We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs more competition in Kisoro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Traveler's Rest Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kisoro
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs more competition in Kisoro”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Lovely, charming hotel and rooms however shady dealings. We arrived late in the night after having made reservations by phone during the day. Proprietor tried to claim miscommunication and increase price by 30%. She was not upfront and deceptive, urging us to unload our SUV and settle in before paying the undisclosed increased rate. After learning of the price increase we could not stay on good faith, we reloaded and stayed down the road at the Tourist, which isn't as nice but the staff is engaging, friendly and honest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    51
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
42
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on Christmas night and the food for dinner was really nice. However I agree with the previous review that the packed lunch was a bit average and we didn't eat it. Breakfast was fine though. They have a very cosy fireplace.
But we were a bit dismayed by our room. Firstly we asked for a double but got two twin beds. They said it was our tour operators fault but in any event they said they only had two rooms or something with a double and said we could push ours together. But that wasn't possible because the mosquito nets didn't go over the two beds and there were lots of mosquitoes so that wasn't an option. The bathroom was also terrible made out of concrete and was quite appalling.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adventuregirl986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here prior to visiting the gorillas in Bwindi. The welcome was warm and staff are very friendly and helpful. Bar area with fire is comfortable and warm. It seemed that many staying here are part of groups visiting Bwindi, as a result there is a bit of a group mentality, especially at meal times, which personally I didn't care for.

This hotel is let down by the food, which is over priced and poor quality. A great deal is made of dinner, which has a long menu, however the quality was not good. I don't eat meat but do eat fish/veggie and am flexible over this, but the food I was offered was not good. On the second night I was given an omelette in a tomato sauce - weird and not pleasant. The packed lunch was truly a waste of money - far better to self cater and being your own food. Breakfast had to be preordered the night before after dinner.

It is a real shame that the hotel is let down by the food.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here for two nights prior to a Bwindi gorilla trek so it felt appropriate to stay where Diane Fossey did. Very clean and comfortable rooms with a good view to the volcanoes on the Rwandan border. Very good food in restaurant and cosy little bar. Friendly young dog, Sushi, as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel itself is located just a few yards off the main 'highway' that runs through Kisoro and a mere 30-45 minute drive to the ranger station were our planned golden monkey trek and Mt Sabyinyo climb started off from. The rooms were simple, clean and spacious. The showers were hot and efficient. The food here is served buffet style which allows guests to skip items they aren't fond of and load up on items they enjoy. The accompanying soup and dessert were always just as satisfying as the main course buffet items. The common area of the hotel had a large sitting room with plenty of comfy chairs/sofas where guests could relax in front of the fire and trade stories of their experiences and what to expect for those who were just arriving. All in all, we couldn't ask for anything else of this cozy little hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boystownboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed on at this hotel mainly because of the history ( Diane Fossey, etc ) , but loved the place for the staff and the atmosphere.

Food was excellent, and plenty of it. Common areas were welcoming and well maintained. Staff were the highlight - funny, engaged, eager to assist in any way. The manageress ran out of the hotel waving as we left, having missed out on the goodbyes as we left early- touches like that really matter i think.

Great bar, great people, lovely rooms. A real feel of the Ugandan Highlands, no chain hotel this.
Totally recommended.

Room Tip: the "virunga suite" is really special - lovely lounge area with fire for cold nights, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndySmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights here and ate here for 3 dinners and loved our stay thoroughly.

First - the food is delicious, the dinners are done in a family style buffet with everyone served a delicious meal in the dining room. Their osso bucco was delicious, with really tender meat. Even if you are not staying I'd recomend eating there (just book ahead).

The rooms were very nice (for Ugandan standards), with comfortable beds and very clean bathrooms (with lots of hot water for showers). The congolese decore was very nice. the garden is a great place to sit back and relax and get some reading and writing done.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kisoro
11.4 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
17.8 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
0.0 mi away
Mucha Hotel
Mucha Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kisoro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
13.1 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
14.1 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveler's Rest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveler's Rest Hotel

Property: Traveler's Rest Hotel
Address: Bunagana Road, Kisoro, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kisoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kisoro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Rest is an excellent place for tourists visiting the endangered mountain gorilla in Southwest Uganda. The hotel, built in a somewhat colonial style, has ten rooms and one suite at reasonable prices. The garden is home to many birds, and in the evenings, when it gets cooler, visitors can warm themselves at the fireplace in the lounge.In the restaurant every evening a fine 4 course dinner is served. "Gorillas in the Mist" researcher Dian Fossey stayed here many times, calling it her "second home". The hotels offers a massage-service, perfect after a long gorilla trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Traveler's Rest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing