We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here for the location!”
Review of Karibu Inn

Karibu Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karibu Inn
Ranked #19 of 31 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We had intended to stay elsewhere, but when that hotel was inexplicably under construction, we found this one. The desk staff was kind, helpful, and very accommodating. The rooms were just concrete cells with two beds and a ceiling fan, and the bathrooms in our two rooms were quite different...the one on the second floor was very tiny, but the one on the first floor was much nicer. The breakfast was decent (eggs and fruit), but it is really the location that sets this apart. It is close to great shops, restaurants, the main features of the old town, taxis, the waterfront, an internet site, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoBlueTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Karibu Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 55 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2010

Location, location, location.
Ideally situated for most things in Stone Town and from the beach (1 min walk from Livingstones - nice bar on the beach, very good for sunset).
Stayed in a 5 bed dorm on the bottom floor, it was very spacious and clean to boot. Standard free breakfast but still filling.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommmytower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Only travelling as Backpackers, mostly in Africa, we use to camp or stay in very basic hotels. Karibu Inn is a very basic one. Even if it is well located in Stone Town it's not worth its price at all. 60USD per room, no bed sheets, no towels...

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebolfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Karibu Inn had fantastic staff that were so helpful - we even relied on them when travelling to other beaches to book transportation from beach to beach. The location was perfect - so close to everything. The rooms are very basic, and we didn't know we had to ask to have the air conditioner turned on (which resulted in some hot, humid evenings...). Overall, great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmb045021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

I stayed here with a mate last year and was pleasantly suprised; the rooms had en suits and were airy and clean, mosi nets provided (although they came with holes, lol) and the staff were pretty helpful. The location was great in the middle of - cafes, shops, the beach/sea, walkable to spice markets etc. Free breakie, ok and almost filling - better then some.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

My two girlfriends and I stayed in the shared 5-bed dorm room for $15/20,000Tsh per night. Beds were decent and the mosquito nets were more than adequate. There was a bathroom within the suite, although it was just sectioned of to a corner of the room, but the sink/shower were seperate from the toilet which was convenient. The room was very spacy even with 5 beds. Nice simple breakfast in the morning included in the cost. It's only a 15 minute walk from the ferry dock with heavy backpacks, less if you don't have stuff weighing you down. It's down a side street so you need to have a good idea of where it is if you're walking there from the dock but we found it easy enough. A half-dozen restaurants (including some of the best cups of coffee in town), a working ATM that accepts interntaional bank cards, an internet cafe, a convenience store, and 2 dive shops are within 50m of the front door. And the post office is just down the street. Really can't get better location than that. Staff is friendly but somewhat benevolent. I never felt unsafe walking home with my friends at night.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThereIsAWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

Stayed here for a couple of nights at the start and end of travelling around Zanzibar. The location of Karibu Inn is excellent. Right in the middle of Stone Town and very close by to the night market which is an excellent place to pick up some bargains!
The rooms are basic, no frills, backpacker style. I stayed in both a twin room and a drom style room. Both were very comfortable and clean, with mosquito nets and ceiling fans.
Staff on reception are great, they provide a free safety box service and can orgainse any outings for you woth a local driver. I went over to prison island and also went to the south of Zanzibar to see the wild dolphins out in the ocean.
Excellent place to stay, can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cb83UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Flamingo Guest House
Flamingo Guest House
#9 of 31 in Stone Town
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zenji Hotel
Zenji Hotel
#2 of 31 in Stone Town
413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karibu Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karibu Inn

Address: Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range: $42 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karibuinn offers bed and breakfast. It is at Forodhani, Stone Town. It is behind the National Bank of Commerce. It is 10 mins walk from the ferry terminal and 15 mins by taxi from the air port. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Karibu Inn Guest House Hotel Stone Town
Karibu Inn Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing