We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable Setting and Amazing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Setting and Amazing Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge is perhaps the most magical property I've stayed at in terms of location. We literally sat on our bush tent porch and watched elephants, wild pigs, hippos and buffalo grazing in the river below us every afternoon. And one afternoon we walked to our tent and found a huge buffalo standing right in front of it, and another evening after dinner we discovered a hippo grazing just a few feet from our porch! This was exactly what we were looking for in terms of location on safari.

The lodge itself is very nice - it's quiet, peaceful and the safari tents are cool. The complaint some people may have is the infamous sand toilets. But if you are only there for a few days, it's not that bad. And the outdoor showers are a bit cold. But it's a small bullet to bite for the spectacular setting. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltrotter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    122
    34
    6
    1
See reviews for
33
131
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the QEBL - we stayed in the tents which are small but sufficient. What I really have to point out was the food - it was high quality & standard and tasted excellent - best food on our trip - though it was not traditional Ugandan food.
Showers are not warm - although it is not that big of a problem as it is hot anyway. Staff was really friendly and the daily fire was creating a good atmosphere.
At night we could hear the hippos eating or Hyenas howl....that's a nice extra.
Only one thing to complain - the road to the Lodge is extremely bad and full of potholes ......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed two nights in this Nature Lodge location.
Pro's: 1) Clean rooms 2) Good food 3) Romantic dinner atmosphere (all tables are spatiously set around the camp fire, with a nice view) 4) Friendly staff 5) good escort to and from your tents with a guard with torch, to make sure you won't be overrun by a hippo. 6) Some tents have a magnificient view on the lake. Ours, the most far away from the restaurant, called "Lion" unfortunately did not have a nice view; we were staring to some bushes.
Cons: 1) Very limited solar power: During the day, you can not charge anything, because they just switch off the power. This is very ridiculous to us, because, that's the moment you want to charge. Also, drinks are not cold. To us this was a spoiler: after a game drive you just want a cold drink.
2) Warm (not hot) water only comes by order. They will heat it on a wood-fire, which doesn't feel eco-friendly. 3) It's not cheap: for 160 USD for a 2-person unit with Full Board, we just expected a bit more.

Room Tip: Don't take the "Lion": it is far away from everything and does not have such a nice vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in a tent: to our surprise the tent was equipped with two beds! We had a brilliant view over the channel and could hear and see the hippo's! The cold shower was perfect and close to the campground, however the toilets were a bit far away. The food was brilliant, we loved it (including the location: under the stars)! Staff is really friendly and helpful (guiding you to your tent at night, get extra water for the showers, etc). In my opinion the best location in QE!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakkeveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamapala
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This lodge is beautifully set along the Kazinga Channel. We stayed here for three nights and enjoyed our stay. Although the rooms are quite basic, they were clean. We only had a night stand table on one side of our bed which made things slightly awkward. The eco toilet in our room was ok for the first couple of nights but was starting to smell a little by the third day, since it was only smelly from inside the toilet area and not inside our room it really didn’t bother us. We loved the outdoor shower and after a day of driving around the park was very refreshing, however it was very hot and dry when we were there. We did ask when we were shown to our rooms the first day if there was hot water but were told that since we were on the equator it was not needed. Fair enough during hot weather but I am not sure I would agree for rainy days. I am still unsure if the lodge does actually offers hot water on request or not. Dinner was served around a campfire under the stars and lit with lanterns. It was really nice. The four course meal was good although we felt that the courses did come close together. We mentioned this to the staff who were accommodating in slowing things down a bit. The staff is very friendly and polite and willing to make your stay very enjoyable however they seem to lack leadership in the form of a manager. During dinner on our first night a man came to our table and starting talking to us. We had no idea who he was and was dressed in a ball cap and fleece jacket. His overall presence was very deshelved. It actually bothered me that he had interrupted our dinner while we were eating. We watched as he went from table to table which sparked us to ask who this character was. We were told he was the manager. We were both shocked. He was not dressed in uniform as the rest of the staff were and did not identify himself as the manager nor did he look or act like one. After visiting all the tables he drug a chair to the fire and sat there for the remainder of dinner service talking on his phone. This was the only occasion we saw him but he definitely didn’t leave a good impression. After dinner we were asked for our order for eggs in the morning. We ordered them and assumed that other breakfast items like sausage, bacon, beans would be available buffet style, but when we arrived for breakfast the next morning we only got eggs. Cereal, fruit, toast and juice were available but nothing else. The next evening when asked for our breakfast order we asked about other items and were told “no problem, they are there”. It seems like you need to ask a lot of questions to find out what is on offer from the lodge. Once we got the hang of this, we had no other problems as the staff really wanted us to enjoy the place. Despite these few issues we really did enjoy the camp. The location is great. You can hear a lot of birds and hippos from the camp and at night the hippos graze on the grass around the lodge. It seems like the small hiccups that we experienced could easily be solved with a good manager in place. It’s a great place but under the care of someone who actually cares it could be so much better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miss_giraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed here overnight while exploring Queen Elizabeth National Park and the Kazinga Channel, which runs between Lake Edward and Lake George. It is a collection of individual cabins on stilts with the showers outside (I had a nice shower with hot water from the sun's rays). A hippo was right outside my room and awakened with her(his?) eating noises; what a nice surprise. The food was the best I had in the three weeks I was in Uganda and Tanzania. Someone walks you to and from the room as it gets very dark and animals roam the grounds. I liked this place.

Room Tip: I liked this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Letitia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Staff met us as we arrived to the parking lot and assisted with our bags. Cold drinks were offered and check in was quick. Our platform tent was delightful with a wonderful water view and a deck to sit on while listening to the hippos grunting and snorting a short distance away in the water below us. We were told that after dark we had to have an escort to move around the area as the hippos tend to come out of the water and graze on the grass around the platform-tents and regular tents. To our delight we woke through the night to hear two hippos grazing on either side of our accommodation. By morning they had returned to their water haven and the grass around us had been completely groomed. Through the night we also listened to the trumpet of the elephants as they were close by. We knew we were in Africa!
We had a delicious dinner by candle-light with a blazing fire pit close by.
Our platform tent had a very comfortable large bed (may have been a king size); eco toilet (also known as the human litter box!); an outdoor shower (with solar hot water); and outdoor sink. It was very roomy and as stated earlier it was nice having a deck to relax on. In the morning we had coffee delivered to our deck.
Prior to arriving at the QE Bush Lodge we took a boat ride on the Kazinga Channel, seeing elephants, crocs, hyenas, buffalo, hippos and lots of colourful birds. We also did an early morning game drive through the west side of QE Park - seeing large herds of elephants with several babies in the group; two lions; hyenas; a VERY LARGE and LONG rock python crossing the road (it was as long as the road was wide!).
The QE Bush Lodge is a sister-lodge to Kibale Forest Camp and we found both resorts to have excellent customer service. Accommodation was very clean and food was wonderful. We highly recommend QE Bush Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterlogged23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queen Elizabeth National Park hotels
10.3 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
10.4 mi away
Marafiki Safari Lodge
Marafiki Safari Lodge
#5 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
9.3 mi away
Kasenyi Safari Camp
Kasenyi Safari Camp
#1 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
#8 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Engiri Game Lodge
Engiri Game Lodge
#30 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kyambura Game Lodge
Kyambura Game Lodge
#24 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge

Property: Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge
Address: Queen Elizabeth, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Elizabeth Bush Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing