We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wilderness camp with small touches of luxury!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ishasha-Ntungwe River Camp
Reviewed March 29, 2011

The service was delightful - starting with cold drinks and damp cloths on arrival. Breakfast and lunch by the river were a great idea, but the service could quite easily have been more efficient (essential things like toast and butter were forgotten. The butter had to be defrosted after the toast arrived)
The food was simple but well prepared and included the most delicious chargrilled rack of goat.
The accomodation was excellent and the solar power provided constant warm/hot water. Shower and toilet were modern and effeicient.
My only criticism was that the bed sheets and duvet cover felt like thin nylon. Not very comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 26 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2011

After cycling for days the River Camp was an excellent place to relax in luxury for a few days. I received a very warm welcome and the staff was really helpful. The tent I stayed in was really nice, aspecially at night, and the sanitary was nice and clean. The place was only 3 km's away from the park entrance.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eriktilburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

No river in sight. Bathrooms not working. Lousy food. Way too expensive. Do not go there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BugolobiAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

I recently stayed at Ishasha Ntungwe River Camp for two nights and have to say that it is one of the most overpriced and disappointing places that I have stayed in Uganda. The proprietor Allan is very lucky in that he does not have much competition in the immediate vicinity but with a new lodge opening next door later this year he will have to smarten his act up. The first disappointment were the new ‘luxury’ river side tents which, despite us asking and being told that they were, are not river-side at all. You can hear the river in the distance but it is probably a good 250 metres from the tents and you cannot actually see it. In fact the whole name of the camp is a bit of a misnomer as unless you go looking for the river, you won’t see it from anywhere in the camp.

The tent that I stayed in did not have electricity or running water and despite telling the management this nothing was done about it whilst we were there. My parents stayed in the adjacent tent and although they had solar lights and solar heated water, the water flow was restricted to a slight trickle so you could only shower with the aid of a water bottle. The food, apart from breakfast and a nice ham sandwich in our packed lunch, was pretty atrocious and on the second night our main course was cold. The bar, despite having a very cold fridge, did not have any Bell lager which is a pretty heinous crime in Uganda considering that it is the number one lager in the country! Two of my friends were camping and the facilities for campers were terrible with a horrible pit latrine and an open to the elements shower – which at $5 more a night than the UWA campsite is a disgrace.
What was most galling about the whole experience is the price – which (at the resident rate, let alone the tourist rate) ranks as higher than Mihingo and Nile Safari which have up until now been the best lodges in Uganda. The Ishasha Ntungwe River Camp would be bearable if it were marketed as a backpackers’ place but as a luxury resort it does not come close to cutting the mustard. If you can, pay the extra $15 and go and stay at the Ishasha Wilderness lodge or go and camp at the lovely UWA campsites!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoenixtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishasha, Manager at Ishasha-Ntungwe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2011

Dear valued customer
We regret the fact that you did not enjoy your stay at Ishasha and would like to have loved the tents closer to the river. The old tents were built a safe distance away because Ntungwa River seasonally floods. The river swells up to 1.7 Meters in the wet season thus creating a large flood plain.
The river side dining is set up in dry season, and at the time of arrival it was not safe to do so and that's why you did not get to enjoy that part of our camp. The new river edge tents are borne out of comments from visitors over the years, i.e.
1. The old ones are too hot in the midday heat, so we had a cooler thatched roof.
2. Not close to river. just below the river edge tents where you slept are its banks in the rainy season. Safety was of paramount importance when we were building these new units. We could not have them built in the flood plain.
3. Service: although not mentioned on our website, Ishasha Ntungwa river camp is a community based Eco lodge and with that comes many issues. We employ the community to do the work as an agreement for them to have alternative sources of income due to issue of crop raids, That said this has its has its draw backs in terms of their ability to learn new things. We have however committed ourselves to this partnership because it’s only way for them to share benefits of conservation. Being served cold food is still unacceptable, and we have plenty of safari chairs at the camp and these still should have brought to you, we apologies for this.
4. Solar water heating. and lighting. in line with requirements we have to meet to pass as an Eco lodge we use solar water heating and lighting, this has its draw backs as well, for solar water, the tank is heated in the day and should one have an elephant shower in the night in the morning there would be little hot water left, The lighting units are also not as consistent depending on weather.
5. The shower, this is an issue of something going wrong at the wrong time, we have had no problems with pressure before but we have since rectified the issue.
Conservation being at the core of our mission in the area we hope you will come back to support this effort as all the reforestation efforts and livelihood that it supports would be lost without you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

the title says it all. we were wary of this place before we even arrived on site, there was grass covering the track in, so there had been no vehicles for a while! when we arrived in the car park there were no signs showing us where to go, so we found our way tothe reception/restaurant/bar which was a tumbledown shack to be met by a motley crewof 2 workers dressed in what i canonly describe as lived in clothes. dont get me wrong i live and work in uganda so i know about the real side of things but there are certain standards you expect for $220 a night! they showed me to my tent while looking nervously around. the tent was a standard frame tent with an ok bathroom tacked on the back. my friend was staying in a riverside lodge, basiclly the same tent on stilts! when i asked about the river he took us on a trek across a very rickety bridge to the river about 300 mts away, not exactly riverside! anyway we both refused to stayin this place and tried to get a refund to no avail, costing us around$1000.we had booked for 2 nights.
luckily the wonderfull people at ishasha wilderness campjust up the road made us most welcome in the beutifull surroundings. we discovered that the michael mentioned in previous reviews is now assistant manager here!!!
i repeat, do not even contemplate this place. if you want nice riverside accomadation, nice food and wonderfull staff go to ishasha wilderness camp

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyt220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We had a delightful, relaxing, and interesting two days at Ntungwe River Camp. The camp is convenient to the Ishasha game tracks. It's a tented camp with comfortable canvas tents that connect directly to a full bath with solar heated hot water. The setting near the river is quiet and private, and the sounds of the elephants, black and white colobus, and myriad birds create a magical atmosphere in the evenings and at night. The food served in the covered outdoor dining area was uniformly excellent.

The most interesting part of our stay was our visit to the local community, a traditional, polygamous, subsistance agricultural society. The visit provided a wonderful opportunity to meet with people and learn about their interests and their daily lives. It also provided us a new appreciation of the complex effects of the national park on the surrounding human populations. The agricultural plots of the community are regularly ravaged by elephants that swim across the Ntungwe River from the park, and two people in the community have been killed and another maimed by buffalo within the past few years. On the two nights we stayed, elephants passed through the camp and close by our tent on their way to the plots, and the damage the next day appeared to be enormous.

Michael Kizito, the manager of the camp, is working to help the communities by providing a market for their produce, and much of the food served at the camp is locally produced. The fresh fruits, vegetables, and eggs were excellent, and the chicken, though it may have been a bit tough from evading the mongooses, was remarkably flavorful. Michael is thinking about adding some traditional local foods to the menu, and we hope that he does so.

All in all, it was a fantastic place to spend a couple days.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonteverdeSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

I loved this "camp" which is like no other camp I have ever stayed at! The tents are large and comfortable and there is a bathroom attached to each tent with a flush toilet, sink and a wonderful warm shower. I love the fact that it is an eco-friendly resort with solar powered lights, hot water and fridge. Michael and the staff were very friendly and they did everything they could to make our stay perfect. I loved waking up to the sounds of Ugandan wildlife welcoming the return of the sun. I would have loved to stay there longer than one night. The food was great too, you just have to be okay with bugs as there were lots of flies around and some cockroaches in the evening but that's part of eating outdoors!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank China_Kimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queen Elizabeth National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
#17 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
At The River Ishasha
At The River Ishasha
#14 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kasenyi Safari Camp
Kasenyi Safari Camp
#3 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park View Safari Lodge
Park View Safari Lodge
#13 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
#11 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ishasha-Ntungwe River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ishasha-Ntungwe River Camp

Address: near Ishasha gate, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ishasha-Ntungwe River Camp (INRC) welcomes you to Uganda. INRC is a well established camp site and safari lodge designed to provide comfortable accommodation adjacent to the natural habitat of wild animals. INRC is strategically along the Ntungwe river next to an elephant track. INRC's camp consists of spacious tents with an exquisite African interior located in a calm environment. The tents are spread out on the ground with a private veranda in the front and a toilet/bathroom at the back. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ishasha-Ntungwe River Camp Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing