We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Princess Salme Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Princess Salme Inn
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We enjoyed staying at Princess Salme. Although at first it seemed a bit poorly located (next to a fish market), we weren't bothered by the neighbourhood. The staff was helpful and friendly, the room quite enjoyable and romantic, and the roof-top with the breeze from the ocean was great. Actually, after visiting more central touristic part of the town, we were glad we stayed a bit away from the centre, it felt as more unique and authentic experience. It's a great hotel if you are a bit more open to exprience the local environment, and the value is really good. No complains at all.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 178 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2010

princess salme was a fabulous place for a budget traveller, more than we expected and CLEAN :) - thank you to the staff, who were super accomodating, lots of friendly advice and free internet, tea, coffee, generator, fan, mosquito nets, and cold beer.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank namibiasailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

We stayed at Princess Salme for three nights in Dec 2009. There was no power because of a cut from the mainland, so this has to be taken into account. However the manager refused to turn on the generator for any longer than about 20 minutes at a time and he turned it off for the night at 11pm. Every other hotel in the area kept there's on all night, which made terrible noise, whilst we had no fan. For the first two nights we stayed in room no. 25 which is the worst room we've ever stayed in. It's no bigger than it's bed, the shower didn't work, the sheets were dirty and didn't fit the bed, and it was mosquito infested. We moved to room 24 for the final night which was very nice in comparison but by that time we had barely slept for two nights and weren't happy with the manager who seemed uninterested.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supertraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalmeZanzibar, Owner at Princess Salme Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2010

We value your reviews and take them seriously.
Thank you for both good reviews and bad reviews.
A decision to change the management has been made in order to get a manager who can listen to customers and make sure there is customer satisfaction in terms of services.
Most of the problems reported are managerial and decision making. (e.g early turning off the generator, making sure water is available, making sure that the bed sheets are clean etc.)
I can also see some good reviews from the customers visited recently. This is a sign of our commitment to end the problems encountered on between end of December and 4th January 2010
I can promise you things have changed completely.
Welcome to see a changed Princess Salme Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We spent 3 nights in Princess Salme. It's in a great location for arriving on the ferry, although the road's not well lit and I wouldn't recommend walking alone there at night. We were in a mixed group of 4 and didn't encounter any trouble.

Our stay coincided with the power cuts on Zanzibar. If we'd have known from the outset the reason that there was no power or water we'd have been a lot more understanding rather than constantly insisting that the staff needed to get power and water to our rooms. It was only on the final morning when we met the owner for the first time that the situation across the whole island was explained to us. The staff did their very best to get power and water to our rooms, even hand pumping some water for us on one occassion and the extra money we had spent to get a room with air con was refunded to us.

The rooms are simple but fine for a short stay, all rooms have fans and a few have air con (which won't work in a power cut!) there are some gaps in the bug screens and window frames so make sure your mossie nets are tucked in tightly at night. The showers when they work are good and the wet rooms are a good size.

The views from the roof where breakfast is served are lovely, although the hotel is right by the docks and there can be a whiff of rotting fish in the air and there are lots of flys trying to get at your breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahWHannahW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed hee as the final part of a two trip in Zanzibar. Bad location-lots of rubbish and smell from the harbour, no running water, not particularly secure and the staff weren't honest about the water situation. We are not fussy travellers but we did find this place to be one of the worst that we have encountered over the years of travel we have done. The generator didn't run all night as promised and that coupled with no water made for a very uncomfortable stay. There are many more places that are similiar if not better price where you would be better off staying in Stonetown.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oztavellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

we stayed two nights at the hotel. In Zanzibar there is no ellectricity right now, but at least they have a generator (though is used during night only)
Very friendly staff and lovely decorated house!
I think the services worth the money we paid compared to other hotels we stayed in Mainland.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marikaznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We spend seven nights at the Inn. We found the Inn very safe for two ladies travelling alone. The staff is very helpfull and assisted us with all our requirements. We left valuables in the room to find that nothing was taken from us!!! They are trustworthy and of good character we recommend the accommodation. You will feel at home, to us it was a home from home.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.0 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
401 reviews
28.2 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.5 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
548 reviews
28.0 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Salme Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Salme Inn

Address: Mizingani Road, Malindi | P.O Box 2310, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 255, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $36 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Salme Inn is a bed and breakfast hotel perfect for travellers looking to see Zanzibar for less. When you're out and about all day, a comfy bed and hearty breakfast are all you need! So book Princess Salme Inn, a bed and breakfast in Stone Town Zanzibar where you pay less and sleep well. Princess Salme Inn is a simple but comfortable bed and breakfast hotel in Stone Town growing incorporating its customer needs. It is in an old Arabic mansion with traditional touches. The hotel has remained one of the cleanest in the area and still maintains the lowest rates in town. Our team will assist planning and recommending tours, transfers and even safaris ... .. Our rooms are simple with the highest level of cleanness. We have variety of rooms to suite your needs and budget, and leaving you satisfied at the end. From Backpackers to Honeymooners, from cheap / budget customers to mid-range customers. The rooms are naturally decorated in Zanzibarian style with traditional Zanzibar beds. We are working hard to bridge the gap between client satisfaction and management perception of good service. Your honest reviews even if they are bad and good ones, all help us grow better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Princess Salme Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Salme Hotel Stone Town
Princess Salme Inn Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing