We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly staff, great service, great food, great rooms, and great sleep”
Review of Princess Salme Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Princess Salme Inn
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly staff, great service, great food, great rooms, and great sleep”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

If you are looking for good value for what you pay for, Princess Salme is definitely for you. For only $20USD/night, you get a very comfortable room, with your own bathroom (with hot water... yes... hot water).

The staff are EXTREMELY nice. Princess Salme is run by a family and they bend over backs to ensure that your experience in Zanzibar is best as possible.

It was nice to wake up to go on a lovely balcony to have a very delicious breakfast (very filling actually), cooked by friendly staff.

AND, there's FREE INTERNET with satellite TV (we watched a lot of World Cup Games)! I was blown away by the amenities, the service, and the comfort.

It may not look pretty on the outside, but on the inside, the people are kind and VERY hospitable and the rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    75
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
20
58
28
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2010

My mother and I stayed at the Princess Salme during our stop in Zanzibar a couple years back. It is a little rugged, but you should have everything you need to be comfortable. The rooftop is amazing. The I could not say good enough things about the staff. Specifically, the owner himself will be able to help you with any problems or questions you have about your stay or Zanzibar in general. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian888899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrköping
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

What can I say than that the staff is tremendous. I accidentally brought my key with me to Dar, but the manager happened to be there so he took the car to my accomodation and picked it up, no punishment handed out:)

So friendly and open, they really took care of you. And the breakfast was tremendous. The rooms was definitely worth it, I don't demand more than a clean bed, a toilet and a warm welcome. I got it all.

Also my friends that I brought along my next visit were very happy about the plays. So my greeting from Sweden to Emmanuel and Gertrude, and the assistant assistant manager, little Jemima.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonaBoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2010

When we arrived the first time we were welcome as friendly as we would be old friends, may be because they realized that already our daughter were here 3 month ago. All the time e very lovely and kind staff around you, that’s just fantastic.
Of course there may be more luxury accommodations in Stone Town. But you ever will find a staff as hearted as in the Princess Salme Inn. Thousand thanks to the whole staff and Gertrud.
Sleeping in Stone Town was a problem from November 2009 to March 2010 because Zanzibar didn’t have any electric power at all. So there were working generators at every corner in the streets during 24 hours a day. But in the Princess Salme Inn it was placed in a room near the reception, so that it was away from the rooms. After one night we were used to so we could sleep properly.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frontpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

We planned to stay in Zanzibar for two nights. We found ourselves spending four nights.
The staffs of the hotel are wonderful and they assisted us in everything we wanted.
To my view I saw this inn Perfect. The building itself is a decoration, the old architecture and some decorations inside. The rooms and bathrooms are clean.
We felt safe the whole time we ware there, and the management arranged transport and tours at a very reasonable price. We also enjoyed the free internet with a very good speed.
Breakfast at the roof top terrace was amazing. Simple but very nice.
The only thing, it is very hot in Zanzibar now. we need to escape go to the beach for some days.
We will be back. Asanti sana!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explorermz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Although the staff is nice, don´t think you can talk to the management! They are unfriendly, unflexible and greedy. We are very disappointed and will never go there again. Other hotels try to take care for customer needs- this hotel wants to make fast money. As long as you are quiet and pay - everything is fine, but you better don´t ask for anything else. They haven´t understood the concept of service and customer care - unfortunately. We told the hotel we would have to leave one day earlyer as planed but they prefer sending other customers away, claiming they are fully booked and make you pay. Easy money but not fair.
There are much better places in stone town. This was not the first but absolutely last time we stayed there!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bertberber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We enjoyed staying at Princess Salme. Although at first it seemed a bit poorly located (next to a fish market), we weren't bothered by the neighbourhood. The staff was helpful and friendly, the room quite enjoyable and romantic, and the roof-top with the breeze from the ocean was great. Actually, after visiting more central touristic part of the town, we were glad we stayed a bit away from the centre, it felt as more unique and authentic experience. It's a great hotel if you are a bit more open to exprience the local environment, and the value is really good. No complains at all.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.7 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
250 reviews
16.6 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
240 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zanzibar Hotel
Zanzibar Hotel
#22 of 33 in Stone Town
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Salme Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Salme Inn

Property: Princess Salme Inn
Address: Mizingani Road, Malindi | P.O Box 2310, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 255, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Salme Inn is a bed and breakfast hotel perfect for travellers looking to see Zanzibar for less. When you're out and about all day, a comfy bed and hearty breakfast are all you need! So book Princess Salme Inn, a bed and breakfast in Stone Town Zanzibar where you pay less and sleep well. Princess Salme Inn is a simple but comfortable bed and breakfast hotel in Stone Town growing incorporating its customer needs. It is in an old Arabic mansion with traditional touches. The hotel has remained one of the cleanest in the area and still maintains the lowest rates in town. Our team will assist planning and recommending tours, transfers and even safaris ... .. Our rooms are simple with the highest level of cleanness. We have variety of rooms to suite your needs and budget, and leaving you satisfied at the end. From Backpackers to Honeymooners, from cheap / budget customers to mid-range customers. The rooms are naturally decorated in Zanzibarian style with traditional Zanzibar beds. We are working hard to bridge the gap between client satisfaction and management perception of good service. Your honest reviews even if they are bad and good ones, all help us grow better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Princess Salme Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Salme Hotel Stone Town
Princess Salme Inn Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing