We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Salme Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Princess Salme Inn
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great place, friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms with a nice traveller vibe. Free wi-fi, beer and soda fridge on the roof, and the staff will help you with any queries you have. Really good breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    64
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
13
49
26
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed for 5 nights at the Princess Salme Inn a few weeks ago during the Eid al Fatr celebrations following Ramadan and happy with the staff and the hotel in general. They hava a nice partially-enclosed rooftop terrace with a view of the port, tea/coffee nicely free, and a cooler where you can get a water or beer and put it on your room tab-nice touch. I found I met a lot of fun people up there and had some of my best conversations with people that I am still in touch with. The staff have contacts to arrange decent prices for some of the diff tours in the area, like the spice tour, prison island, etc. that seemed to be pretty accurate after talking with other people that booked themselves. The breakfast of fruit, juices, tea/coffee, toasts, and eggs cooked to order (incl spanish-great!) was so nice and relaxing that a lot of us would sit up there and had really come to look forward to it. The location is away from most of the other hotels, a bit hard to find given general lack of signage, etc in stone town anyway, but if you make a bit of effort, read the directions, you wont have any probs. And it was nice being 2 minutes from getting off the ferry and dumping my bags. Almost forgot: free wifi and a comp for use on rooftop

Room Tip: several dorm rooms-nice bunk beds with only 4 beds in whole room, all with mosq nets
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I've been to Salme Inn three times during the autumn 2011 and January 2012 as I was living in Dar. Salme's rooms are small but clean. There's no AC but a fan and really good mosquito nets. The hotel itself is only a two minute walk from the ferry to Dar, five-ten minute walk from the busses leaving for the villages across Unguja, and five minute walk from the city centre.
But what really makes Salme an awesome place is the roof terrace. It's on 4th or 5th floor with a view over the sea. There are sofas and a fridge where you can buy beer and soda and just write your room number and pay when you leave the hotel. The temperature up there is nice and cool and you could easily spend some hours up there just relaxing alone or with friends. There's a computer connected to the internet up there also.
Breakfast is served up there as well. Fruits, eggs, bread, tea, coffee, all the works.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicklasMeiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We got a double room for two, and another one with four beds, and they are really small and with no toilet. I think the place is expensive for what you get. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is nice, and there is wifi, but no in the first floor, so if you want wifi, ask for a bedroom in the upper floors!
The location is ok, near the port, for us it was great as we were staying just for one night and going back to daar es salaam.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Homopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Princess Salme Inn in a shared bathroom room and really enjoyed our time. The exterior of the building is a bit off putting and had us wondering if we'd made the right choice. However, as we entered and were greeted by the friendly staff we were right away at ease. The roof top terrace is a wonderful place to hang out, watch TV, use the internet or just watch Stone Town. The breakfasts were large and extremely tasty. We got to try some new fruits and Zanzibar specialties that we had never even heard of before.

The room itself was very simple but completely adequate and good value for the price. The whole hotel is cleaned all the time and it really shows as the washrooms are always clean and the showers with their big shower heads wonderful. The staff is very friendly and honest which is extremely important. The cleaning lady found a 10K shilling bill in our room that must have fallen out of one of our pockets and we never would have missed it. However, when she found it while cleaning, she tucked into our bed sheet and left it there for us. Now that's honesty!

We loved our stay at Princess Salme Inn and would definitely stay there again if we return to Zanzibar in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingCanook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This the sister hotel of the 1001 Nights Hotel in Stonetown. The hotel is located close to the shipping dock yet close to everything in historic Stonetown.The staff was very freindly & resourceful.The rooms are done in Zanzibari Style decor with some rooms having ensuite bathroom or shared bathroom on the same floor.The beds all have mosquito nets for your sound mind of sleep without having to drench the room with Deet.Rooms are cleaned daily have fan & air conditioning.There is internet access that's free to guests along with a mini-bar in the open terrace which you can view Stonetown. They are on the honor system as you just write down on piece of pad paper what you took from refrigerator beer or soda approx. $1-2 USD each. on a pad of paper.The breakfast is included in the rates as it's served on the terrace as well.It included fruit,eggs,sausage,coffee , juice very well balanced. Overall you can't go wrong with this place especially those on a budget.It was better then expected,stayed three nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kraor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Located by the dock end of Stone Town and 5/10 minutes walk to the main tourist centre it was fine for a day or two. We were very lucky and got upgraded to an ensuite room which was great, clean and spacious. Wifi worked in the room which was amazing and breakfast on the terrace was lovely. Nothing too exciting but comfy enough!

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bethan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.0 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#15 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#14 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
28.1 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 12 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Salme Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Salme Inn

Property: Princess Salme Inn
Address: Mizingani Road, Malindi | P.O Box 2310, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 255, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Salme Inn is a bed and breakfast hotel perfect for travellers looking to see Zanzibar for less. When you're out and about all day, a comfy bed and hearty breakfast are all you need! So book Princess Salme Inn, a bed and breakfast in Stone Town Zanzibar where you pay less and sleep well. Princess Salme Inn is a simple but comfortable bed and breakfast hotel in Stone Town growing incorporating its customer needs. It is in an old Arabic mansion with traditional touches. The hotel has remained one of the cleanest in the area and still maintains the lowest rates in town. Our team will assist planning and recommending tours, transfers and even safaris ... .. Our rooms are simple with the highest level of cleanness. We have variety of rooms to suite your needs and budget, and leaving you satisfied at the end. From Backpackers to Honeymooners, from cheap / budget customers to mid-range customers. The rooms are naturally decorated in Zanzibarian style with traditional Zanzibar beds. We are working hard to bridge the gap between client satisfaction and management perception of good service. Your honest reviews even if they are bad and good ones, all help us grow better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Princess Salme Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Salme Hotel Stone Town
Princess Salme Inn Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing