We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, horrible bed, great location”
Review of Coco De Mer Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco De Mer Hotel
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Smack in the middle of Stown Town's most buzzing backstreets and with a cool little café style restaurant for breakfast and the lot.

The room was shabby, with sealed windows instead of wall seperating our bed from the reception. You could hear everyone in the hallway. We didn't mind though, unless it was during the night.

The room had two beds and one of them was in so bad condition that it was impossible to sleep in. Luckily the other bed were big enough for both of us to get our sleep on.

We looked at 5 hostels before choosing this one and negotiated a rent of 40 USD per night. Accomodation in Stone Town is not cheap, so this was good value for money.

Room Tip: Bargain, hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasperbrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 39 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2011

Nobody can call the Coco de Merd inconsistent. Having stayed in 2009 and 2011 I can confirm that nothing has changed. On a positive note at least you know what to expect when you book here, I assure you if you read the reviews below, and then stay here you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cliff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2009

This place is grotty, smells bad, and is quite possible the worst accomodation I've ever seen. There was no power on the island, so every hotel was running generators, but this hotel only ran it a couple of hours a day, and when it did, it was directly under our window. We had to use a flashlight in the bathroom, men were sitting directly outside our door smoking and drinking, air was stagnant and we could not breath. We could not bare to stay a second night - I was seriously concerned about our health. All of the campsites we stayed at during our safari would be preferable to this dive!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pip60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We only stayed here because our previous night's accommodation (Zanzibar Coffe House Hotel - which is excellent) was full. And what a contrast! I'd actually visited a friend here about six years ago, but the place seems to have changed hands and is looking decidedly run-down. The rooms were shabby, and the linen and towels either in poor condition and (in the case of the towels) not particularly clean. The bathroom was the worst part of our room, with leaking taps, ants everywhere, and a bad smell. This would be okay if they charged budget rates, but at $50 for a twin, we felt a little cheated.

However, the guy at the front desk told me that they have plans to refurbish it over the next year, so this place could be brought back from the dead - worth checking back in 2009!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solarize_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Sun Tours under the auspices of Imaginative Travellers landed us in Zanzibar and after telling us our previous bookings were not available took us to the Coco De Mer.But beware because there are two Coco De Mer hotels in Zanzibar.The second one,where we were taken is situated next to what looked like a brothel in a very seedy part of Stone Town.After examining the tiny rooms we refused to stay there and were taken to the Dhow Palace which is a good 3 star hotel. Beware travel agents who use numerous African agents,I ended up dealing with 4 different agencies in Africa and consequently there was little good communication throughout the entire 3 week safari tour.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
Thank Babu90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2006

The only good thing about this hotel was its location - right in the centre of old town Stonetown. Whilst there was nothing outright bad about the hotel, there were many average things: no air-con, small double beds, holes in the mossie nets, tatty bathrooms, sparse breakfast and a central safe by reception that seemed less than 100% secure. The rooms vary hugely, with regards to noise and natural light, so aim for a room on the higher floors. In summary, bareable if you don't pay up for it!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Wizzer&chips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank candottio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Asmini Palace Hotel
Asmini Palace Hotel
#26 of 33 in Stone Town
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#6 of 33 in Stone Town
325 reviews
0 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco De Mer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco De Mer Hotel

Address: Gizenga Street | Box 2363, Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Coco De Mer Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing