We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's broken”

House of Wonders (Beit-el-Ajaib)
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$54.00*
and up
Stone Town and Prison Island Half-Day Tour from Zanzibar
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“It's broken”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We tried to visit here in December 2012 but the staff sitting outside wouldn't allow us to enter as they said it was broken. Turns out it is closed due to structural repairs! The reason for the 'poor' and not 'terrible' marks, is that the front door is absolutely beautiful!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BamBamDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    106
    175
    112
    56
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We never entered this place because seeing it from the outside was not welcoming. There was a pile of trash laying in the yard for days as we passed by this place almost everyday for the 11 nights that we stayed in Stone Town. Some renovation and restoration should be made to make it more welcoming.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Place”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Ok place to spend an hour, though there was lack of good guides around. The view in the front is beautiful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kedar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“To understand Zanzibar you have to visit”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

the House of Wonders. A great collection of info about architecture, art, slavery etc. I have visited the house 3 times and in all its simplicity I find it interesting.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Zero maintenance”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

No maintenance will reduce this to a pile of rubble soon, and we will only be able to visit the "site" of the former House of Wonders soon.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AfricaSolSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Wonders (Beit-el-Ajaib) also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to House of Wonders (Beit-el-Ajaib)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing