We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & decent value - good breakfast”
Review of Princess Salme Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Princess Salme Inn
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Yakima, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean & decent value - good breakfast”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Booked online for 5 days and requested an AC room which was great for hot nights since there is not much natural airflow. Beds are very comfortable, rooms quiet (but cramped), with box nets, and the showers are great. The included breakfast is very good, there is internet access, and the staff were very friendly and helpful with options to do Stone Town tours etc. Plus the honor bar on the roof is the right price. If you want a comfortable bed, breakfast, a quick email check, and exercise getting to downtown Stone Town, this is it....the hotel is a little hard to find and is in the sketchy area of the ferry terminal/fish market, so unless you like your chances, take a legitimate taxi at night. The view from the roof is nothing special; if your looking for a lounging roof top bar with view, try elsewhere. Plus on occasion you do get a good whiff of the catch-of-the-day.

Part of the "very good" rating - we had to cut a day off our booking and leave on the evening ferry, the staff accommodated us by storing our luggage in an empty room and didn't charge for that night.

Room Tip: Second floor courtyard doesn't get wet in the rain, and A/C is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wduckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    77
    21
    7
    8
See reviews for
21
60
29
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moshi, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The rooms are simple, but totally ok. The breakfast is everything but simple. You get so many different things to eat, it's great! And the stuff is really helpfull with everything and always says hello with a big smile. I Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma-ClaraL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We showed up here right off the boat from Zanzibar, despite the fact that it's in a really sketchy looking area near the port with nothing else nearby. My girlfriend went to look at 3 different rooms, which they quoted her at $59 and $60 USD (not 60,000 Tsh, and not sure what the $1 difference between rooms was for). That's about 50% higher than their prices on Hostelbookers, so we decided to look elsewhere. They told us to go look next door, as it seemed they thought that once we checked out that dump, we'd come back begging for a room. Instead, we found a much more reasonable welcome and rate, in a much nicer neighborhood in the old part of town, at the Jambo Guest House.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank adhaglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalmeZanzibar, Manager at Princess Salme Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Quotations in Hostel Bookers are per person per night. The Price the reviewer showed as expensive is actually for two people in the double room and not per person per night! So you will find the price quoted were the same as in Hostel Bookers. If two people stay in a double room for $ 29.50 or $ 30.00 per person per night, they are going to pay $ 59 or $ 60.00 respectively. So the prices were not 50% expensive than in Hostel Bookers. Translating these prices to Tanzania money will depend with the exchange rate of the day.
This review judged Princess Salme Inn using the port area conditions, which Princess Salme Inn as a hotel has very little control on it.
Yes our hotel is located near the port area which is very suitable for people looking to catch ferries quickly without using even using a taxi.
The place is very comfortable despite being near to the ferry. As the reviewer did not sleep at the hotel , then missed a chance to realise the other side of the story like good services, fantastic breakfast, safety in our rooms, clean rooms, free internet / WiFi, and many others which we always get strong reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Booked on line for three days, on arrival i had second thoughts. The entrance is not appealing and the pungent odor from the fish warehouses across the street was not nice. I was greeted by very pleasant staff and shown to my room that was clean and neat. The smell of fish had disappeared and I settled in with a very hot shower. The mattresses have all been firm and comfortable. Rooms all have fans, some have a/c.
I decided not to travel around the island but to take it easy and explore Stonetown. Even though they were fully booked for the rest of the week they were able to shuffle things around and make room for me to stay another four days.
It is close to everything and the breakfast is a good start for each day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

There is a reason this place is named as one of the best budget options in Stone Town. It is convenient and has a lot of great features that make it a bargain.

The rooms are cute, the shower facilities were good for what I have experienced in comparison in some places around Dar es Salaam. The staff took time to point out how to get around as well as recommending places to us. Finally, the breakfast was really great, lots of options. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backpackerteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

very hospitable service and a good price. good location, if you're travelling by ferry. rooms are small, but clean and with everything you need. wi-fi works in all rooms - usually fast, but for a few days if was slower (maybe because of a lot of guests). roof terrace is the place to meet other guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Located a 15 minute walk from the centre of Stone Town, Princess Salme Inn was a nice place to spend the night.

Staff was extremely friendly and hospitable and the room was nice with a good bed, mosquito net and ceiling fan. The en suite bathroom was clean and the shower was very nice.

On the roof there is a terrace with a self service bar consisting of two fridges with cold drinks. You just write what you drink on a sheet and pay when you leave.

A bit pricey but well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasper-Copenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.7 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#9 of 34 in Stone Town
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
28.2 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Zanzibar Hotel
Zanzibar Hotel
#22 of 34 in Stone Town
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 34 in Stone Town
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#11 of 34 in Stone Town
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Salme Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Salme Inn

Property: Princess Salme Inn
Address: Mizingani Road, Malindi | P.O Box 2310, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 255, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Salme Inn is a bed and breakfast hotel perfect for travellers looking to see Zanzibar for less. When you're out and about all day, a comfy bed and hearty breakfast are all you need! So book Princess Salme Inn, a bed and breakfast in Stone Town Zanzibar where you pay less and sleep well. Princess Salme Inn is a simple but comfortable bed and breakfast hotel in Stone Town growing incorporating its customer needs. It is in an old Arabic mansion with traditional touches. The hotel has remained one of the cleanest in the area and still maintains the lowest rates in town. Our team will assist planning and recommending tours, transfers and even safaris ... .. Our rooms are simple with the highest level of cleanness. We have variety of rooms to suite your needs and budget, and leaving you satisfied at the end. From Backpackers to Honeymooners, from cheap / budget customers to mid-range customers. The rooms are naturally decorated in Zanzibarian style with traditional Zanzibar beds. We are working hard to bridge the gap between client satisfaction and management perception of good service. Your honest reviews even if they are bad and good ones, all help us grow better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Princess Salme Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Salme Hotel Stone Town
Princess Salme Inn Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing