We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms but very far away from QE park”
Review of Katara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Katara Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice rooms but very far away from QE park”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Service was terrible and slow. The location was beautiful but very far(about an hour from the park) away. The food was nice but the packed lunch was very basic and the staff's attitude was very off putting. It felt at times as if they honestly couldnt be bothered at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzyb300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    34
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
88
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Arriving via a bumpy 2 klm road, perhaps intensifies the magnitude of the arrival experience at Katara lodge; pure joy. The stay lived up to its first impressions. We really like Axel and his wife and their personalised interactions with all the guests. Nicholas a local, is a character, full of life and knowledge and happily pointed out a couple of elephants on the savanna below when he found out we were interested! We would not have picked them- especially without the binoculars. I recommend this place as a bucket list experience!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravell1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed for two nights at this lodge, and it is really wonderful -- the best place I've stayed in in Uganda. The staff were extremely helpful and accomodating, the food was good, and the rooms were amazing. The new managers are professional, welcoming and very accomodating. The fact that you can sleep on your balcony under the stars was a real treat. And of course, the lodge has a million dollar view. I would highly recommend this place. The lodge is located down a fairly bad road, you drive through a village for 2km. It's also about 1 hour from the main gate to Queen Elizabeth.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froufrouBkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Excellent location with amazing views. Love the beds on wheels that can be moved outside. The food was pretty good and the staff went out of their way to help us out and set everything up for a large group.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AirportLoungeLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We Loved Katara Lodge! Upon arrival we knew we had picked the right lodge! With so many lodges to choose from we are happy we made this decisión. We used their lovely swimming pool to relax after we arrived and my husband caught ùp on his emails using their wifi which he was very happy about!
The room was lovely and cosy and the staff made us feel so welcome. We did a safari around the park and saw elephants, lions (from a distance), lots of baboons and hogs, and other animals. The boat trip on the cannel was definately the highlight of the park. I would definately reccomend this lodge if you plan to go to QE park on your travels in Uganda. It is also well located for chimp tracking at the Gorge ( i have forgotten the name something like Chimbura).
All in all a great place to stay on your travels around Uganda.

Room Tip: didnt see the other rooms but all looked the same from the outside. maybe request one near the top i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold River, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Amazing place, very well managed place. Very professional and food is fantastic. Compared this lodge to others in Uganda, one of the best places we stayed at during our trip. The people are friendly and professional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanaka_Crystal_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent one day at the Katara lodge on our way from Bwindi to chimp tracking, and we had an amazing stay there. The lodge is gorgeous, perched on a cliff overlooking the beautiful valley below. If you're lucky you might see elephants or other wildlife from your room, and you'll definitely be treated to delicious food and some of the most pleasant, courteous service in all of Africa. We loved our time at Katara-- a great place to stay. We did a brief game drive in their new open air vehicle, and also rode a boat on the Kazinga channel. I would definitely recommend the boat trip-- it was a great way to see hippo, elephants, and crocs. The game viewing wasn't as spectacular as in some other parks, but that didn't detract from our enjoyment of our time at Katara.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queen Elizabeth National Park hotels
12.8 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
14.6 mi away
Kasenyi Safari Camp
Kasenyi Safari Camp
#1 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
18.0 mi away
Marafiki Safari Lodge
Marafiki Safari Lodge
#5 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
#8 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park View Safari Lodge
Park View Safari Lodge
#15 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enganzi Game Lodge
Enganzi Game Lodge
#7 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katara Lodge

Property: Katara Lodge
Address: Mbarara - Kasese highway, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katara Lodge offers accommodation in eight luxurious cottages on a beautiful stretch of hills overlooking the open savanna in a serene and relaxing atmosphere. Each spacious cottage was hand crafted using locally available materials and combines wooden floors, grass thatched roofs and canvas that can be folded away for uninterrupted views of the park. A romantic roll top bath or invigorating rain shower provide a perfect way to unwind after a thrilling day on safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Katara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katara Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Katara Lodge Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing