We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zanzibar Coffee House
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Roskilde, Roskilde, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

What a great and friendly place run by a group of local ladies. Great coffee, fantastic rooms and the Whole place i special. Try the roof terrace for a good evening beer overlooking the city. You can hear the children singing from the Koran class. Magic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolaiSchubart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    158
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
73
230
78
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stone Town, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

So, we read reviews of this place and headed straight there after being dropped off by our taxi. Despite being completely out of the tourist season (we arrived on the 2nd November, the day after the low-season started), this hotel would clearly rather have an empty room than negotiate - even $10 lower. So, we turned, walked away and found a way-better hotel (read Emerson Spice) who were prepared to offer us a room at a negotiated price. So, I'd suggest give ZZB Coffee House a skip. Head straight to Emerson. This is Africa. I'm an African and we negotiate.

Strangely these people think we Westerners are stupid, and in some respects, we are certainly ignorant; but to tell us this is high season when, we'd looked up that 1 November is the start of a month-long low season time is taking us for fools!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zinkeldonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Service was warm and friendly and the coffee outstanding.
we tried carrot cake and banana choco crepes.
After chatting with the lady my other half wanted to go dress shopping, the woman was kind enough to take her to a local shop and help her with prices and language. Meanwhile I sat in the cafe with a cup of tea.

doesn't get much better than that if you ask me.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yamess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I guess anything looks great after 2 weeks of camping, but my gal friend and I had a great time at this hotel!

We booked the airport transfer with our travel agent (kind of pricey at USD15 but I wasn't sure what to expect so still worth it!) and arrived with no problems. Cars can't come in here, but you could pay a small tip for the guy with the wooden pushcart to follow with your luggage to the doorsteps after you parked nearby. Got brought up to our twin room (Moccachino) - thankfully on the next floor only - and we just loved it! The rooms are kept in very traditional style but the bathroom was very modern looking. Warm shower (seriously, after the trickle and lukewarm water we had in Arusha, this was heaven), strong ceiling fan and aircon for you to choose, bottled water, mozzie nets on the beds (we didn't need it) kept us happy! It is also very central, although one might get lost in the maze on the way to the waterfront!

The welcome drink was any drink off its cafe's menu, which I thought was awesome! And breakfast was free flow cereal/oatmeal, fruits, yoghurt, as well as 1 cooked breakfast (we opted for pancake and waffle for 2 of us) and coffee (including choice of lattes!). The views from the roof top was gorgeous! The breakfast was the best part of the stay, although it is a long and narrow way up. You could opt to sit outdoor or there are huge cushions in the room which looked really comfy.

Wifi works well in the room, although they had different passwords at different floors.

On the other hand, I did find it a little pricey (we paid USD140 for the ensuite twin room including breakfast, and USD15 for the airport transfer) but this could be just the rate for Zanzibar. The reception staff are not the most friendly (they were ok), so I took a star off my rating. Overall, I would still recommend this place!

Room Tip: It could be a tad noisy for the rooms facing the front (ours was the Moccachino room, where 1 of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chayying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Jalisco
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

There is little beauty, comfort, or ambiance outside the rooms. It was chaotic in the tiny lobby and no one ever really greeted me or made any effort to make me feel welcome. We moved a half block away, spent $25 dollars more, and found a different world in our new hotel. This hotel was simply much too expensive for what it provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajiiccharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I can't really judge the quality of the rooms and food at this place, since my fiancee an I stayed at a different hotel in Stone Town, but, we would make a stop here every day to enjoy the coffee, tea and some traditional Swahili sweets. Definitely, make sure you visit this place when in Stone Town and don't miss their coffee, a spicy Zanzibar tea with ginger and cinnamon and the cookies.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JankoJerinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

While everything in Stone Town is difficult to find, Zanzibar Coffee House is worth a few wrong turns! The property is basic, but impeccably clean and has great character. The upstairs roof is incredible and the breakfast served is top notch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.2 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Coffee House

Property: Zanzibar Coffee House
Address: Mkunazini 1563/64, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zanzibar Coffee House Hotel offers a touch of magic and romance in an authentic Arabic house deep in the heart of Stone Town. Transformed into a stylish hotel with harmonious interiors, antiques and rich fabrics, it is one of the oldest buildings in Zanzibar constructed by the Wazir to Sultan Said Bargash in 1885. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Zanzibar Coffee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Coffee House Hotel Stone Town
Zanzibar Coffee Hotel
Hotel Zanzibar Coffee
Zanzibar Coffee House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing