We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Else Could You Ask For” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Katara Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What Else Could You Ask For”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

My husband & I were guests for 3 short nights and loved everything about the Lodge. From the friendly greeting to the spacious room with a beautiful view of the Park, especially from the big bathtub while taking a bubble bath - who could ask for more.

I won't repeat the good others have said but I will add an additional bonus that the Lodge can offer. We inquired about cultural tours that included learning about traditional Ugandan food and how to prepare it as well learn about their folklore and dances. So to satisfy our interest they arranged, for the first time, a tour that included the above. The tour took place away from the Lodge. It started with a walk to a cave with the homeowner to learn about growing up in this part of Uganda. We then went to a thatched hut where we helped prepare a traditional meal (including fish, matooke, banana beer etc.) using traditional methods. We had the option of eating in the hut or outside at the picnic tables. We chose outside (it was a beautiful day). During lunch a group of men & woman preformed local dances for us.

We learned a lot but the highlight was the friendliness and the work and effort that these people went to. The people involved went to such an effort to make sure we had a good day and their caring showed. The day was a highlight of our trip. I highly recommend the tour!

Thanks Katara and all involved in our memorable stay.l

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loisnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    34
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
88
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rwanda
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

This was my third trip to Katara Lodge and each time I am blown away by the view and the tranquility. The staff are getting better and better and the food was as tasty as ever. There were no complaints from our four friends; who were visiting for the first time and made plans to come back with their families.

The accomodation is simplistic but luxurious with great finishing touches: having a bath whilst looking out onto the safari park plains; or opening up the entire hut to the sunshine was a relaxing part of the day.

The staff have a good relationship with the QE Park staff, so booking a safari and other excursions is simple. Plus a packed lunch is available for whole day outtings. One problem is missing the turn off and the short bumpy road; but make sure you do find it, its worth it!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

Immediately upon walking into the lodge, I wanted to:

a) Extend my stay at Katara Lodge
b) Cancel some of my activities in the game park to enjoy the lodge more...
c) Plan for the next time to come back

The lodge is wonderful...the cottages are great...and the staff extremely friendly and helpful! The owners have done an amazing job putting in very fine details into everything from the main space to the cottages, to the private bathrooms, to the amazing food! My two nights there were such a treat, and I am already planning my next holiday back there! You definitely receive more value than you are paying for...the bath alone after the game drive was worth it! I HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fidus15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

Katara Lodge is located just on the outskirts of Queen Elizabeth Park. As you walk through the reception area the long drive from Kampala is rewarded with a fabulous view over the savanna. The bar and restaurant are right at the top, so you can sit and overlook the national park. It is decorated to a very high standard and is made entirely out of natural materials from the local area.
The lodges are at the bottom of the hill. Staff help you to carry everything to your room so this is not an issue. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and you can chill out on the hammocks in the afternoons. The rooms are very spacious, containing 2 double beds complete with mosquito nets that drop right to the floor and there is even a roll out bed, so you can sleep under the stars on the terrace if you so wish! The lodges are made out of wood with a thatch roof, then the sides are tented, so you can unzip the canvas and have an uninterrupted view of the wildlife. There is also terrace furniture so you have a choice of indoor and outdoor space. One of the best features is the bathroom. There is just a netting window, so you can relax in the bath tub or stand in the power shower and soak in the views at the same time. They also provide you with lots of fluffy white towels and toiletries. The shower is super powerful, which you definitely need after a day on safari!
The owner organised all the day trips to the game reserves, chimp tracking and so on for me before I arrived and everything went very smoothly. We had very informative and skilled guides to take us out on safaris.
The accommodation is full board and they provide you with a packed lunch if you go out for the whole day . This is a bonus as there really are not many other options for eating out in the area. The food was good and plentiful - including a cooked breakfast, fruits, cereal and toast for breakfast and 4 course dinners in the evening. The service could be a little quicker, but it is no worse than anywhere else in Uganda! I think the lodge is excellent value and the rooms and the place as a whole are superior to more established and expensive places in the same area.
I can not recommend this place strongly enough. It is one of the best places I have ever stayed and I had a fabulous holiday here with my family.

  • Liked — The gorgeous rooms especially the bath with a view!
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alibongo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

A truly wonderful serene location, Katara Lodge is perfect for anybody looking for peace and luxury. I traveled here in December 2008 with my partner and whist we were not on Honey Moon I think it would make a perfect place. The accommodation is capped off by a bed that can be taken under the stars and a bathtub with a view to die for.
A video of our trip containing a few scenes from Katara can be found here: [--]

  • Liked — Views and teriffic rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ai3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2008

Would (and do) recommend Katara Lodge to anyone looking for a beautiful retreat directly overlooking Queen Elizabeth Park. I spotted elephants from my balcony! The cottages are spacious (with 2 double beds each as well as a sitting area), balcony and a huge bathroom with both a shower as well as a bath and 2 sinks. Very romantic, good food and great hosts!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AB_loves_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2008

Katara Lodge is one amazing place. Not only did it tick the basics - cleanliness, great service, a good base from which to explore Queen Elizabeth National Park and value for money - it was also a really special place and by far the best lodge we've stayed in.

The lodge itself is not in the park but thats to its advantage because it is situated on a hill overlooking the park so you have lovely views. To get to the lodge you have to drive through a village so from the start it feels very intimate and secluded from the world.

The rooms are amazing - spacious, clean and the decor really well put together. There are all these really special touches - they leave you a thermos so you can make coffee and tea in the morning and turn the sheets. The food was also fantastic - for breakfast, lunch and dinner they take your order and bring it to you at the time you request it (another special touch as it means you can plan your activities and don't have to wait for food to arrive).

The main reception is also amazing. There is a wonderful array of books to choose from and comfy lounges and a view of the park. We were almost tempted not to do any of our planned activities (which they helped us organised) because of our comfortable and beautiful surroundings!

All in all, a really fantastic and wonderful experience! You feel really spoilt and we definitely recommend it to anyone wanting an intimate, special and relaxing place.

  • Liked — Great service, clean, beautiful location and rooms and attention to detail
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepid_Mcchaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queen Elizabeth National Park
12.8 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
20.9 mi away
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
#9 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kyambura Game Lodge
Kyambura Game Lodge
#23 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
At The River Ishasha
At The River Ishasha
#13 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge
Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge
#18 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
18.0 mi away
Marafiki Safari Lodge
Marafiki Safari Lodge
#5 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katara Lodge

Property: Katara Lodge
Address: Mbarara - Kasese highway, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katara Lodge offers accommodation in eight luxurious cottages on a beautiful stretch of hills overlooking the open savanna in a serene and relaxing atmosphere. Each spacious cottage was hand crafted using locally available materials and combines wooden floors, grass thatched roofs and canvas that can be folded away for uninterrupted views of the park. A romantic roll top bath or invigorating rain shower provide a perfect way to unwind after a thrilling day on safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Katara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katara Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Katara Lodge Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing