We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alright if you want to be slightly out of town and aren't rich” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maruhubi Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maruhubi Beach Villas
Mangawhai, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Alright if you want to be slightly out of town and aren't rich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Maruhubi for 2 nights. It was okay, it had very lovely gardens and a nice pool, it but wasn't selling beer (we had to trek next door) and our room was in the back next to the mozzie-tastic tidal creek. The food was very good though and I appreciated the waiter chasing away all the manky stray cats while we ate (an annoying feature of the island!). Adopt a taxi driver for your stay so you can negotiate a better rate in and out of town, as it is quite a distance. You will also get a better deal if you book day trips at the Old Fort in town than through the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keasrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Originally booked to stay here through a hotel portal (not sure if I can name it on here) for 5 nights and paid a deposit. Cancellation policy according to the portal was 'contact the hotel directly'. Giving at least 2 weeks notice, I changed my booking at Maruhubi from 5 nights to one, contacting Maruhubi directly as per the insturctions. Maruhubi emailed me to confirm ok. When my friends and I arrived, the hotel owner told us that because we had changed our booking from 5 nights to 1, the hotel booking portal had revoked the deposit and we had to pay for the rooms in full as the deposit was now 'void'!!! I pointed out to the owner that there was no way the hotel portal would have known that I had changed my booking as I had contacted the Maruhubi directly, as instructed, and as far as the hotel booking portal were concerned I had stayed for the full 5 nights - I did not tell them my booking had changed! They just take the initial deposit, the rest of the details are worked out directly between the hotel and the customer, the hotel booking portal have got nothing to do with it past the initial deposit taking stage.

I refused to pay in full, and eventually it was agreed that we only had to pay the balance and that that the deposit that I had already paid would, in fact, be taken into consideration.

The 'beach' at the Maruhubi is pretty grim. A LOT of extremely smelly seaweed on the beach and at the shore line, at least 2 feet high, you would not be able to swim or sunbathe. When the wind blows the smell wafts over the complex.

The room was nice, clean and quite spacious. However, two of my friends in a different room were woken in the night by someone trying to put a key into their door and turning the handle. Luckily they had locked it from the inside so whoever was outside couldn't get in.

On the plus side, the reception ordered a taxi for us one day and the driver was so friendly and polite and reasonably priced that he ended up doing all of our Taxi journeys for us.

Overall, it was ok for one night apart from the nonsense about the room deposit, but I am so glad that I didnt spend the full 5 nights here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlsontour30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

When we flew in to Zanzibar Island, we asked our cab driver to take us somewhere close to Stonetown but still nice because we were only stying one night. He brought us to Maruhubi Beach Villas and since this was in February, the tourist traffic was insanely quiet. I think we were the only ones there. We immediately fell in love with the place and were able to negotitate half the price of a villa!
We were given the villa right at the end, touching the ocean, it was very clean, spacious, romantic, and very exclusive. I loved every minute spent at this resort because the breakfast was good, the view was gorgeous and the staff were friendly. They also helped us get a motorbike rental for the week that we were there at a very good cost as well!
The resort was also within walking distance to other beach resorts and also Stonetown (if you want to explore). The pool was very nice as well, and the ocean water rose up against the pool at night time. It was quite surreal.
When we ended up heading north of th island for the next week, they were happy to keep our luggage (from our KIlimanjaro climb) for us in a safe place. We packed up our backpack and explored the island for the next week and came back to stay another night befor we flew out, at the same price we had negotiated the first night we stayed.
If we ever came to Zanzibar again, this would be our choice pit stop again :)

Room Tip: Ask for the one on th very end towards the ocean, very quiet and beautiful at night and in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giang P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

After spending 2 nights in Stonetown, we spent 2 nights here and were very glad we did.
Being at the beach was relaxing and quiet, a perfect complement to bustling Stonetown. Maruhubi is a place to really relax and we did. We had a large room with a wrap-around sea view (#1). The room was very comfortable with a casual style. It has a very nice swimming pool, which is open 24 hours and illuminated at night. We went swimming in the ocean at sunset, a very short walk from our room. A long walk on the beach at low tide was also a highlight. Juma, the manager, and his team were great, very helpful and accommodating. They lent a modem so we would have internet access in our room. There is free wifi closer to the office.They will arrange discounted taxi transportation to Stonetown, which is about a 10 minute drive. We had dinner both nights at Mtoni Marine Hotel next door, where you can have a romantic dinner on the beach. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifelongTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Me and my husband stayed at Maruhubi Beach Villas in February 2011 for 4 days. So this review is long overdue but it has to be done!! But we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it was absolutely brilliant! I am sorry for the experience of the reviewer from Paris, but I have to disagree because Juma was an EXCELLENT HOST and he totally went out of his way to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. He organised us tours (spice tour, snorkeling, stone town tour- had a private guide) and always made sure he got us the best deals for trips and taxis. Even made sure we know what is too much to pay for souveniers etc - and believe me this information is very handy when you are bargaining with the locals.We also would not have had enough time to explore everything ( a week off work - so very sad!) so it was great to have someone local that is willing to help you out and we DEFINITELY HAD AN AMAZING TIME in the 4 days.

We initially booked the room for the whole week but wanted to explore the north of Zanzibar before heading back to the UK. Juma had no problem in letting us only stay the 4 days and let us use the internet to find a place up north; even contacted a couple of places to get us the best deal since we had nothing booked and it was a last minute decision by me and my husband. We did find a place and he organised us the taxi which we shared with another couple who we met at the villa and they also could only sing Juma's praises!

We had room nr 1 and the views were awesome. They were revamping the garden but this did not matter since we could see the potential in it becoming a much greener place with lotsa plants and grass to lie on next to the pool (which by the way was nice to swim in especially at night when it was still very hot). Our rooms were cleaned daily and we had fresh towels daily. You had aircon in your room which was very good and you needed it that time of the year!

The restuarant food was very basic (had lovely, friendly waiters) and breakfast had fresh fruit every day; however you had the option of spending your day in stone town and then you have a great choice of restuarants. They had a selection of wines and beers (local ones as well!) and it was nice to sit outside at the "back" of your room (you had a back door from your room leading to your own little veranda) watching the views and reading a book.

Maruhubi villas had the atmosphere; friendly faces, was clean and gave you the luxury of a hot shower at night and a true feel of Zanzibar!

I would definitely want to go back and I am sure Maruhubi villas would have grown into even a more beautiful place to put your feet up, sipping on a glass of wine and watching the sun set over the ocean.

Well done Juma - I hope the owner knows what a gem you are!

C&D

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dili
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

We have just left Maruhubi Beach Resort and have a wonderful few days. We very much wished we could have stayed longer, and will be back in the future. Maruhubi is very conveniently located for Stone Town, but feels like a peaceful haven away from the city. Juma the manager is a wonderful host who made us feel very at home and individually cared for, particularly following some stressful experiences in Dar. The accommodation is lovely too. There is much to do in Zanzibar and we'll be back basing ourselves at Maruhubi. We were there during low season, which made us feel extra-special at Maruhubi, though of course the weather is not as ideal as in other months. Thanks Juma and team for facilitating a very relaxing and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atauro81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

This hotel does a great job making guests feel welcome. Great pool on the ocean (open 24 hours) a plus for great night and morning swims. Great service when you request anything and the manager really wants to make you feel comfortable (he's even willing to let you use the office for internet). Food was good, rooms comfortable (and air conditioned - a must in the humid temperatures). The beds were enormous and comfortable and at least 3 of the rooms overlooking the ocean have multiple beds in each of the rooms. The property seemed safe (patrolled by security guards). Although the beach access is not one of Zanzibar's most picturesque beaches (those are east) it was very nice. The hotel is a little way from stone town and a cab will need to be arranged (they will help you with that) and you must bargain the price aggressively.

Overall what this hotel lacks, the management and staff are more than willing to try to make up.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Microfuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#17 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#19 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maruhubi Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maruhubi Beach Villas

Property: Maruhubi Beach Villas
Address: P.O. Box 3088, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maruhubi Beach Villas is situated on the seafront, five minutes north of Stone Town, between the Maruhubi Palace Grounds and the tropical gardens of Mtoni Marine Centre. Maruhubi is ideally located for exploring Stone Town, whilst having the peace and beauty of a beach location.The six stone-built villas have large verandas, which overlook Mtoni beach, all with excellent sea views. Each villa has two air-conditioned double bedrooms with en suite shower, toilet and basin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Maruhubi Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maruhubi Beach Villas Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing