We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler's Rest Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Gorilla Safari Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Silverback Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Savannah Resort Hotel(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
56
57
18
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
57
18
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplace to stayopen fireset menuhot waterrainy seasonbeautiful gardenlocal marketother guestsnice atmospheresitting areaan evening mealquality and quantitycomfortable hotellarge fireplacesushismall hotelbusy town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 138 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Kind and welcoming people trying to serve you as well as they could, but awful food, dogs walking freely in the garden and bothering you (sticking their noses in your food) while eating didn't do it for us the night we stayed there.

The hotel itself is full of historic charm and Congolese arifacts. Maybe Diane Fossey liked it in her time, but this place desperately needs Gordon Ramsay and a makeover, especially since this is one of very few obtions in the area to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pelourinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights during a recent tour of Uganda, largely as a base for the gorilla tracking and then to recover over the next couple of days (we certainly needed an easy day after 9 hours tracking!). The hotel was comfortable, the hot water largely plentiful (although not so good when the rain started) and the staff very friendly and helpful. The bar/lounge area had nice furniture and a lovely log fire so was a great place to spend the evening and to recall the highlights of our gorilla experience. We did a cookery lesson with the hotel chef the day after our tracking and produced a very edible 4 course lunch of African rather than western food which was a nice way to spend our "recovery day". On our last day we visited the local village and had a good time seeing how they live, sampling their food and the local banana beer!
A really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthLondonDaveR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Recently we stayed in this ‘second-home’ of Dian Fossey, Traveller’s rest in Kisoro, Uganda. Nice place, but not a second home to us. In the night of Jan 6-7 2012 we were robbed of money (our spare gorilla permit) and equipment (a.o. camera, phone) and the hotel refused all responsibility. Worse, to keep their record clean they denied the theft and accused us of setting it up, telling this to all guests and the police joining in common interest.
So if you still decide to stay here, take care .

Room Tip: check whether your windows closed, even with the bars.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed at Traveler's Rest one night before crossing over to DRC early next morning. This is not a fancy lodge, but a professionally run medium sized hotel. The food was good, the service very good. The hotel fixed an early morning special hire for us to the border(Jackson, I must recommended him, he was very helpful) and the breakfast was served on time - and just as we had ordered it. We left our car in their yard the 4 days we spent in DRC and it was well looked after.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Helledussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a night on 11 Jan 2012. This was not planned stay in Kisoro, so booking was not done.

After reaching hotel we enquired for the rooms. Two rooms were shown to us - one was suit while other was double bed room. We liked the suit and asked for rate - after some discussions, we were offered a discount. We paid and without taking possession of the room, we went to visit Kisoro.

After reaching in the hotel in the evening, I was shocked, as we were allocated double bed room for the price of suite. After questioning, I was only offered apologies. Excuse was given - no water in the suit, but it must be known to the hotel staff, before showing the room to the guest.

It might be a case of mis-information from the hotel staff, but why I have to suffer?

The hotel layout is good, rooms are OK, but beware of cheating.

Room Tip: See the room, and take possession before hotel staff change their mind.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Prasadrasal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews