We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Meh.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Lodge
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Meh.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Served it purpose, a stop over for 1 night before starting an overland camping trip through Eastern Africa - convenient walk to every where, no lounge though, so we walked up to the Africa House for dinner and drinks. (didn't review it, but WAY over priced).

But I easily walked to the slave memorial, the beach, post office and liquor store from the Garden Lodge. For a quick stop over, this will do quite nicely.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polo789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    11
    1
    7
See reviews for
3
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. Friendly staff, clean and reasonably priced. Good mosquito net with no holes and large comfy bed. Decent breakfast although watch out for the crows eyeing up your food! I also like the location which is just out of stone town, so its a but less hectic.

I would stay here again.

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ceriog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed here two nights and to be honest it was basic but nothing flash. I am a backpacker and my motto is as long as it is clean then it is fine, this place wasn't as clean as I would have liked. The sheets had stains on them and the bathroom still had hair visible on the floor.

The mozzie nets had holes in, the fans in the rooms were useless and the breakfast was poor.
Location on the other hand was great, located at the quiet end of the main street and in a safe location.

You get what you pay for I guess!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I loved the Garden Lodge. It was like staying in a large old style house. The room was reasonably priced and each one different. There was even hot water which can be a bit of a luxury!! The lodge had lovely balconys to sit and chill on and a nice rooftop terrace to sit and read a book in the sun or shade.

The staff were ok, mit miserable sometimes but helpful enough and I wasn't there for customer service anyway. The lodge is on a lovely quiet and safe street, surrounded by a lovely garden away from the hustle and bustle but still within 5 minutes walking distance to the action.

Large bottles of cold water can be bought at reception and they have fridges on each floor so you keep it cool if needed. There is also a telly on each floor.

As far as budget accommodation goes it was lovely, clean and I just felt really relaxed there.

We did go for breakfast one morning but didn't have enough time to wait for the relaxed pace of the lady cooking the breakfast. I went in to the kitchen but don't think I was meant to and one thing I could say was to stay away from the fruit as it is all cut up prior to people arriving so is sitting out in the warmth giving ample time for for flying nasties to have a wee munch or other things!!

Apart from that minor thing though, I loved it and would recommend a stay if heading that way.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ooopsydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Garden Lodge is a budget hotel, do not expect any luxury but it has all you need to visit Stone town. The location is great, safe area and a short distance to the city centre with lots of restaurants and shops nearby. We stayed for 4 nights, in a double room with private bathroom, for just 40$ including breakfast. Room was very basic, but it has all the necessary: big bed with mosquito net and bathroom with plenty of hot water. It was also very clean. Only issue is the room is that it can be pretty noisy, the mosquee is just a few steps away, but you get used to it! Staff was helpful, we left our valuable items at reception and felt very safe. Breakfast was fine, not so big, but for the money you would not expect more.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at Garden Lodge for 2 nights. It was ok. We had a nice room. Staff gave information when we asked, but gave us the impression of being a bit depressed... they didn't seem very happy (especially the lady at breakfast wasn't friendly at all) , but they did always help us when we asked them something, so I guess that's the most important thing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann188637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk, va
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

My sister and I stayed in a 2nd floor room and found it clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and stored luggage for us our last day while we toured Jozoni Forest. The breakfasts on the roof were tasty and view up there was nice. I would recommend requesting a 2nd or 3rd floor room. The hotel was very convenient to all the sights of stonetown and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.8 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 34 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#15 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Al Johari
Al Johari
#29 of 34 in Stone Town
3.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#13 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zanzibar Hotel
Zanzibar Hotel
#24 of 34 in Stone Town
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beyt Al Salaam
Beyt Al Salaam
#20 of 34 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Lodge

Property: Garden Lodge
Address: Kaunda Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Stone Town
Garden Lodge Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing