We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night on the Hippo Hill”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kitandara Hippo Hill Camp
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One night on the Hippo Hill”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

During a short safari in Queen Elizabeth we (3 solo travelling students) camped overnight at the Hippo Hill Camp. We didn't stay in the tents with the twatched roofs but they looked very nice. The view was nice from the campsite and during the night we had some interesting visitors like hippo's and warthogs! The bathrooms were okay and the staff at the restaurant was friendly (I could store my medication in the fridge without extra costs or questions). Though we were the only guests at that time they didn't close until we left.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    11
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This camp was ok, rooms were clean, but bit dark. Thee were many campers there, which turned out to be loud noise very late. The staff was really nice, but food wasn't so great. I would stay here again, as it was good enough.

Room Tip: Get one of the cabins versus one of the tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

This camp site is in a beautiful location overlooking the lake. Having only ever camped in a two man bell tent before, the permanent tented camps are great by comparison: spacious, clean and comfortable.

We were the only group staying there and so had no problems whatsoever with noise, it was really peaceful. The staff were very courteous and provided a good standard of food.

The water supply is a bit variable but then this is a very rural location so to be expected! Plugs are available in the bar so we could recharge cameras etc each evening.

I really enjoyed my stay here - and yes, there are hippos around the tents at night!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DL09UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The best you will find there is the staff, very kind and helpful. Location is not bad, top of the hill with great views, but tents are arranged in a "military way".
The main problem was with the groups of truck passengers that -as mentioned in other reivews- shared some of the camp facilities. Very noisy people, they didn't care how late in the night it was when the truck arrived: walking among the tents while looking for the showers, shouting ... Not what you expect if you are going to wake up very early for a morning game drive...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HIPPO_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queen Elizabeth National Park hotels

Zeeland, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We spent one night here and found it to be totally adequate. The tent was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom is out the back of the tent so there are some bugs, but this was not a problem for us. We did not have hot water, however.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitgum, Uganda
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

As a previous reviewer has commented, the Hippo Hill website is very misleading. This is a budget tented camp, no more. When we were there, the only other guests were the passengers of an overland truck who were camping in the grounds.

Its location is a 'curates egg' - great views of the lake one way where we saw elephants wading/swimming between islands and mainland; the other way, great views of a sunset over a flamingo-filled lake; well positioned for the main park gate; but located just outside a run-down settlement based around the local salt works.

The staff were friendly and helpful enough, the food plentiful - but poor lighting and a miserable en-suite bathroom lose points. I paid the foreign resident rate of USD70/night full board for a single room and really don't think it is worth more than that to anyone.

NB - the name is surprisingly apt. Although the main lake is 1000-1500m away, I was woken late at night by a hippo eating grass very noisily just outside my tent. What was also surprising was that the staff didn't give any form or briefing/warning that this might happen. Insomniacs and sleepwalkers stay here at their peril!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CommanderBUganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nlct
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Kitandara Hippo Hill Camp is neither a luxury tented camp nor situated in the wilderness as billed on the web. This is a seriously dilapidated tented camp situated directly next to Katwe town. If you are visiting Queen Elizabeth park to enjoy a nature related experience this place is downright depressing with more prospects of dodging herds of cows and goats then actual park wildlife. When we arrived the grounds were covered with large quantities of cow dung making the walk to and from the tents an unenjoyable experience. Yes, the bedding and mosquito netting was fine but the actual tents and platforms they are situated on had seen better days. Basically the place was built a few years ago and has not been maintained by the management. It's a real disappointment. It should be rated at the level of a backpacker or hostel type facility and rates should reflect that accordingly. This place cannot be compared positively with other Queen Elizabeth accommodations. I would not advise anyone to stay at this camp under current conditions. Again it is neither luxurious or situated in the wilderness. You will be disspointed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nlct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queen Elizabeth National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
463 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
#18 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
At The River Ishasha
At The River Ishasha
#14 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Enganzi Game Lodge
Enganzi Game Lodge
#10 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marafiki Safari Lodge
Marafiki Safari Lodge
#4 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
#9 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitandara Hippo Hill Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitandara Hippo Hill Camp

Property: Kitandara Hippo Hill Camp
Address: Katwe town | Queen Elizabeth Park, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Kitandara Hippo Hill Camp Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing