We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views”
Review of Katara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Katara Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stunning location, high on the escarpment looking down over the flat savannah of QENP and (on a good day) to the Rwenzori Mountains and the Congo border beyond. The views are tremendous.
The bandas are great - zip tent sides to maximise the views, but also all the luxury of spacious fully fitted bathrooms, massive beds with canopies and mosquito nets. Seating areas and hammocks are spread all over the grounds so if the weather is good this is an excellent place to relax. Pool was chilly but what a view! Food was very good - ordered a few hours in advanced based on staff recommendations. They can do lunchboxes.
We left in a downpour and our vehicle really struggled on the 2km mud track back to the main road. Best to do this journey in the dry. The contrast between the poverty on the doorstep and the luxury of the interior was a little uncomfortable, but that was always going to be the case.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 219 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here en route from Fort Portal to Queen Elizabeth. It is a beautiful setting on a mountain hillside looking over the Savannah. Didn't see any animals while we were here, a nice view nonethless, including the mountains if you can see them (they were shrouded in clouds mostly during our visit). The people were very nice, good service, and better than average food compared to other places we were in Uganda.

If you want to do any of the activities, we suggest you book in advance. We tried to book when we arrived, thought it was confirmed, and found out it was full.

We did take the local walk. It was interesting and the guide, Benjamin was helpful and providing interesting insight on the history and current practices of local folks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stay here if you can. You will not regret it. Although it is a bit of a drive (add a half hr) to the main attractions at QEP (kazinga channel and kasenyi game area), it is worth staying here because of the stunning views, gorgeous property, and spacious rooms. It is very near the gorge. We never made it to the pool, but wished we had also note the lodge grows its own arabica coffee, which they serve and that you may purchase to take home. Rooms are solar powered. Some have described the drive into the lodge from the main road as very long and bumpy. A Bumpy road it is, but it is only a mile long.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akdoghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Views are Stupendous and the Bandas Very Good. The Service was 5 Star but the resort overall would need to upgrade the Pool which was filmed and described as an Infinite Pool but was missing about a foot of water and had a dirty ring around the tiles. The pool deck had some lounges on the cement but would need to be above ground and have soft covers and tables for water or drinks. As this pool area was adjacent to the Pool Bar and Lounge, the Resort really missed the boat on this featured attraction.The BBQ held at the Pool Lounge was not ready when opened at 7pm as they had to run for ice, beer, tonic and there was a lot of junk around the bar..did not appeal as a bar..The food was over cooked by a lot and there were many mosquitoes which bit us all. A mosquito light "Zapper" would have help keep the outside dining clear of bugs. The choice and cooking of BBQ food was poor. In general the food was good with the exception of the deserts.."Tarts and gooey chocolate bars, which seemed to have been imported. The portions in general were too small and the packed lunch sandwiches were dry and mostly a dense bun with little ham or cheese inside. An apple and apple juice was not an African delicacy. My continental breakfast was brought to my room but left outside in the heat, uncovered and therefore the juice had flies and the fruit and toast was suspect. A simple cloth cover set on top and the tray left in the shade would have sufficed. The bathrooms had two tiny soaps for four people and one water container for tooth brushing and water drinking which was about 3 too few. There was a dirty dark rim all around the bathroom ledge which made for a bad appearance. When ordering a UG and tonic, one taut or two taut, the pourers measured the UG with great care but actually the drinks were short and very weak..something not expected in Uganda as UG is the local Gin and is Very Cheap! The other issue was that our Driver had lunch with us once and had Sheperd's Pie and was charged 30,000 UGSH ..that is 15.00 and we thought much too much.
We could not help but compare Katara to Apolka Lodge in Kidepo Park as Katara has been written up as a 5 star place, and sadly these negatives noted re weak drinks, Pool deficiencies etc. would make it a 4 star at most...Staff was great...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2mzungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed at Katara Lodge in Jan 2014 and had a wonderful time. The staff were great and really flexible. We arrived late and Nicholas called to check that we were okay and whether they could start preparing our meal so that it was ready for when we arrived. Everiste the barman was also wonderful and chatted to us at length about local Ugandan culture over a cold beer. The rooms are wonderful and spacious and you can even move one of the beds out onto the balcony and sleep (with a mosquito net) beneath the stars, listening to the sounds of the bush. The views from the rooms, the pool, the bar and the restaurant all overlook what I'd say is Uganda's most splendid panoramic view. After our game drive, we had a problem with our fuel. We contacted the lodge to inform them and they effortlessly brought us fuel down the road to come and rescue us! We stayed for two nights. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachieLandmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My friend and I stayed here on the way to our Gorilla trek and we only wish we could have stayed longer than one night. The staff were amazing and provide exceptional service. And the view from the room and the dining room are second to none. It is a stunning lodge overlooking the Queen Elizabeth National Park. I have been recommending this lodge to anyone I know that is visiting Uganda.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were thrilled with Katara Lodge from the minute we arrived. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming, cold towels and mango juice on arrival were most welcome and our room was simply delightful with wonderful views across Queen Elizabeth National Park. The food was plentiful and the restaurant well postioned to see across the park. We stayed for 5 nights and it was a great base for local activites which had been arranged through our tour company Gorilla and Wildlife Safaris, these included Fishing with local fishermen for my husband, a tour of some of the many crater lakes, a visit to the salt lakes, a boat trip along the Kazinga channel, wonderful game drives and in any spare time we relaxed by the Katara Lodge pool. I would not hesitate in recommending Katara Lodge, it really is quite beautiful, clean and with spacious rooms which offer much privacy and even a slipper bath!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queen Elizabeth National Park hotels
12.8 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
480 reviews
14.6 mi away
Kasenyi Safari Camp
Kasenyi Safari Camp
#3 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enganzi Game Lodge
Enganzi Game Lodge
#12 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
#11 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
131 reviews
7.2 mi away
Engiri Game Lodge
Engiri Game Lodge
#21 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
11 reviews
34.3 mi away
At The River Ishasha
At The River Ishasha
#14 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katara Lodge

Address: Mbarara - Kasese highway, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range: $372 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katara Lodge offers accommodation in eight luxurious cottages on a beautiful stretch of hills overlooking the open savanna in a serene and relaxing atmosphere. Each spacious cottage was hand crafted using locally available materials and combines wooden floors, grass thatched roofs and canvas that can be folded away for uninterrupted views of the park. A romantic roll top bath or invigorating rain shower provide a perfect way to unwind after a thrilling day on safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Katara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katara Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Katara Lodge Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing