We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent place to stay in Uganda”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kyambura Gorge Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kampala
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Another excellent place to stay in Uganda”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We thought we would never find another place as good to stay as Wildwaters Lodge, but we did. Kyambura Gorge Lodge is another fabulous place to stay in Uganda.

We wanted to go chimp treking and needed a place to stay. Unfortunately we didn't see any chimps on our trek but it didn't matter because it was worth the 6 hour drive from Kampala to have stayed here.

The Lodge was fabulous. It was converted from an old coffee plantation and the main area comprising a large dining room / lounge was the former coffee store. This area had comfy sofas, books and magazines and really interesting ornaments, e.g.made from recycled oil cans. There was a curtain made from small carved wooden birds. Across from this was a circular viewing platform / seating area with a novel hanging basket seat in the middle, with great views across the Gorge. Some thoughtful soul had even put up a telescope so you could get an even closer look at Gorge and the Savannah behind. There is a lovely swimming pool as well.

Our accommodation was in one of 6 individual cottages (although they were building two more when we visited in April 2012) spread out amongst the grounds. The cottages were named after chimpanzees in the Gorge. Our cottage was right at the far end away from the main area and was a big wood floored, wood and metal roofed oblong place with doors leading out onto a small decking area, looking right over the Gorge. There was even another hanging chair in the small decking area by the side door. There was no bath, only a shower, and this was the only thing that could have been improved (a bit more power would have been nice). If you like birds, it was a really good spot because we were surrounded by large trees right up against the property and they would come and land in them, as they did in the trees surrounding the walkway eating area at the main building (lots of black headed weavers).

Because the place is so small every day (we stayed for three nights) they would come and tell you what the menu was for the evening meal, which included a choice of starters and mains, and you could choose when you ate (presumably within reason). You could also chose when you had breakfast and on the morning of our chimp trek they brought coffee and cake when they woke us up.

A good thing about being here was that you could do a walk from the lodge into part of the Gorge. We did a bird walk with a very knowledgeable guide from the Lodge and we saw more wildlife on this 90 minute walk then we did on our chimp trek. Every so often he would point across the gorge to some moving tree tops. In them we would see red tailed monkeys and colobus monkeys jumping from tree to tree, and sometimes eating. You can also go on safaries in the national park, or do a boat trip.

This place isn't cheap, but if you've got the money (or are residents as we are so could get a discount), it's well worth the visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosalind D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
26
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I was blown away by the originality and style of this lodge, situated in Queen Elizabeth National Park. Every little detail has been thought about from the distinctive and very cool decor of the lodge to the delicious food on offer. The chef was able to serve up one of the best lemon tarts I've ever tasted and that is the sign of a very good eating establishment! We all enjoyed swimming in the saltwater swimming pool and I took advantage of the complimentary massage. I loved the design of my room which was a sophisticated mix of contemporary features and carefully sourced items from the local area. Very clever and cool. The views are to die for and as well as vast clean windows my room had a beautiful verandah with its own swinging chair. Heaven! I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vintagechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Kyambura Gorge Lodge was the best of the Volcanoes Safari lodges we stayed at for many reasons. The staff were genuinely warm and did all they could to enhance our stay. The design of the lodge is particularly appealing- open, with clean lines.

Only downside was the heat. Very hot during our stay with no way to beat the heat (although there is a pool). Fans would be helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Livetowander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Spacious rooms with excellent beds and wonderful bathroom.
Every pièce of furniture is made of recycled material. Incredible how creative that can be.
Excellent food. Nice bar and good wines.
Birth watching, visiting coffee plantation and all excursions, as well as all the drinks and meals were included in room price.
Battery charging only in main building.
Beautiful Swimming pool and nice view over QE Park.
Only six banda's, two are being build for the moment, so never too crowded.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C-L-Vanvaeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I was traveling with Volcanoes Safaris on their 12 day Primate Trek. The company is really excellent. My first lodge was the Kyambura Gorge Lodge. It's their newest and they were still working on completing the last of the cabins. The place is beautifully laid out. The rooms are large, extremely comfortable and clean. Both the inside and outside of each cabin have multiple sitting areas. The public spaces are really incredible. The lodge overlooks a veldt type setting. There are only 9 cabins but enough sitting area to accommodate a lot more people. Also, the sitting areas are spread over the area so you can experience many viewpoints. The lodge has a pool but who had time. The first day was taken up with morning and afternoon game drives and the second day was a chimpanzee trek in the morning and a boat ride on one of the lakes to see lots of wildlife on the shore. The food was the best of all the Volcanoes Safaris lodges.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rich1234Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The attention to detail in the building of this lodge is fantastic. We loved our 2 night stay, the food was very good, the staff very friendly and professional. Lovely pool area and the private accommodation second to none with views to keep you entranced for hours.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AshteadCandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband and I got to spend one night here on our tour with African Adventure Safaris. We were on our way to the Gorilla Trek in Bwindi but stopped here on the drive over. There are no words to describe the incredible beautfy of the lodge. Our room was perfect....couldn't believe the design of the bathroom - the bathtub was huge and the shower pressure perfect. The main bedroom was also huge with a thatch ceiling and king sized and very comfortable bed. We also had our own outside seating area that overlooked the Queen Elizabeth Park and the gorge.

Dinner was excellent as well as the breakfast. I cannot even begin to explain the views from the dining room - breathtaking. All the staff were more than helpful and very pleasant. They made you feel like an old friend rather than just a visitor passing through.

They had a beautiful pool that also overlooked the gorge...unfortunately we didn't have enough time to use it.

We hope to make it back to Kyambura because one night was not enough to experience this amazing lodge.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DooleyDog23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queen Elizabeth National Park
0.0 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cassia Lodge
Cassia Lodge
#4 of 101 in Kampala
411 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kyambura Game Lodge
Kyambura Game Lodge
#26 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Enganzi Game Lodge
Enganzi Game Lodge
#7 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyambura Gorge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyambura Gorge Lodge

Property: Kyambura Gorge Lodge
Address: Kyambura Gorge, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of the Kyambura Gorge and Queen Elizabeth National Park, in Uganda, one of Africa's finest national parks, Volcanoes newest lodge, Kyambura Gorge Lodge, has stunning views over the Gorge and the lush savannah of the park, with the peaks of the Rwenzori Mountains in the distance. The main lodge building was originally a coffee store and processing plant, surrounded by coffee plantations. The original structure has been sensitively restored to create a stunning living space, balancing the history of the building with the location and creating a series of distinct luxurious contemporary spaces for guests. Eight beautiful, spacious bandas have been carefully nestled into the hillside, each with their own luxury bathroom. Each room has a different aspect of the panoramic views across the gorge, savannah and mythical Rwenzoris. Each banda is uniquely appointed, adopting a different colour theme. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kyambura Gorge Lodge Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing