We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable meal in lovely rooftop location”
Review of Taarab Restaurant

Taarab Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 82 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Roof top restaurant overlooking the old city of Stone Town and the indian ocean. The Taarab, offers scrumptious breakfasts by day and transforms into a romantic, atmospheric a la carte restaurant by sun-down offering outside terrace and indoor sittings.
Restaurant details
Description: Roof top restaurant overlooking the old city of Stone Town and the indian ocean. The Taarab, offers scrumptious breakfasts by day and transforms into a romantic, atmospheric a la carte restaurant by sun-down offering outside terrace and indoor sittings.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good choice of food and good, attentive service. Clean and appealing restaurant. Very good views from the rooftop restaurant

Thank Northender61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafeek P, Chef at Taarab Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Northender,
Many thanks for choosing our Taarab restaurant during your visit in Stone Town and thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your fabulous experience.
I was so glad to read about your culinary experience of our food and above all so glad you had an attentive service . We have a very skilled F&B team that does its upmost to satisfy our guest's needs.
Thank you so much for your review and we are looking forward to welcome you again very soon.


Culinary yours,
Chef Shafeek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely great atmosphere and fantastic food infact it was so good i went back twice, for lunch and dinner again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bradley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafeek P, Chef at Taarab Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Bradley,
Thank you for dining with us at our Taarab Restaurant. We are grateful for your 5-star rating and very happy to know you enjoyed the butter chicken prepared delicately for you and thank you for taking the time to write a note and share your impressions, this is important for us to realize that our efforts are followed by full satisfaction. I will pass the compliments with the Taarab team.

We look forward to hosting you again next time.

Culinary Yours,
Shafeek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2018

I loved the ambience and everything here including the cuisine and ambience.
I'll be back again and again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafeek P, Chef at Taarab Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2018

Dear Aki,

Thank you for choosing Taarab restaurant and we are grateful for your 5 star rating. We are so delighted that you enjoy our cuisine and we contributed in your stay in Zanzibar and made it memorable with our service.
We look forward to welcome you again and again .
Thank you very much.

Culinary yours,
Chef Shafeek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

Amazing food, excellent service with professional waiters, great customer care, perfect wine menu... highly recommand to all stone town travellers to stop by for a meal

Thank az1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yehia_El-Mansoury, General Manager at Taarab Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2018

Thank you Az1206 for the five star review and sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor!

I am happy to hear you found the service, Food and our customer care to your liking - and we look forward to having the pleasure of serving you again at Taarab roof top restaurant .

We are ready when you are!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2018

It was super sitting on the terrace looking out to sea and enjoying the view. Our extremely efficient and friendly waiter Godwin was always at hand when we required anything. I had the best grilled dorado I have ever eaten, it was done to perfection. My wife had delicious octopus with fresh coriander. The South African Chardonnay went so well with both dishes. What was very impressive was that chef Alex was in attendance and inquired how we enjoyed our food and stay in Zanzibar. He was also there at breakfast overseeing and chatting to all the guests.
Highly recommended.

Thank Hugh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yehia_El-Mansoury, General Manager at Taarab Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Thank Hugh for the five star review and sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor!

I am happy to hear you found the overall service, fresh grilled Dorado and Octupus salad to your liking.

Thank you also for mentioning your servers by name - I will make sure to pass these nice compliments to them myself.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Double Tree by Hilton Stone Town in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taarab Restaurant also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Taarab Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;