Doom the Room" turndown service while we were out at dinner, so no worries about little bitey things in bed with you! The bed was a very comfy king size. No a/c but the ceiling fan was effective enough.

My only niggle with Mweya was that it felt a little too stiff and formal. I like to feel relaxed and at home, but when the staff went as far as placing my napkin in my lap for me, I felt a bit uncomfortable. However, if you just let the staff do everything for you then it's fine!

Room Tip: I guess that all the rooms have a great view over the Kazinga Channel, but if yours doesn't then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Mweya lodge has a fantastic location right in QE National Park overlooking the Kazinga Channel and Lake Edward. It is clean and comfortable, but it could be so much more! It has a slight "Sheraton" feel to it, as some have described it. The staff are very friendly and the spa was fine. Again, just not great, and it really should be given the location.
The public rooms are very nice, and the restaurant is good. We dined outside on the terrace with fantastic views over the channel.
There is a very nice gift shop.

One fun thing for sure: early one morning we awoke to a strange sound. We opened our curtains and could make out a hippo munching on the grass right outside our room!

Don't miss the mongoose that roam around the property. In the evening, they make some king of beeline through the lobby, past the bar and then who knows where, squealing and chattering all the way. It is a sight to see!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the channel which was wonderful. I think this is why we were able to have the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was mid way through our safari. We had had a very long drive down from Kibale via Fort Portal via a brief stop at a marker indicating the equator. One of our party was feeeling poorly so the trip was a long one.
Staff were fantastic food excellent and we ate all of our meals on a terrace overlooking the Kazinga Channel - a spectacular outlook. The pool was a welcome distaction in the middle of the day - our room was only about 30 metres away. There were warthog on the lawn periodically!
Early morning and evening game drives were fantastic. The Channel Cruise was probably the highlight. Buffs hippos and elephant everywhere. As we ran out the the extremity of the channel where it joins Lake Edward it was almost like an estuary joing the sea. Way off in the distance I could see three or four big elephants wading right out with the wind-driven swell breaking around them.
Sunset on the terrace sucking on a Nile Special beer - my definition of utopia.
Not a lot of big predators - we saw none; the biggest were a trio of hyena.
Everything else was prolific. As was the case elsewhere in Uganda the birdlife was teeming. Dozens of bright yellow weaver birds would descend on the tables on the terrace as soon as they were vacated.

Room Tip: We were in room number two close to the poll with a great view of the Kazinga Channel. It was terri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queen Elizabeth National Park
0 mi away
Sandton Hotel Kasese
Sandton Hotel Kasese
#1 of 2 in Kasese
44 reviews
12.8 mi away
Enganzi Game Lodge
Enganzi Game Lodge
#11 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
105 reviews
12.4 mi away
Park View Safari Lodge
Park View Safari Lodge
#14 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Kasenyi Safari Camp
Kasenyi Safari Camp
#3 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
140 reviews
0 mi away
Kyambura Game Lodge
Kyambura Game Lodge
#21 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
67 reviews
20.2 mi away
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
#12 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mweya Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mweya Safari Lodge

Address: Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range: $349 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mweya Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Mweya Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mweya Safari Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Hotel Mweya Safari
Mweya Safari Lodge Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing