We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Giant Turtles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prison Island - Changuu Private Island

Prison Island - Changuu Private Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$360.00*
and up
Full-Day Zanzibar Island Tour from Dar Es Salaam
Ranked #2 of 37 things to do in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Giant Turtles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

20 minutes away from the Stone Town ... the island is named prison because it used to host a prison ... now it is home for giant turtles ... never see that big turtle in my mind ... amazing

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank VanNguyen_Hanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    669
    392
    77
    35
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gitarama, Gitarama, Rwanda
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth going for the boat ride and the tortoises”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was not that impressed with the island and for some reason they have closed off a lot of it and only made it accessible to people staying in the hotel that is based there. The hotel was not open when we were there but still you could not go into their parts of the island. The food ad drink at the cafe is also well over priced, so take your own drinks and snacks.

The boat ride out there and the little sand bank on the shore were both great, as were the giant tortoises. You can snorkel near the Island but there are much better places to do this as in this location there seemed to be very few fish and the reef was not that interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Giant tortoises and snorkeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a short visit to Prison Island. We arrived just as they were feeding the giant tortoises. There is one as old as 155 years! After having had a walk around, two of our friends went snorkeling. They saw the most amazing coral and colorful fish! A visit to Prison Island is a 'must do'!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Win_V2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the Tortoises!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were in Stone town during our last full day in Zanzibar when we decided to accept the offer of a local with a boat to take us to Prison Island.

When we got to Prison Island we were pleasantly surprised
.
The island has an old prison which was interesting to see, as well as a hotel and restaurant. But by far the most interesting to see were the tortoises.

One tortoise was 187 years old. You are allowed to approach all the tortoises and touch them. The highlight was learning that you can reach under the shell to give them massages.

As soon as you start massaging the turtle they start lifting their legs in pure ecstasy, and when you stop they slowly lower their legs. They look like they are enjoying it something which I never expected from a reptile.

On our way out we also took some pictures of a really cute little beach. We both agreed that if we ever came back to Zanzibar we would have to stay on this island for at least 1 night.

Either way it is well worth a day trip and it was the best activity that we did in Zanzibar!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Prison Island - extremely boring, big let down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

There is a tortoise zoo made from dirt and concrete, these animals should not be put into captive like this. Another classic zoo where you can't help but feel for the 'prisoners'.

There is a closed down hotel/resort which gives the island a really 'ghost' feel.

Then there is the little prison, which has a bar to buy some drinks, a toilet, and that's about it. If you are looking to see a prison with cells etc that will give you a real shock, then don't expect this. It was incredibly boring and a big let down.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JarrodFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prison Island - Changuu Private Island also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to Prison Island - Changuu Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing