We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacana Safari Lodge
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My family stayed at Jacana Safari Lodge for three nights and we couldn't have been more pleased with our experience. For anyone who enjoys the outdoors, this place is magical. The lodge itself has so much character and charm, the staff are incredibly friendly and willing to accommodate requests, and the food was delicious. There were ten of us, spanning three generations (ages 7 to 72) and everyone loved Jacana. The lake is literally right outside your door. Generator power provides adequate hours of electricity, and I'd venture to say that most people don't need it for much other than getting ready for an early-morning game drive. We only swam once (we were too busy taking in the amazing views and animals), but the pool is nice with a great view of the lake. I would call Jacana "rustic luxury": yes, there are animals around; yes, there is limited electricity; yes, you might meet a gecko on the inside of your window screen. But to us, this was part of the fun of safari. If we wanted The Plaza, we wouldn't have come on safari! Try the evening dinner boat ride on The Captain's Table (you and the chef on a boat floating around the crater lake--beautiful!). I highly recommend Jacana. Safe, clean, remote, friendly, and for us the best complement to our safari adventure.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, but for a small group, the cottage by the pool is the best location and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca7894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    19
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Wow! After a long and very rutted track we passed a small crater lake and then soon after came to Jacana. Far from anywhere. Providing you find frog and cicada noises restful, it is a very relaxing place. On a very short walk from the hotel (unwise to go too far) we found colobus and vervet monkeys, along with a huge variety of birds. Watch out for very slippery paths to the further lodges.

Room Tip: To avoid slippy paths in the dark (electricity goes off at 10pm), get a lodge near the main area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSTP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is the worst lodge we have ever experienced. Electricity was only on for a few hours in the morning and evening and was turned off without warning at different times than advertised. Water was disgusting and smelled of something like sulphur. Bathrooms were horrible and when electricity was off pretty well unuseable for showers and washing. Cabins were filled with smoke from the external wood fires used to heat the water. Electricity wiring was just pinned around the walls. Corrugated Iron roofs were unbearably noisy in the rain. Blinds were torn, soft furnishing was stained including bedding. Swimming Pool was green, so called swim up bar was out of use and dilapidated, umbrellas and sun lounges near pool were filthy and bar and restaurant was out of stock of some items. I have complained to our tour operator who described this lodge as "luxury". It most certainly is not. The lodge was empty for 2 days and had one other guest on one day. There were four of us staying, we have all travelled extensively world wide and in Africa

Room Tip: As far as we could see there were no good rooms. We tried three different ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MS-JH-JH-MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bishops stortford
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Jacana is a wonderful experience. From the moment of arrival, having driven past Black and white colobus on the road and walked past a cloud of butterflies into the reception you know that this is paradise! The cabins are large and comfortable, lots of hot water. The environment is alive and lush, the staff are delightful and the food is excellent. I have taken 2 groups of around 20 here and all have been really impressed. The walk through the forest to the bat cave is well worth doing. Look out for the magnificent giant kingfisher beside the lake.

A genuinely fabulous experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Jacana Safari Lodge is a real gem, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Mweya, inside it's lush forest, along a beautiful private (!!) lake.

The cabins blend away in the environment, monkeys feed in front of your window, hyraxes and bats overhead, Kingfishers zit through the undergrowth. Mornings you can hear the distant shrieks of chimpanzee and the loud laughter of hippos. The cabins are spacious and comfortable, with large king-sized beds, and beautiful views on the lake and forest. Any downside to the rooms, if you would really ask? The lightbulbs could be replaced by brighter ones.

The food is phe-no-menal. No doubt the most refunded, fresh and varied foods we have had in Uganda over the many years. The cook is a real gem, and the personalisation and presentation of the food is just amazing.

The lodge-grounds are large and so you can easily walk around and see monkeys, butterflies, duikers, birds, even genet all just from the comfort of your cabin, the lake-side deck, or the pool.

Go discover Jacana, it's a true gem.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deirdreafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Bilt, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We moved here as an alternative to the lodge our tour operator booked. It was high season so the choice was limited. But we were very happy to give up a game drive to find this oasis. It's a fifteen minute drive from the main road, but the scenery is nice. The lodge is on a beautiful lake in the forest. Many monkeys, some hippo-sounds at night.
The food is very tasteful, the flexibility of the staff to prepare something special for the kids was perfect. When travelling with kids this place is a god choice. At night they put a guard as babysit next to the cabin, so you can have a relaxed evening/diner.
Nice pool, restaurant with atmosphere ( there is a huge fireplace to have your aperative) and the rooms/houses are spacious enough for the four of us. According to the Footprint travelguide the rooms are 'jade', but nor we, nor some canadian guests had any idea what this means.
Oh, and I must say they have the best shower in east-Africa. Hot and powerful. If you want to have a great, relaxing retreat in the Queen Elizabeth NP this is the place to be. The remoteness is the only disadvantage I can think of.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AdTum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
139 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed 2 days / 1 nights in March 2012, with our 8 year all daughter.

The lodge is nicely located on a lake in Queen Elizabeth National Park, breakfast and dinner excellent, staff extremely friendly.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikiAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queen Elizabeth National Park hotels
11.8 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
454 reviews
4.0 mi away
Park View Safari Lodge
Park View Safari Lodge
#15 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
35 reviews
18.2 mi away
Kasenyi Safari Camp
Kasenyi Safari Camp
#1 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Engiri Game Lodge
Engiri Game Lodge
#27 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
6 reviews
23.9 mi away
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
#10 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
121 reviews
3.8 mi away
Enganzi Game Lodge
Enganzi Game Lodge
#7 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacana Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacana Safari Lodge

Property: Jacana Safari Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 2288, Kampala, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of Uganda’s largest crater lake, this tree house lodge grew out of the forest, peacefully at one with nature. The delicate use of rock, poles, wood, rope, organic furniture and rich textures blend perfectly with the smells, sights and sounds of this tropical hardwood forest. A cracking fireplace combined with a magical atmosphere creates an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jacana Safari Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Jacana Safari Lodge Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing