We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great part of the gorilla trekking experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Traveler's Rest Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kisoro
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great part of the gorilla trekking experience”
Reviewed December 25, 2010

This hotel is simple, clean, and comfortable. After a day of gorilla trekking, it was great to come back to a hot shower and good food in the restaurant.
Some of the the 'snack/lunch' type food was less than impressive, in terms of value for money, but that would be my only criticism.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigrid_b23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    51
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
42
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We arrived not long after the new management but everything was running very smoothly indeed. Sheltering from a downpour we give them a call and they came and picked us up and continued to look after us for the rest of our stay. Lovely warm log fire and great meals every night. Early breakfasts for anyone trekking and hot showers for when we got back. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moysie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
512 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We were welcomed by the brand new manager (five days only) and enjoyed our packed lunch with complemetary coffee and tea. He had started a good "spring cleaning" operation of all the rooms, but our laminate floor in the suite was not yet done (oeps).
When showing us our bathroom, the manager commented that he couldn't guarantee hot water because the solar water heating system was under dimensioned for coping with rainy days. However, after we insisted, we did got a bucket warm water, but then although the blue towel was probably clean, it didn't give that appearance. There were notices all over in the bathroom about the water shortage. Why then on earth is there a big bathtub? Why not a really nice, water saving shower? Why not use the large roofs of the entire hotel for rainwater collection? It was pouring rain that night.
Before lunch we explained our diet requirements for dinner (no spices). There was plenty of time to change the set menu and plan something else for us. We got as main course rice with a tastelss tomato sause and rubber mushrooms. The Indian dinner was a misser by all standards, the plates of the only other 3 Italian guests also went back to the kitchen as full as when they came out. If we wanted Indian food, we would have gone to India for our vacation, not Africa. Also we didn't appreciate being seated at the same small table with these 3 other guests who didn't speak a word of english to hold a conversation.
We understood that all the mask decorations in the hall and restaurant would soon be removed by the former manager, leaving the place rather dull.
The garden is lovely and a great place to relax and the reading table had some interesting books to browse through in front of the big fire place.
The Travellers Rest lives on the reputation of Diane Fossey. Unfortunately, not much is left of the place as it was from her days there, except one rondavel which the manager wants to make into a small museum.
Our purpose of spending the night here was to see the Golden Monkeys the following morning. Actually, after gorilla and chimpanzee tracking, these little monkeys (and the hotel) could have been left out of our safari programme, spotting was marginal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Well run, homely, clean and comfortable, friendly staff and excellent food. We even managed to get one of their recipes. Facilities are very basic but very comfortable and relaxing. Definitely somewhere to go back to at the end of a hard day. Couple of pointers: no hairdryers - take your own. There are no credit card facilities (not unusual in Uganda) so take sufficent US $. If you are an animal lover there are 2 really great, gorgeous dobermans on the premises. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Africa_is_Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

After the spectacular if scary descent into Kisoro there really is just one place to stay in Kisoro - Travellers Rest. I have stayed there on 2 separate occasions now and found the place to be friendly, relaxing and not interfering, giving a homely feel and an oasis away from the daily struggle of Kisoro life. The food is homely and the atmosphere relaxed. The rooms are a lot brighter than they were before and are spacious and comfortable. The garden is a haven for birdlife and helps maintain the relaxing atmosphere. Tours can easily be arranged from the hotel lounge or reception. The roaring fire and selecion of reading material is a real homely treat..

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarmerGilesRutlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2008

I can understand why some may complain, there was no duvet but the bed appeared clean and appearances count for a lot! There were bugs, but it's Africa! The lodge was beautiful, cheap massages, hot showers, excellent food, and wonderful staff. The local orphange came by and sang and danced for us which was truly an amazing experience. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladela13lala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Travelers Rest for two nights, it was by far our favorite hotel stay in East Africa. The room was very clean and spacious with two single beds, a table and 2 chairs and a large wardrobe. The en-suite bathroom was very nice, with wonderful hot water shower - just what you need after a day gorilla trekking. The grounds where very well kept. The communal areas of the hotel where lovely, the bar and lounge area with huge wood-burning fireplace very cozy. The buffet dinner was excellent, very tasty food and good variety. Breakfast is included and there is a good selection to choose from. A staff member takes your order for breakfast the night before so that your food is ready at the time you tell them. The boxed lunch are the norm - if you are in Africa for a while you will quickly become tired of boiled eggs! The management is a Dutch couple who are very informative about the area and are very concerned that you are having a wonderful time. The town of Kisoro is very small but has a selection of shops. We where able to walk around town without being followed or hassled which was a first during our stay in ease Africa. I would definitely stay at the Traveler's Rest again.

  • Liked — The lounge with the huge fireplace
  • Disliked — The boxed lunch
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdeChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kisoro
11.4 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
17.8 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
0.0 mi away
Mucha Hotel
Mucha Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kisoro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
13.1 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
14.1 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveler's Rest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveler's Rest Hotel

Property: Traveler's Rest Hotel
Address: Bunagana Road, Kisoro, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kisoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kisoro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Rest is an excellent place for tourists visiting the endangered mountain gorilla in Southwest Uganda. The hotel, built in a somewhat colonial style, has ten rooms and one suite at reasonable prices. The garden is home to many birds, and in the evenings, when it gets cooler, visitors can warm themselves at the fireplace in the lounge.In the restaurant every evening a fine 4 course dinner is served. "Gorillas in the Mist" researcher Dian Fossey stayed here many times, calling it her "second home". The hotels offers a massage-service, perfect after a long gorilla trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Traveler's Rest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing