We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of Karibu Inn

Karibu Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karibu Inn
Ranked #21 of 31 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 13, 2013

For a single night in Stone Town, the Karibu Inn was in a great location to be close to the Forodhani Gardens, restaurants, and all the small winding streets to find some lovely artwork, jewelry, and other souvenirs.

My room was one double or queen bed, with a fan, net, and private bathroom. All for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank meganonatrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 56 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

There's much better in Stone Town in the same price range.
Reception staff was quite rude, we had to pay for using the safe (and if you leave 4 passports you pay 4 times); another one of us had to discuss to get his change after a payment.
Rooms were quite basic, corridors were full of signs forbidding almost everything
Their only assets is their really central position but there is no terrace (you have breakfast in the basement)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ermagister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Karibu Inn has lots of basic rooms with ensuite and aircon, its inexpensive. There is a breakfast included in the price which was fruit and omelette. The receptionist (Said) is very helpful and friendly. The location is great for restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DitaMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We showed up in Stone Town with no reservations. As we were sitting enjoying ice cream, trying to figure out what to do a man approached us. He told us to come to his hostel. At first we were very skeptical and sent two of the guys in our group to check it out. Turns out it was a great little find. The first night I shared a private room. Very basic, but the fans kept the room cool and the bathroom had hot water (this was my first hot shower in months after living in Africa- I couldn't have been more excited!) The second night I stayed in a six person dorm that was very basic, but very nice and very clean. The dorm however was quite hot and I woke up numerous times during the night sweating. The thing is Stone Town is HOT! I think anywhere we would have stayed would have been quite warm. The staff was amazing. The man at the front desk helped us book taxis up north and let us keep our luggage there even after we checked out. The location is perfect. It is right next to an ATM, a 2 minute walk from Livingston's and a 5 minute walk from Mercury's. It is clean, quiet and safe. Which is good enough for me.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freespiritlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Karibu Inn is very basic but clean! You have to fetch your towels and sheet at the reception.... The location is great and it is near a bank so you can always ask for directions when you get lost in Stonetown :-D

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psylily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

When you get there, they're all smiles, they made us pay in advance and then the day after they told us we hadn't pay a penny.....they, i mean the manager, when we told him we're not paying more and that we were staying one night, he started being rude and yelling in front of other costumers......he threw the room key on the counter.
No sheets, no towels, no windows.......
We checked out, he started insulting us....and saying be careful, i'm gonna find you......SCARY!
Kitchen people was kind and nice, we saw some tourists but we also saw a couple people leaving earlier and having money issues with the manager.... little thief

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paochaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

This place does not look like much from the outside, but it is located in the heart of the charming alley ways of Stone Town. Our first room had a broken air conditioner and there were no problems changing rooms. Yes the funiture and decor is basic... but it was perfect for the location and a clean place to lay your head at the end of a long day exploring! The staff were very freindly and always ready to give tips or directions.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
181 reviews
0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0 mi away
Asmini Palace Hotel
Asmini Palace Hotel
#25 of 33 in Stone Town
73 reviews
0 mi away
Malindi Guest House
Malindi Guest House
#10 of 24 in Stone Town
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karibu Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karibu Inn

Address: Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range: $29 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karibuinn offers bed and breakfast. It is at Forodhani, Stone Town. It is behind the National Bank of Commerce. It is 10 mins walk from the ferry terminal and 15 mins by taxi from the air port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Karibu Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karibu Inn Guest House Hotel Stone Town
Karibu Inn Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing