We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prison Island - a mixed bag”

Prison Island - Changuu Private Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$400.00*
and up
Full-Day Zanzibar Island Tour from Dar Es Salaam
Ranked #2 of 39 things to do in Stone Town
Attraction details
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Prison Island - a mixed bag”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The tortoise exhibit was very interesting; these critters are surpassed in size only by the Galapagos species. The males go up to 250Kg.
The snorkeling was a disappointment. The coral heads are alive, and are only about 10 feet down. But the bottom is shallow and sandy and gets stirred up by anchors from all the boats taking snorkelers out, so visibility is not so great.
The trip out to the island is a great photo op... I got some good shots of traditional dhows.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    753
    434
    87
    46
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blantyre, Malawi
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful island with giant Alhambra tortoises”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Prison Island is a short 20 minute boat ride from Stonetown. It features spectacular views over the water but most importantly, a collection of endangered giant Alhambra tortoises - some as much as 158 years old. These are remarkable creatures and one can actually interact with them openly. A brilliant excursion from Stonetown that every visitor to Zanzibar should try to make.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanMendis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Beautiful - take your swimmers! With huge tortoises too!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a great short trip off from Stone Town. We just hired someone who approached us. Its a short 3/4hr ride and the island is beautiful - they don't tell you in the guide book. Theres a really pretty lagoon - take your swimmers and a snorkel - its really really nice.
The old prison is worth a look but not particularly interesting but the tortoises are definately worth the trip. Our guide showed us how to massage their legs and neck so they stick them out and close their eyes - very cute.
A great little trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Poopyscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The most beautiful beach”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Had a whole day at this FANTASTIC beach. Would really recommend it. We went here for the beach, and were surprized when we also got to see the gigantic turtles! Had a great day here, the water is so clear and blue. Just like in the pictures seen in travelling books and so. Definitely worth the go. Costs a bit for the boat trip, but I would do it again if I could.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice day out”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is the closest place to Stone Town to snorkel. We booked a boat for the 2 of us for $35 through one of the many travel agents in Stone Town. It was very rough water. We tried snorkeling before we stopped on the island but cut it short because of the waves and having to dodge jelly fish. We then toured the island at our own pace, enjoying the tortoises and touring the old quarantine site. There's not a whole lot to see, but it's interesting. We tried snorkeling again after our visit and saw quite a bit. We were in control of how long we stayed and felt like we had seen enough after about 4 hours.
Be aware that getting in and out of the boat entails wading and climbing slippery ladders. They are used to clumsy tourists but I wouldn't recommend it if you have any mobility problems.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PDXRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prison Island - Changuu Private Island also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to Prison Island - Changuu Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing