We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very scenic setting, it's is amazing to sit outside your accommodation and watch the hippos in the river. We stayed in the lodges which were lovely, you could enjoy a warm outside shower (as long as you ask for hot water) and they all have verandas to sit on. The staff weren't as friendly as other Ugandan accommodation I've stayed in but were still helpful. We weren't completely impressed with the 'guides' they recommended for us though. Couldn't fault the cleanliness and the food was good. Would be very happy to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeciE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    121
    34
    6
    1
See reviews for
33
127
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here one night in the lazy camping tent.Not impressed with tent as zipper clasps were broken and zipper pulled away from the canvas leaving a hole that could allow mosquitoes to enter , no mosquito nets, over the twin beds.Approached manager to change to another tent but was told no other tent was available. Manager and another staff member got onto the job straight away and handsewed the zipper back onto the canvas which held up through the night.Having the broken clasps made it difficult to close the tent quickly as you needed both fingers to work it together, consquently a mozzie had entered the tent droned in my ear while trying to sleep, so time spent in trying to dispatch it . Told not to walk at night on own and that if I needed to go to the bathroom in the early hours the guard would hear my zip opening and see my torch light and come to escort me.Waited for the guard who did not arrive so thought blow it and sprinted across to the toilet and back on my own hoping I would not be felled by a hippo.
Toilets and showers were spotlessly clean. shower cold but that did not concern me as it was refreshing.
Other than that the setting is beautiful beside the Kazinga channel, a lovely breeze at night,dining outside under the stars with a campfire nearby.Food was tasty, packed lunch generous.Staff very friendly and helpful. Hopefully closer inspection and maintenance of tent zippers is undertaken as malaria in the rainy season was on my mind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge is perhaps the most magical property I've stayed at in terms of location. We literally sat on our bush tent porch and watched elephants, wild pigs, hippos and buffalo grazing in the river below us every afternoon. And one afternoon we walked to our tent and found a huge buffalo standing right in front of it, and another evening after dinner we discovered a hippo grazing just a few feet from our porch! This was exactly what we were looking for in terms of location on safari.

The lodge itself is very nice - it's quiet, peaceful and the safari tents are cool. The complaint some people may have is the infamous sand toilets. But if you are only there for a few days, it's not that bad. And the outdoor showers are a bit cold. But it's a small bullet to bite for the spectacular setting. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltrotter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the QEBL - we stayed in the tents which are small but sufficient. What I really have to point out was the food - it was high quality & standard and tasted excellent - best food on our trip - though it was not traditional Ugandan food.
Showers are not warm - although it is not that big of a problem as it is hot anyway. Staff was really friendly and the daily fire was creating a good atmosphere.
At night we could hear the hippos eating or Hyenas howl....that's a nice extra.
Only one thing to complain - the road to the Lodge is extremely bad and full of potholes ......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed two nights in this Nature Lodge location.
Pro's: 1) Clean rooms 2) Good food 3) Romantic dinner atmosphere (all tables are spatiously set around the camp fire, with a nice view) 4) Friendly staff 5) good escort to and from your tents with a guard with torch, to make sure you won't be overrun by a hippo. 6) Some tents have a magnificient view on the lake. Ours, the most far away from the restaurant, called "Lion" unfortunately did not have a nice view; we were staring to some bushes.
Cons: 1) Very limited solar power: During the day, you can not charge anything, because they just switch off the power. This is very ridiculous to us, because, that's the moment you want to charge. Also, drinks are not cold. To us this was a spoiler: after a game drive you just want a cold drink.
2) Warm (not hot) water only comes by order. They will heat it on a wood-fire, which doesn't feel eco-friendly. 3) It's not cheap: for 160 USD for a 2-person unit with Full Board, we just expected a bit more.

Room Tip: Don't take the "Lion": it is far away from everything and does not have such a nice vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in a tent: to our surprise the tent was equipped with two beds! We had a brilliant view over the channel and could hear and see the hippo's! The cold shower was perfect and close to the campground, however the toilets were a bit far away. The food was brilliant, we loved it (including the location: under the stars)! Staff is really friendly and helpful (guiding you to your tent at night, get extra water for the showers, etc). In my opinion the best location in QE!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakkeveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamapala
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This lodge is beautifully set along the Kazinga Channel. We stayed here for three nights and enjoyed our stay. Although the rooms are quite basic, they were clean. We only had a night stand table on one side of our bed which made things slightly awkward. The eco toilet in our room was ok for the first couple of nights but was starting to smell a little by the third day, since it was only smelly from inside the toilet area and not inside our room it really didn’t bother us. We loved the outdoor shower and after a day of driving around the park was very refreshing, however it was very hot and dry when we were there. We did ask when we were shown to our rooms the first day if there was hot water but were told that since we were on the equator it was not needed. Fair enough during hot weather but I am not sure I would agree for rainy days. I am still unsure if the lodge does actually offers hot water on request or not. Dinner was served around a campfire under the stars and lit with lanterns. It was really nice. The four course meal was good although we felt that the courses did come close together. We mentioned this to the staff who were accommodating in slowing things down a bit. The staff is very friendly and polite and willing to make your stay very enjoyable however they seem to lack leadership in the form of a manager. During dinner on our first night a man came to our table and starting talking to us. We had no idea who he was and was dressed in a ball cap and fleece jacket. His overall presence was very deshelved. It actually bothered me that he had interrupted our dinner while we were eating. We watched as he went from table to table which sparked us to ask who this character was. We were told he was the manager. We were both shocked. He was not dressed in uniform as the rest of the staff were and did not identify himself as the manager nor did he look or act like one. After visiting all the tables he drug a chair to the fire and sat there for the remainder of dinner service talking on his phone. This was the only occasion we saw him but he definitely didn’t leave a good impression. After dinner we were asked for our order for eggs in the morning. We ordered them and assumed that other breakfast items like sausage, bacon, beans would be available buffet style, but when we arrived for breakfast the next morning we only got eggs. Cereal, fruit, toast and juice were available but nothing else. The next evening when asked for our breakfast order we asked about other items and were told “no problem, they are there”. It seems like you need to ask a lot of questions to find out what is on offer from the lodge. Once we got the hang of this, we had no other problems as the staff really wanted us to enjoy the place. Despite these few issues we really did enjoy the camp. The location is great. You can hear a lot of birds and hippos from the camp and at night the hippos graze on the grass around the lodge. It seems like the small hiccups that we experienced could easily be solved with a good manager in place. It’s a great place but under the care of someone who actually cares it could be so much better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miss_giraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queen Elizabeth National Park
10.4 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
21.9 mi away
Sandton Hotel Kasese
Sandton Hotel Kasese
#1 of 2 in Kasese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
13.7 mi away
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
#9 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Kyambura Game Lodge
Kyambura Game Lodge
#23 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
At The River Ishasha
At The River Ishasha
#13 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
21.8 mi away
Uhuru 50 Hotel
Uhuru 50 Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kasese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge

Property: Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge
Address: Queen Elizabeth, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Elizabeth Bush Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing